We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropping in Value”
Review of Firecreek Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Firecreek Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brandywine Avenue
Description: Firecreek has preserved and rehabbed a former paper mill into one of Chester County's finest dining experiences. An open kitchen puts you right into the action. Come sit at our Chefs table and have a front seat with a culinary view. Al fresco dining for the warmer months treat you with panoramic views of the Brandywine River. An extensive wine list with daily specials and live music appeals to all. Come join us for dinner seven days a week, or stop in for lunch Monday through Friday. Now rated by Zagat! view our reveiw at: http://www.zagat.com/Verticals/PropertyDetails.aspx?VID=8&R=146114
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Dropping in Value”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our forth visit over the last two years. We always felt it a bit pricey, but you usually got what you paid for: great service and good food. Well they seemed to have raised their prices since our last visit, and our server, though nice, was not great as in the past. Though the food was good, neither my wife nor I felt the experience was worth the price paid. There are better values for good food in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    21
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very good...”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The steaks came over cooked, my husband's was so salty it was inedible, the waitress did not reappear to check on our meals for 10 minutes - at which point what we had was cold and she did not want to replace them with properly cooked food. We left hungry - will never return.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over priced extremely average meal”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The concept is great, nice atmosphere, but the meal was extremely overpriced and exceptionally average. Nothing rememberable about my meal. There are better places to go.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Top notch food, service and setting!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I tried Firecreek, and it was our first time there, on a weeknight. We had made a reservation, but were a little early. We were seated immediately on arrival. Within a minute of being seated, a young man came and filled out water glasses and asked if we'd like some lemon. We would. He disappeared, and came right back with a small plate with several lemon wedges for us. Then our server came to the table and took our drink order. My husband needs to eat gluten-free, and we've become cautious because of experiences elsewhere. He explained he needed his dietary requirement, and our server was very knowledgeable, and made several suggestions, but told him also they could modify other dishes. She brought our drinks, and brought a bread basket, having the sense to position it away from my husband, who couldn't eat it. My husband ordered Sea Scallops Edamame, and the plating was beautiful, colorful, and well-balanced. The scallops were well-prepared, fresh and flavorful. And, as promised, it was gluten-free. I ordered a torellini dish, served on a bed of fresh baby spinach, with a cream sauce containing sun-dried tomatoes, and with a topping of diced zucchini. It too was a beautiful presentation, and was absolutely delicious. We had coffee and a quite good vanilla creme brule for dessert. The food was fantastic, the service was pleasant, attentive and quite prompt, the food looked and tasted wonderful. I don't know what happened with some other reviewers' visits to Firecreek, but I couldn't have asked for more, will certainly return, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateV8minus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A diamond that needs to be cleaned”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great place that is rumored to be closing, which is a shame.
A couple of items that would help take this to the next level (IMHO), which it needs to do at the price point are:
1. Hide the line. Unless it is going to kept immaculately clean, no wants to see food on the floor. We were sitting at the bar and saw several food chunks under the line tables.
2. Line staff were wearing baseball caps. One of the staff was donning the cap in gangster style.
3. There was a small plastic cup on the floor by the door to the back kitchen, and there it stayed after several staff walked by it many times. Moral - no staff pride.

On a positive note, what made the night was the food and the bar staff. Chris was great, paid attention to the details and was s true professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Enjoying_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firecreek Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing