We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price and Rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Upon entering the lobby of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the cabin-like decorations. Check-in and out very easy with friendly clerks. The free breakfast is quite like many hotels: oatmeal in packets, hard-boiled eggs, sausage, pancakes, French toast, breads, cereals, etc. The rooms are very clean with updated bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is a very small fitness room and a heated pool which was always loaded with children. The hot tub would be nice if it were in another room away from all the noise. There are 2 good restaurants within close distance: Out of the Fire (pricey for dinner) and Brady's (family/diner type). The location is just off I-76 which was not really noisy but a cabin or motel room
in Ohiopyle within walking distance of trails, biking, restaurants would have been nicer. Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob would also have been closer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the headlights of the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepetalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us a detailed review about your recent stay here at HIEX Donegal. We take great pride in our amenities and our friendly staff so we are thrilled to see that you found both satisfactory. We hope to see you back on any future trips you may have to the Laurel Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 401 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a great location for our day trips in the Allegheny Mountains. We were given a room next to the lobby....thought it would be noisy a night but turns out the mornings were outrageous ... The breakfast/dining room was a few steps from our door. Not a good thing.

The other issue was the fact that people could not smoke in their rooms. So they all smoked their right outside our window. The noise was one thing but the smoke sucked in by our air conditioner was horrible!

Our daughter loved the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I would first like to apologize for the noise issue you had with your room and the smell of smoke from outside. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it helps us to know where we need to improve. I hope that the rest of your stay was satisfactory and that you will be back on any future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was traveling to the area for a wedding, and this hotel was the recommended hotel for wedding guests. It's a very modern (almost brand new) building on a fairly rural road right off the PA Turnpike, and rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Wi-Fi was a little slow/erratic, but reasonable, and there's a nice breakfast and indoor pool/spa area. This is absolutely a sensible place to stay if you're seeing Fallingwater and want to stay in this end of the world, but be warned that restaurant options in the area are exceedingly limited.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank mdm677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for stopping by TA to leave us feedback about your recent stay, we appreciate your business. We are delighted to see that we were able to accommodate you and that you found your stay with us pleasing. We hope that you choose us again if you have plans of returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

By chance we were guests of the day. We got an upgrade and snacks. Also offered breakfast in bed, but we kindly refused the offer. Room was great and people friendly. Very comfortable bed and breakfast was beyond the usual continental waffle maker and rolls. Sausage and gravy, eggs, and more. Worth stay if going through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us feedback about your recent stay at our property. We try to go above and beyond for our guests' so that they have a fabulous stay. Congratulations for being selected as Guest of the Day, we truly hope you enjoyed the extra perks that came along with it. Please come back and see us again if you are ever in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here one night to see Fallingwater. Great location right off Hwy 70. Took us about 25 minutes to drive to Fallingwater. Room was clean and spacious with a few FLW touches. Beds were a little firm for my tastes but they had specifically marked soft and firm pillows which was a nice touch. Breakfast was typical for a free breakfast hotel. Food was decent and fresh. Though coffee was terrible

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's wonderful to see that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Fallingwater. We are sorry however that you didn't like the coffee! We hope to see you back on any future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean rooms and friendly staff @ desk and in halls. Breakfast is all processed foods and is just ok. nice touch with maps and local restaurants. Not much to do in the town and very limited restaurants. The hotel has a rustic theme and could use some landscaping. Nice pool and sauna and saw many young families there on our stay. Ok stay on the way to Fallingwater.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review on TA. We appreciate your input and are glad to see that you enjoyed the service we provide. We are currently updating our landscaping for the summer months. We hope to see you back on any future visits when you can explore some more of the attractions the Laurel Highlands has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I planned to stay here on a road trip to Western Pennsylvania because it is well located for my needs and they also have a hot tub. I was disappointed when I arrived however that there was no one at the front desk. Someone flew by and said they would be with me soon but I believe I stood for about 15 minutes waiting. I stay at HIE's primarily in Pennsylvania and this had never happened before. I did not get to use the hot tub because it was closed when I checked in. I didn't remember seeing hours of use on the website, but I couldn't help thinking that if I had been able to check in when I arrived it might have made a difference. The hunting decor was creative and I liked that there were open lobby stairs available to the second floor. I will stay here again because it is on my way several times a year.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a well traveled road. I recommend asking for a room in the back of the property.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth57Elkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I would first like to apologize for the wait you experienced upon check-in. We have addressed this issue by making sure we have at least two staff members scheduled. I hope you found the rest of your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
11.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
695 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
12.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range: $108 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing