We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for such a small town. More than an Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A great hotel for such a small town. More than an Express”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely service, helpful and personable, welcomed us and located us with everything we needed for the night. A wonderful pool and comfortable room ( and bed ) made our stay perfect! This is an excellent place to stay if you are wanting to see Fallingwater. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was great... I am not sure how others compare but I would be surprised if there was not uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for stopping by TA to leave us a review! We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay and found your room comfortable. I will also be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We hope to see you back on any future visits you have planned for the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    102
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
157
125
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was a shot in the dark for us- we wanted to see Fallingwater, but didn't want to camp, so we picked this place. It was a great spot! It's just north of Fallingwater, about a 20 minute drive. The hotel itself is new, and it's nice! We stayed on the top floor overlooking the fields behind the hotel, so it was relatively quiet from outside noise. The inside is loud though- we had a wedding party celebrating on the second night and we could hear every word they were saying until they shut up. Just paper thin walls. But the rooms were clean, new, AC worked, close to what we wanted, good breakfast. Would stay here again if we go back to Fallingwater!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123travelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving us a review, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed everything the area has to offer. I do want to apologize for the noise issue you experienced, I hope you were still able to relax. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really loved staying here while we were passing through western PA and stopping off to see Fallingwater. There are not too many options in the area, and I was put off by the mixed reviews for the nearby Days Inn. This hotel is brand new and immaculate. It has a lovely lodge-style motif, which suits the rustic area where it is located. The front desk staff was so helpful. They have a list of all nearby restaurants and attractions that includes very detailed directions so you won't get lost. The breakfast is the traditional type of "free breakfast" that many hotels now offer, but included very yummy cinnamon rolls, which I haven't seen anywhere else. It's a 25 minute drive to Fallingwater. Ohiopyle State Park is also nearby. Looks fun, but we didn't have time to visit. Indoor pool area looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugmeister2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank for stopping by TA to write about your recent stay, we are delighted that we were able to make your time here comfortable. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed the breakfast selection along with our rustic decor. We hope to see you on any future visits you may have to the Laurel Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend with our children and really enjoyed this HI Express. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast just right. We travel a lot and have stayed in many HI Express properties, and I'm sorry to say, there isn't uniformity among the brand. This location, however, was top notch and definitely a value for the price we paid. The décor fit in nicely with the surrounding area and the lobby was neat and clean. Our room overlooked the rooftop, but that was hardly a concern given the room itself, which was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was great; always stocked, clean, and the food fresh and hot. What a great way to start our day! Our only complaint would be the pool. The size and surrounding area were exceptional; however, the water was cloudy and the chlorine smell in the air was very strong. Possibly the chemicals were a little off. Overall, a GREAT hotel. It will be our #1 choice when we return to the Seven Springs, Ligonier, Ohiopyle area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this fabulous review! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the amenities we offer. Your feedback is very important to us as it lets us know that we are doing a great job at making our guests feel welcomed. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife, 20 month old son, and I stayed here overnight as a waypoint on a longer trip. The hotel was only 2 years old, and the staff apparently knows how to do proper maintenance, as the place seemed to be just newly opened. It was very clean, tidy, and smelled new. We stayed in one of (or the only) two room suite, which was huge considering its price. The room was just as well kept as the hotel in general. There was ample hot water in the evening and morning, the place was quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast offerings were very good, and the staff worked hard to ensure nothing was running short. My wife and I were very impressed with the hotel, and would stay here anytime. The hotel is actually within short distance to two of the houses built by Frank Lloyd Wright (Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob), and the Flight 93 Memorial. We now plan to take a weekend to visit these sites later this year, and we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtravelers7076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your thoughts about your recent stay. We couldn’t be happier to see that you enjoyed everything we had to offer and the hotels appearance. I will also pass on you praise to our staff! Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it lets us know we are meeting the needs of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was WONDERFUL for our recent "mini" Family Reunion near 7 Springs.

Jessica, the manager, worked with my husband in advance to reserve all the rooms that we needed and greeted us upon arrival. She also was very helpful in referrals for local restaurants (we loved Brady's for family style dining/salad bar) and provided printouts for local attractions.

The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated as a warm and comfy lodge with wood staircase and outdoors scene above the entry doors. The beds were very comfortable and even had 2 pillows per person with embroidery on the pillowcases, one saying firm and the other soft.
We had one of the few 2 room suites in the hotel (believe there are other studio suites) with a very large bathroom and everything was modern and very clean. Nice complimentary breakfast included in our stay (we all enjoyed the pancake maker!) and delicious warm fresh baked cookies were in the lobby on the afternoon of our arrival. Also a nice indoor pool and hot tub on site.

This hotel is convenient to restaurants, Caddy Shack fun park (AND the hotel sells discounted passes for there), 7 Springs Resort complex & Fallingwater (historic home built by Frank Lloyd Wright into the rocks above a waterfall) as well very close to the turnpike entrance.

We all enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Donegal and look forward to returning there in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy20878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us that awesome review about your recent stay! We are thrilled that we were able to accomadate you and you found everything satisfactory. Your feedback lets us know the we are accomplishing our goals of making sure our guest's have a wonderful, stress free stay. I will also be sure to pass on your kind words to Jessica, our fabulous General Manager. We look forward to your future visits to Holiday Inn Express and Suits in Donegal, PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful and provided an excellent range of recommendations for meals in the area. The motel was far enough from the turnpike that traffic noise was not an issue. During the day, if your room faces the local highway in front of the motel you might hear a truck or two. However the traffic disappears in the nighttime so there is not reason to be concerned by the limited setback from the road.

We stayed there to visit the near by Seven Springs Bike Park. It was an excellent choice - close enough to be convenient and far enough away to avoid the resort prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_IN162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving comments about your recent visit. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you. A great night's sleep is important so we are pleased that you didn't have any noise issues. We hope you stay with us again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
46 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
543 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
13.3 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing