We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for One Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for One Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night, since our normal place to stay, the Residence Inn, was booked up. We were bummed that the 'Suite' was only a studio, since it meant that we all had to go to bed at the same time, but other than that, it was great. Rooms were large and clean. Plenty of parking. Convenient to everything in the area. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and clean.We did eat breakfast, it was decent, with cereal, fruit, pastries, bread, eggs, ham, biscuits and gravy, and a self-service pancake machine. The over-all price was a little high for the area, but, we would consider again if the Residence Inn was fully booked. Also, the rooms were supposed to have free wi-fi, but the signal did not extend past the bathroom. Keep that in mind if you want to use it while in the main room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    48
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
29
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel is new, clean and very modern. The front desk staff was always pleasant and when a Good Samaritan alerted the desk that our car lights were on, they found us as the owner and called so we did not end up with a dead battery. We upgraded to the larger room and it was spacious, 2 double beds with a sitting area and dining table. A refrigerator and microwave is included in the room. The bathroom was large, we'll laid out and it was nice having the Bath & Body Works products. The indoor pool was large and kept very clean. A whirlpool is also near the pool. The fitness center is near the elevators and has high quality equipment. The breakfast room is large and the pancake maker should not be missed. Many restaurants are nearby and Target, Walmart and Kohl's are within a mile. The hotel is off the highway a bit and since it is on the mountain, it is difficult to find the entrance. The main drawback (not always the hotels fault) was the hallway noise making sleeping difficult.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator, if possible, to reduce hallway noise. Check in with Yelp for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as my child and I were staging to Williamburg, VA. The hotel,is in a great location for shopping and eating. In itself, the hotel was incredibly clean, service was great, breakfast had a great selection of foods, and there was free wifi everywhere. The pool and spa were clean. Rooms impeccably attended to. We will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stay here each year for Camp visiting day. Hotel is clean, convenient with breakfast and free internet. At check in the clerk was a bit curt and terse, but everyone else we met was friendly. Breakfast is not great, but is something to eat before you hit the road. Scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, yogurt and an automatic pancake maker! There is not enough seating at breakfast on the weekends. There is an indoor pool, but you can smell the chlorine in the hallway! I wouldn't try it, but there were people in it! Our air conditioner was a bit noisy, but did not stop me from having a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am a big fan of Holiday Inn Express hotels but was disappointed with this one. The hotel was beautiful, rooms were clean and comfy, but even though we booked 4 months before our trip, with a non-refundable booking, the two rooms we were given were on different floors! We protested to the front desk about elderly parents needing to be close by, but to no avail. According to them, everything else was occupied and there was nothing they could do. Then in the morning - free breakfast was uncomfortable at best. The gentleman (& I use that term loosley) who "manned" the breakfast bar was unpleasant, grouchy, and acted as if we were not supposed to be eating there. Breakfast was served from 7-10 a.m. but at 9:30, he stopped replenishing the bar. No yogurt, no fruit, and when we asked for more eggs, we got a dirty look. One of the guests had to ask for a fork! This is the first Holiday Inn Express that I did NOT Love!

Room Tip: Check in early to get the room(s) you desire
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Here4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stays at hotel for a college orientation. Had a late arrival check in - staff at front desk was helpful and friendly. Very accommodating as we originally had a 1st floor room - asked to be moved to 2nd floor as we needed the washer & dryer. Breakfast was excellent and had a lot of choices. Room was clean. Had a great night sleep - hotel was quiet- but could be because we stayed on a Tuesday night. Pillows a little soft but most hotel pillows are not great. Will bring my own next time. Will definitely be staying again at this hotel.

Room Tip: out of the way - not on busy road. not good signage to find hotel - need to go through Red Robin pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeCarmel_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fairly convenient to get to, not directly off the interstate but you benefit by not having any highway noise. The lobby was very inviting and clean. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. I will certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gene3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickson City
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
4.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Address: 1265 Commerce Blvd, Dickson City, PA 18519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Dickson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2016 IHG Torchbearer Award. Stay Smart® when you visit the Holiday Inn Express® and Suites in Dickson City, PA. Consistently ranked in the top 2% of hotels in the brand in North America and winner of the prestigious Torchbearer Award, given to Elite hotels who provide exceptional quality and service. Our award winning hotel has a sleek and modern design with many amenities. We are conveniently located in the heart of the restaurant and shopping district with over 50+ restaurants and shopping stores within ½ mile. Enjoy our many amenities including our Free Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, Large Indoor Pool and Spa, 24Hour Fitness and Business Center, Free High Speed Internet, Gated Patio with Fire Pits and Gas/Charcoal Grill for guest use, and Airport Shuttle. Our hotel is close to all the major attractions such as Elk & Montage Mountains, Steamtown National Historic Site, Lackawanna Coal Mine Tour, The Pavilion at Montage, Mohegan Sun Arena, & Mohegan Sun Casino Our Dickson City hotel is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Scranton and close to all of the major Universities and Hospitals such as University of Scranton, Marywood University, Geisinger CMC, and Regional Hospital of Scranton. Business travelers love our location for easy on and off the highway without dealing with the congestion of the city. We welcome numerous business clients both large and small from Bank of America, TMG Health, Wegmans, Walmart, Gentex, Kiewit, and Invenergy. Having a reception at a venue near Dickson City or Scranton? Our hotel offers superb room accommodations and offers shuttle service to local venues such as Fiorelli’s, Gennetti Manor, Montdale and Scranton Country Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton Hotel Dickson City
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing