We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for Breakfast, Leave for Dinner”
Review of Baker's Restaurant

Baker's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Dillsburg
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Come for Breakfast, Leave for Dinner”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Bakers has been a long time stop for people getting off the PA Turnpike and heading to Gettysburg. They built up an excellent reputation for fine fine and great service. Through some ownership changes they've changed their food. They do have fantastic breakfasts prepared to perfection. They change their quality and maybe the cook staff for lunches and dinners. My grown kids will not eat there saying that the food is gross and disgusting. It seems that they take a lot of short cuts with their food prep, opening cans or jars rather than making sauces and gravies from scratch.

This being said, the service has remained top notch with a hometown diner feel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglesfire1975, Manager at Baker's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Jim,

Thanks for commenting on your experience. As Manager of Baker's Diner for 8 years, we have made changes structurally. I am pleased that you like the breakfast entrees here at the diner.
I can reassure you that all food is made by our chef and his staff here at the diner. The use of cans is never used to make any soups or gravies as that is totally from scratch. I encourage you to give us another try at dinner, as we have also made additions to our extensive menu. Look forward to seeing you again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    102
    33
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Poor poor quality. Disgusting.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Service was great. Decent atmosphere. Food was disgusting. Ordered hot turkey which was. Nothing more than deli meat. Gravy came out of a can. Potatoes were bland. Spaghetti sauce was out of a can. Garlic bread was soggy. Cucumber salad in milk was disgusting and overly sweet. Strange for cucumber salad. Dinner rolls and house salad were delicious. If you dont have many tastebuds left, then you wont mind it here. But for someone expecting good home cooked taste, do not stop here. Poor quality ingredients are used from the turkey gravy to simple chocolate ice cream. Never again. Just lost 4 customers who will be in the area several times a week over the next few months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollAhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglesfire1975, Manager at Baker's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
To Whom it May Concern,

I want to thank you for your review and apologize at the same time for your bad experience.
As the Manager of Baker's Diner, I can reassure you that all soups, gravies, and sauces are made from scratch and the freshest ingredients. Additionally, the turkey is always real turkey that is cooked and carved, we never have used deli turkey meat. Sounds like our kitchen staff might have had an "off " day! I want to be the first to apologize and welcome the chance to make this better for you. Can you please forward your email to my address, gnzeagles@yahoo.com?

Thanks in advance,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stopped here twice in the last couple months. Once for lunch and once for breakfast. I like corned beef hash, but here it comes out of a can. Ruben sandwich for lunch was only fair. Good hash browns on the breakfast plate. Service was quick, but overall the quality is only average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_old_guy_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglesfire1975, Manager at Baker's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear old guy 60,
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry for also getting back to you so late with a response. I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your meal. I would like to reassure you that we have made improvements in the restaurant since your last visit. Thank you also for commenting on our quick service. We strive to keep improving daily in all aspects of customer service to ensure our customers are getting the service and meal they deserve. We look forward to seeing you again and doing a better job than your previous 2 visits.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are looking for what I consider to be the Best Breakfast Anytime resturant, look no futher than Baker's. The Baker's Breakfast Special [ Pancakes or French Toast, 2 eggs, choice of meat and REAL Home Fries plus coffee for 6.99 ] your not leaving hungry. The entire staff is always pleasant, and service is very quick. Baker's is truly a place to enjoy...be hungry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Baker's has us spoiled”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We do live in this town so opinion may seemed biased but it's so good that people traveling through need to know if you're looking for good food, large portions, and a great price stop here. My family has started going out once a week for dinner. We try other diners but Baker's has us spoiled. We can always count on good quality and service .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2happycamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Baker's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing