We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful and provided an excellent range of recommendations for meals in the area. The motel was far enough from the turnpike that traffic noise was not an issue. During the day, if your room faces the local highway in front of the motel you might hear a truck or two. However the traffic disappears in the nighttime so there is not reason to be concerned by the limited setback from the road.

We stayed there to visit the near by Seven Springs Bike Park. It was an excellent choice - close enough to be convenient and far enough away to avoid the resort prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_IN162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving comments about your recent visit. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you. A great night's sleep is important so we are pleased that you didn't have any noise issues. We hope you stay with us again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 411 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was half way on my journey from WV to Eastern PA, It was very quiet and clean, the pool and exercise room were very good and it had the typical HI breakfast.
My only comments were regarding the check in, The receptionists were nice and friendly but were more concerned continuing there conversations between themselves than booking me in ?
First impressions are important, I am a Platinum member and nearly always get thanked for my patronage, get a gift bag and normally an upgrade.
At this hotel I just received a key card and the directions to the elevator !
Overall a good choice, just beware that there are not that many food choices (near)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to leave us a review on TA and to apologize for your check-in experience. As you said first impressions are very important and I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it lets us know where we have room for improvement. I happy to see that you did enjoy the different amenities we offer and your stay! Thank you for your time and being a loyal Platinum member with our IHG Rewards program. We hope to see back on any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in. The room was huge with 2 queen beds, a mini kitchen with small refrigerator, microwave and sink and a large bathroom. My husband, son and I all had plenty of rooms to spread out. The indoor pool was large and very clean as well as the jacuzzi-lots of children around though if that bothers you. The fitness room was small with only one treadmill, one elliptical and one bike, a set of 10 and 12 pound weights and one fitness ball(they definitely need more equipment-what they had was not in good shape). The breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes. and yummy cinnamon rolls along with the usual juices and cereals. There was always coffee and hot water for tea available and fresh cookies in the afternoon. The staff is great-friendly, helpful with directions, and housekeeping was excellent. If you are in the area to see the Frank Lloyd Wright homes-this is very close to both Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob and also to Ohiopyle where you can white water raft on the Yough and bike on the Allegheny Trail(which is awesome).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for that awesome review about your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and the pool/spa area. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and put in your concerns about the fitness area. We would love to have you stay with us again if you ever find yourself back in the Laurel Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a hidden gem off the PA Turnpike. Located about 30 minutes west of Pittsburgh, it is a convenient stop for travelers. Our room was very clean and the staff was outstanding. It is also near a gas station and McDonald's if you need to get some other quick items. Overall, I would rate it high in comparison to most Turnpike hotels.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the 2nd floor that is not too close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rheinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. We take great pride in our staff and our lovely housekeeping. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We hope to see you again on any future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Upon entering the lobby of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the cabin-like decorations. Check-in and out very easy with friendly clerks. The free breakfast is quite like many hotels: oatmeal in packets, hard-boiled eggs, sausage, pancakes, French toast, breads, cereals, etc. The rooms are very clean with updated bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is a very small fitness room and a heated pool which was always loaded with children. The hot tub would be nice if it were in another room away from all the noise. There are 2 good restaurants within close distance: Out of the Fire (pricey for dinner) and Brady's (family/diner type). The location is just off I-76 which was not really noisy but a cabin or motel room
in Ohiopyle within walking distance of trails, biking, restaurants would have been nicer. Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob would also have been closer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the headlights of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepetalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us a detailed review about your recent stay here at HIEX Donegal. We take great pride in our amenities and our friendly staff so we are thrilled to see that you found both satisfactory. We hope to see you back on any future trips you may have to the Laurel Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a great location for our day trips in the Allegheny Mountains. We were given a room next to the lobby....thought it would be noisy a night but turns out the mornings were outrageous ... The breakfast/dining room was a few steps from our door. Not a good thing.

The other issue was the fact that people could not smoke in their rooms. So they all smoked their right outside our window. The noise was one thing but the smoke sucked in by our air conditioner was horrible!

Our daughter loved the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I would first like to apologize for the noise issue you had with your room and the smell of smoke from outside. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it helps us to know where we need to improve. I hope that the rest of your stay was satisfactory and that you will be back on any future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was traveling to the area for a wedding, and this hotel was the recommended hotel for wedding guests. It's a very modern (almost brand new) building on a fairly rural road right off the PA Turnpike, and rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Wi-Fi was a little slow/erratic, but reasonable, and there's a nice breakfast and indoor pool/spa area. This is absolutely a sensible place to stay if you're seeing Fallingwater and want to stay in this end of the world, but be warned that restaurant options in the area are exceedingly limited.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank mdm677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for stopping by TA to leave us feedback about your recent stay, we appreciate your business. We are delighted to see that we were able to accommodate you and that you found your stay with us pleasing. We hope that you choose us again if you have plans of returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 13 in Somerset
661 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
12.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range: $98 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing