We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very loud. Decent food.”

Smiler's Grill & Bar
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Dickson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very loud. Decent food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

When you walk in the door this is a loud place. It's busy. The clientele is varied in ages and includes families. From the bartender to the patrons it was a very loud bunch and it was only 1:00 in the afternoon! The waitresses were cheerful & busy. The menu has many options - from standard bar fare to salads, burgers and dinners. The open-face turkey was a little too lunch-meat-ish for me. It came with enough mashed potatoes to serve a family but no vegetable. The burgers are huge as well and come with chips or you can upgrade to fries. They seem to have a great business, but we probably won't be back. Just too much noise for okay food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Local Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Came here on recommendation from Microtel clerk. We try to eat in locally owned restaurants when traveling. Friendly wait staff and smiley customers. Food was good, would stop here again if it was mealtime and we were nearby.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 360Love_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is one of our favorite places to eat, as we live locally. Most of the time we have an appetizer or sandwich, as the dinner plates are huge, but we've never been disappointed. The sweet pototo soup or tomato soup with grilled cheese are our absolute favorites on a cold snowy day. The wait staff walk by every couple of minutes and everyone checks on you, not just your appointed server. In the evenings, it is often busy and the noisy level is high, but lunches or early evening are much quieter. There are multiple TVs all tuned to different sports channels, a pool table in the back and a jukebox, so there is always something going on, which adds to the cheerful pub atmosphere. My husband and I will continue to be regulars at Smiler's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

NOISY. My salad good. Wife had fish, fair to poor. Probably will pass on a return visit. Paeking was crowded and hard to find, so some items are good. Skip the fish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My first time here. It was ok. I had a bison burger for the first time. They have a decent size menu. Next time I will try one of the Italian dishes on the menu. I will go here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robmos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiler's Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smiler's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing