We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The server can make all the difference!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow House Hotel

Yellow House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pottstown
1 review
“The server can make all the difference!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I ate at the Yellow House for the first time. The ambience is great and it is a truly beautiful place. The food was average but our server, Jennifer, made it a very enjoyable dining experience. She was very attentive, very pleasant and was really on the ball with everything. We didn't have to wait for refills on our drinks and the courses arrived at just the right times. We will definitely be going back.
Thank you,
Tara B

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vegetarians Need Not Come By”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have been here on several occasions, and was disappointed with the lack of creative vegetarian selections. I found eating here to be bland and unexciting. Atmosphere was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Yuschak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I ate RAW FISH and did not know it until I took a picture with my flash on...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We realize mistakes happen sometimes, but when a customer is presented with uncooked fish and consumes it unknowingly (the lighting was very dim and my partner's chicken fingers were overcooked and just as dark and crispy as far as we could see), one would expect at least a complimentary Coors Light draft beer to wash it all down. We are not the type of customer to ask for the entire meal to be free, but we spent more than $40 for one order of wings (cooked perfectly and delicious - we shared them as an appetizer) and two draft beers each, and the gratuity. We shared the burned chicken fingers and did not send them back to the kitchen because we were so darn hungry (it was after 8:00 pm and we arrived at 6:30 pm on Monday night).

Our server apologized on behalf of the chef and explained that it must be time to change the oil in the fryer. Obviously the owner could not be bothered to make such an inspection because he was enjoying himself at the bar with other customers the entire time we were there. Meanwhile, our server worked extremely hard running both the bar and waiting tables. After she removed the charge for the raw fish from our check, we were happy to give her a 20% gratuity.

Jack and Carl would have been embarrassed by the whole thing and never would have allowed a customer to pay that check. The current owners still have much to learn.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TimDoubleBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fair diner food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Food is average for diner food. But this place is not priced like that when we go to a nicer resturant we expect above average food for the price. We go out regularly and we will not go back there again. We have seen rest rooms in service stations cleaner and in better condition then here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I live quite close to the Yellow House Hotel but we don't go often because the food is just average. The menu has been the same for years. It would be nice if they offered seasonal menus or changed things up from time to time, especially given the abundant farms in the area and access to local produce/meats. The service is inconsistent and it really just depends on who your server is.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow House Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Yellow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing