We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels I've seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels I've seen”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

NICE place! Looks new. The lobby is awesome and so are the rooms. They have a guest of the day program and if you are chosen you get a great upgrade and other nice amenities. There aren't a lot of hotels in the area but this is the one to stay at if you are nearby. I will most certainly return when I'm in the area. My room(s)! were huge. I had a bedroom, living room with hotub and kitchen area, the bathroom was huge and everything was spotlessly clean. Well done to the entire staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all of your feedback! We love hearing from our Guest of the Day's! It seems as though you were in one of our favorite rooms; glad you enjoyed the extra space. We will definitely pass the word along to the staff to keep up the work! We are looking forward to your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    96
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
149
120
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stay in hotels about 12-15 nights a year and I can honestly say this hotel ranks in the top 3 of all hotels I've stayed. I loved the woodsy/cabin decor. Rooms were spacious and clean. I made a note on my reservation that I wanted a room by the pool and they actually had it ready. I didn't have to ask or remind them as I do in most hotels. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of foods. What amazed me the most was the desk staff actually cared what I thought of the hotel. They took it personally. It didn't seem like it was just a place to work to them. With very easy access off of the turnpike (no more than a mile) I would stay here in a heartbeat over other hotels along the turnpike. Trust me on this one!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedMapleRabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We appreciate you staying with us, and we are very happy to hear your feedback! We do our best to grant each guest request and love that we were able to do so with your room preference. The entire staff takes great pride in our hotel, and we are happy to see that you noticed. I will make sure they all see your review to keep up the good work! We are looking forward to your future visit next time you are traveling the turnpike. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

There has been a need for a PriorityClub hotel along the PA Turnpike between Breezewood and New Stanton, and that need has been answered with this new facility in Donegal. First, it appears different. There's a rustic look with rough hewn appearing railings and staircases as well as a more natural look to the lobby and dining area. Beyond that though the place is entirely at the top end of the HI Express standard of service. The HI Express line consistently tends to be very clean and modern but somehow this hotel also adds a bit additional something to the decor of the rooms that departs from the white walled sameness that marks most business hotels and makes it diffficult to determine if you've woken up in Nebraska or New Jersey. This hotel appears to be local to a number of natural tourist venues, but quite frankly, my sole interest was a location that saved me another couple hour run into Breezewood. I will be back and soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We were just as excited to open along the PA Turnpike as you were! We are also happy to hear you appreciate the rustic decor the hotel has to offer. We agree,it is refreshing to be a little different in appearance than the average hotel. Thank you very much for recognizing our service, that is one of the main aspects we strive for. We are excited to have you staying with us again in the near future! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Donegal,Pa. What a delight!! I have been a Platinum Priority Club member for over 5 years and have stayed in dozens of properties across the U.S. and Canada...This one is my all time favorite!! The rooms were very spacious and clean and the staff were very professional. Its very obvious that the Management has strives to put customer service as their top priority!! Ive stayed in places that haunted me for days...but this one was a breath of fresh air!!! Kudos to management and staff!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff! I am glad to hear that you consider our hotel a "rose in a sea of thorns" as we take alot of pride in our property and the enthusiasm of the staff to provide exceptional customer service! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If all Holiday Inns had employees as eager and willing to insure my stay was at or above my expectations as Kayla from the Donegal location does, I wouldn't be a platinum Hilton Honors member as well as a platinum rewards member... Kayla is always going above and beyond to insure a perfect stay!

Keep up the great work and positive attitude that keeps me staying at this location when i'm in town!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your great feedback! We also appreciate your Platinum Membership with Priority Club Rewards. We will definitely pass the word onto Kayla to keep up the great work. She is a valued member of our staff and it is great to hear that she is going above and beyond for our guests. Thank you again, and we will see you in future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The lobby atmosphere and room decorations were thematic but tasteful - they contributed to the hotel being more interesting and memorable than your average nice but fairly standard lodging. The room/bathroom was very spacious and clean. The room featured a comfortable chair with ottoman which made catching up on work much relaxing than might otherwise be expected. I echo the sentiment other travelers noted about the switch in the bathroom; however, I found it more curious than actually irksome. The location is right off of the highway and very convenient for travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the great feedback! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Glad to hear you were able to do some work while you were in Donegal, but we hope you got to explore the area a little bit too. We hope to see you again in the future! Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We ski at nearby 7 Springs each year for 3-4 days and this was our first stay at this hotel - I believe it opened for business in July 2011. Great location right off the Interstate and the accommodations were nice including a clean room. The hotel finishes had a "lodge" theme which was different, and all the other usuals that you get from a HI Express were present: business center, in-room internet/fridge/flat screen/micro, fitness center, daily breakfast, etc. This one has a pool & hot tub also, which was good for the kids after a long day of skiing. It was packed during our stay @Feb 17-20, and the morning breakfast rush was sometimes a nightmare if you got there late - nothing the hotel could do about, just a lot of hungry mouths. Hit breakfast early!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road (to the west - better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks for writing a review for us on this website. We love getting feedback from our guests. Hopefully the weather was okay for your ski trip, it hasn’t been the best winter. Glad to hear your kids got to enjoy the pool, hope this gave you a little time to relax too! Sorry to hear about your breakfast experience, it does get crowded quick. We will be looking in to opening up the meeting room on busy days to have a little more seating available! We hope to see you on your next ski trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
16.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing