We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow....this is a holiday inn? what a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“wow....this is a holiday inn? what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped overnight at this hotel when we got too tired to drive any further on the PA turnpike. What a treat--we had no idea we would be staying somewhere so nice. From both the outside and inside, the hotel looks like a lodge. It appears brand new, and the interior and rooms are decorated very nicely. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We got a AAA rate of $118 for a king room on a Weds pm. There is a complimentary breakfast, free WiFi, indoor pool. The hotel is incredibly clean, like stated before it appears brand new (not sure if that is the case or not) If we're ever coming through here again I would look forward to visiting again. This hotel is a bargain and a wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for leaving us this wonderful review! I'm delighted that you had such a great experience on your visit with us and found everything to your liking. I'm definitely going to pass on your kind words to our staff and I'm so glad that you chose Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Donegal for your overnight stay. Happy travels and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    93
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
147
120
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

In a very rural area,this Holiday Inn is a surprise. It was very clean, friendly staff. Doesn't have the look of usual Holiday Inns. This one is unique, looks like a lodge. Hope to visit the area again and would stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at our property. I'm glad to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed the rustic decor. We can't wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here while going to the Mother Earth News event at Seven Springs. What distinguished this particular Holiday Inn Express location from others we have stayed at was the super friendly and competent service we received from Jessica and others on the front desk. She helped us find restaurants for dinner and sent us on an interesting drive around the countryside when we weren't at Seven Springs. The included breakfast was much better than average with hot food every morning, and I enjoyed a workout in the fitness room on equipment that had all its buttons working properly, a most pleasant change. As for the autumn decorations and hunting scene, they were "cute," almost too much, but we saw the lady working so hard to put them up so really we shouldn't criticize. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Laurel Highlands area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent visit for the Mother Earth Festival. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the fitness center along with the breakfast we serve! I will also be sure to let our staff know of your wonderful compliments and to keep up the good work. If you find yourself in the area again I hope you chose to stay with us again. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pretty new hotel decorated like a log cabin. Upon check in we were notified we were the guests if the day and upgraded to a suite, given extra points, and offered free breakfast in bed the following day. The front office staff were very nice and accomoda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdklomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Donegal, PA. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed being our "Guest of the Day", we hope that you found your stay more relaxing with the larger room and the extra perks that came with it. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our rustic decor and found our staff to be superb! We hope you stay with us again on any future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were happily surprised with the hotel from pulling into the driveway. One of the staff was decorating the entry for fall with fresh plants and pumpkins. Interior lobby like a high end hunting lodge and rooms fresh clean and very well done.
Staff Jessica is great bubbly and knows her hotel and the local area. We usually stay at the other
H property but we would stay there again with out hesitation.

Room Tip: Away from lobby and make sure the nightlight works exhaust fans are very loud (state building code)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for that wonderful review! We are delighted to see that you were pleased with our decor and our lovely staff. We take great pride in both and in trying our best to make sure our guests are comfortable and able to relax. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Jessica who is our General Manager. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Donegal, PA for your visit to the Laurel Highlands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the hotel we stayed in so we could stop to honor the Flight 93 Memorial. It worked out so well for us. Nice room, helpful staff and many very friendly co-travelers were staying there too. Great food as always and we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSusanneCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving us feedback about your recent stay with us. We couldn't be happier to see that you had a great stay at our property and were able to relax. We hope that you also enjoyed the Flight 93 Memorial. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express and should have had a much better stay than we did. It is physically VERY nice even with all the taxidermy animals in the lobby but the rooms smelled just awful and the windows don't open. The smell hit us upon entering the room and was reminiscent of old sweaty pillows and unwashed hair. It reminded me of how people's clothes smell when they bath every couple of days and only wash their hair once a week to save on water. We asked to change rooms and were shown a suite, and the staff made sure to talk up the kitchenette in it. Not a big deal at 10 pm. It also smelled the same. The staff offered to spray LYsol to help whiich is an awful smell in itself so we refused. We endured the first cheaper room for the night and all our stuff smelled after we checked out. Dont stay here if smells bother you. I woke up with a stuffy nose and a headache. Yucky stay. Very strange. Won't stay there again ever. Breakfast was ok but was basically all white bread and sugar.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible stay is our number one mission. Please know that we have looked into these issues and they have been resolved. There is nothing we want more than to have our guests enjoy their stay and leave feeling refreshed. We hope you stay with us in the future so we can show you a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
12.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
12.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing