We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support this great establishment!”

Haars Drive In Theater
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Dillsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Support this great establishment!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

One of the last of a dying breed, this is a true Drive-In theater that shows top run movie double features during the summer. It's a great time and the food they make is much better than you might expect and worth buying. This is a great, unique and inexpensive way to spend a summer night witht the family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jschum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's worth the drive from the Harrisburg area to Dillsburg! The only thing I miss is the old pole speakers, the sound is now transmitted through any FM radio. The snack bar has a wide variety of food including ice cream and you can't beat the prices. It's family oriented and all of the patrons seem to be quite friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank paula656499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent Drive-In Experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is hard to find a Drive-In Theater now a days and Haars gives you every aspect you would want from one. They are so warm and welcoming!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChaoticMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly Springs, PA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Won't go back...”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are fortunate to have two drive-in movie theaters within 20 minutes of our house. One is Haars' and the other is Cumberland Drive-In (near Newville, PA). I won't go back to Haar's - they pack in so many cars that you don't have any room to sit and see the screen and it was hard to hear and see also. It we would not have had our mini-van to sit in the back of, we would not have seen the movie at all. Didn't have this problem at Cumberland - they allowed for more space and it was a much more pleasant experience. Sorry - wanted to enjoy this place, but they let way too many people in. We left before the end of the last movie, but I can't imagine the nightmare of getting out of this place at the end of the night!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reneeandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and Cheap!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I haven't been at a drive-in movie since 1989 and I was extremely excited. We arrived and were taken back in time! The cost was 7 dollars per adult and 2 dollars per child. We had a wonderful time and would certainly do it again. My only complaint is there seems to be a race track near by? Occasionally we could hear loud motors. Other than that it was fantastic!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kubbalight27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haars Drive In Theater also viewed

 

Been to Haars Drive In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing