We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to high priced ski resort lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great alternative to high priced ski resort lodging”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel with a tremendous lodge feel to the lobby. It is just off the turnpike and close to Seven Springs mountain resort, Hidden Valley and other attractions. Much cheaper than the resorts that often require a three day min stay. We had four rooms and all were very clean and spacious. Pool inside. Free breakfast. The "suite" wasn't all that much bigger but did have a pull out bed. Staff is helpful and friendly.
Some strange noises were coming from the in room fridge and the pillow was soft even though it said "firm". I didn't sleep well.

Room Tip: We stayed in back of hotel facing turnpike and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback. I'm very happy to hear your room was clean and you had good interactions with the staff. I would like to apologize that you didn't have a comfortable sleep. I will double check to make sure all the correct pillows are going into the cases labled soft and firm. We hope you enjoyed your time visiting the area, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    103
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
158
126
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Clean room, nice lobby, great location for & Springs and the staff Beth and Kayla are awesome! They were friendly, courteous and very professional!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay! It is great to hear you had a good trip! I will definitely be passing the word onto Kayla and Beth to keep up the good work! I am glad to hear they were able to help make your stay awesome! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of Pleasant Living
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

New property in the Laurel Highlands of Western Penna, this hotel is convenient if you're just passing thru (just off the Penna Turnpike Donegal exit) or if you're skiing Hidden Valley or Seven Springs. The beds were comfortable (very high on my list), everything was fresh and clean, and the typically good free breakfast Holiday Inn Express serves is always welcome. Pleasant front desk staff upgraded us to a suite since I'm a platinum rewards member, but only after asking. Only drawback was the in-suite whirlpool's jets didnt work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cz75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliments that you gave to our hotel! I am very happy to hear that enjoyed your upgrade and the comfort of your room. We love to upgrade all of our guests if we can, especially our valued Priority Club members! I'm sorry that you experienced a challeneg with the jacuzzi jets. I have had maintenance look at that to ensure that they are properly working. Thank you for the information so that we can provide all of our guests with the quality service and value they deserve when staying at our property. We hope to see you on your next trip through the area or when you come skiing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Everything about this Holiday Inn Express is just great. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are also spotless. The beds are cozy and provided us with a great night sleep. The decor is rustic and suites the region. Staff is helpful and so friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. And did I mention breakfast is included?

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in 311...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinglola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXDonegal-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Your wonderful comments and review are greatly appreciated. I'm glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay and will be back next time you come through. We really pride ourselves with the value that we give to our guests and it's comments like yours that keep us encouraged and excited to provide 100% service. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

On our way to Williamsburg, we decided to spend the night here. It was not the cheapest place to stay, but since it was new, we thought we'd give it a chance. It is located just a mile or so off the PA turnpike and about 20 miles west of Somerset. The staff at the desk was friendly and helpful, and gave us several restaurant choices. The breakfast attendant was hesitant to put fresh eggs on the buffet, and said 'There are still some there' when we requested hot eggs, not the cold crumbly leftovers. She may have been having a bad day, and brightened up as we talked to her. The lobby is a hunter's delight, with several stuffed animals on display over the front door. The rooms are bright and clean and the internet service was very good. Three problems prevented me from scoring this place higher. First of all, the noise from the hallway echoed through the room and we could hear conversations, walking, doors closing, etc. Second, the light switch in the baths also turned on the loud vent fan. This drowned out conversations and the TV in our room. Why did they do this? I hope it isn't a trend in the newer motels. Thirdly, the pillows were huge lumps of polyester that propped up your head and made sleeping very uncomfortable. Next time, I will bring in my own pillow. However, for us, there probably won't be a 'next time' at this particular motel.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow, and stay in a room at the end, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlipKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very nice stay. Hotel does not have a laundry for the guests, but they dried our rain soaked ski clothes and even folded them for us. Breakfast was typical for all free breakfast's; it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champion, pa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Hi,

We have stayed here twice. First in October for one night and then December 23 thru 24 with two rooms and six people. It is the neatest cleanest place I have stayed for a while. The suites are great and the breakfast was wonderful, the staff was great. The only problem is that they have one switch for the bathroom light and fan. The fan is so loud that it sounds like someone is playing rap music in the entire room. If someone gets up early or goes to use the bathroom in the night it wakes everyone up. I will stay here again but I will take a flishlight to go to the bathroom in the night.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is away from the road but we were on the road and it did not bother us. They have dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rastmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal
4.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
46 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
544 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
13.3 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Address: 3695 Route 31 East, Donegal, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Donegal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a Laurel Highlands hotel surrounded by great attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Donegal. We're conveniently located just minutes off the PA Turnpike and a short drive to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Other nearby attractions include Living Treasures Animal Park, and Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Donegal, our hotel's choice amenities can satisfy your every need. We keep you connected to friends and family through free high-speed internet access. You can utilize our business center to keep your productivity high. Then relax in our fitness center, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool. Before you explore the vast attractions Donegal has to offer, share your morning with us at our free Express Start Breakfast Bar. You can enjoy one of our tasty signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of our Smart Roast Coffee. We look forward to your visit to our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal Hotel Donegal
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing