We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We traveled to the Scranton, PA area to visit our niece, who is a student at Marywood University! We were pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a hotel. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is very well located, just off the highway and convenient to several universities, shopping, & restaurants. The breakfast is one of the best that we have had (compared to Residence Inn, Hampton, etc.). We highly recommend this hotel in the Scranton area and we will be staying here the next time we visit our niece!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    299
    77
    24
    13
See reviews for
552
270
83
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night while en route to visit family. It was the best price we could find in the area. The entrance to the hotel parking lot is a bit odd - you need to enter by an old garage or shop and work your way to the front of the building. We arrived at night and just followed the neon signs, which made it easier.

The rooms are adequately sized, clean & have all you need. The padded window seat is a nice touch - enough for my kids to say this was one of their favorite hotels. There were a few weird placements of things, such as the outlets being under the desk rather than higher on the wall where they would be easier to get at. Also some of the outlets in our room were unfinished.

The breakfast was fine, although the breakfast area was a bit dark. Also, the plates and cups were all styrofoam, not cardboard, which is annoying to eat off of and harder to recycle.

The morning staff was very good. I asked several questions about the area - the location of a drugstore, more info about some of the places we saw on flyers, and they knew the answers and even printed out directions for us.

There are several big box stores and a mall just up the hill from the hotel. There are sidewalks near the hotel, and it looked like their might be some places to walk to. If you are passing through, this is a good hotel to stay at with very easy access from I-81. If you are staying in Scranton for a couple of days, I would recommend staying someplace downtown. I've had to visit Scranton for work, and the downtown area is surprisingly pleasant with some good restaurants and historic architecture, despite all the jokes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Librarian1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a queen suite, it had a mini kitchen microwave,frig,coffee maker and counter with stools to eat at. The bed area and sofa are partially seperated. It was immaculate, staff were excellent great breakfast buffet including waffles! Would recomend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

One of the nicest of many Microtels I’ve stayed at. Very clean and well-maintained. Friendly, professional staff. Go up the hill a couple of miles for a variety of restaurants. Otherwise, order pizza delivery.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa N.Y.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We travel a lot just for fun but this trip was to evacuate our home on LI, running away from hurricane Irene. We just happened on Microtel Inn & Suites and were very happy for the happening! It has the most comfortable beds we ever slept in. The room was sparkling clean and furnished very pleasingly. Even had a window seat to sit and read! Breakfast was very good and over and above most included breakfasts. The owner, Tim, was so personable and concerned about our every need. Very pleasant and friendly place. We will stay there again. Great value too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great accomodations, comfy room. More than I expected. Oh yea...and cookies!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel is very new and it shows, everything's in great shape and seems brand new. Rooms were very clean and staff was cheerful and very helpful. There is 24-hour coffee and tea service as well as continental breakfast every morning. Would recommend this to anyone coming to the Scranton area and looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickson City
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
632 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Address: 232 Main St, Dickson City, PA 18519-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Dickson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Dickson City Hotel Dickson City
Microtel Inn And Suites Dickson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing