We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jenkins Arboretum & Garden
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem - a must see

A friend and I love to hike or walk on the weekends. I wanted to go somewhere different, so I... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
Beth_McD05
,
Newark, Delaware
Peacful Walk

Water lilies were blooming. Magnolia's were blooming and putting off their fragrance. July is not... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2018
Tammy H
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
28
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water lilies free admission large pond native plants nature walk nice visitor center for sale welcome center gift shop worth the trip azaleas paths paved trees hilly benches calendar
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

A friend and I love to hike or walk on the weekends. I wanted to go somewhere different, so I planned on us going to Jenkins Arboretum and Garden, then to La Cabre Brewing and finish with a walk along the Radnor Trail. I am already planning to go back next spring to see the azaleas, magnolias, and rhododendrons are in bloom. Even without them in bloom, there were fall blooms and really cool looking strawberry bushes. I love that they have numbers on all the trees and give you a key so that you can figure out the various trees. The pond is lovely and there were still water lilies in bloom. It was very tranquil and a most enjoyable visit. It has these large painted water cans and large butterflies that add a whimsical nature to the grounds. It is a green building and the visit is free. It is well work a visit.

Thank Beth_McD05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Water lilies were blooming. Magnolia's were blooming and putting off their fragrance. July is not the best time of the year to go and see the many blooming flowers. It is a very peaceful place to walk and sit. Admission is free.

Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

Follow the paved trails through this enchanted place and enjoy the loveliness at every turn. The specialty here is the cultivation of azaleas and rhododendrons, which are exquisite, but there are also many species of trees, and a large pond with water lilies. We took so many photos! There is a lovely visitors' center where a helpful person is available to give you a map and answer any questions There is no admission charge, but donations are accepted. A hidden gem!

1  Thank maomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

This is a beautiful hillside woodland garden in Devon. There are numerous mature hardwood trees and interesting shade-loving understory plants. Huge jack-in-the-pulpits. Azaleas and rhododendrons abound, some still in bloom. At the bottom of the hill is a picturesque pond with water lilies. This place provides a nice respite from the surrounding suburban madness. There is a nice visitor center with a gift shop. Woodland shade plants are for sale. There is free admission.

Thank EarlofTraveldom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

This is a free Arboretum. Plenty of parking. Nice shady places to walk. It’s a bit hilly. However all the paths are paved so you can walk pretty easily. Lots of labeled shrubs and trees. Definitely a place worth walking if you want time to reflect or talk to your kids or other people you care about. It’s a peaceful place. It’s worth a visit.

Thank gcbuilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Great place! I visited Jenkins Arboretum and Gardens in spring and every flower was out of the bloom! Incredible pictures can be taken here while enjoying a small walk. Recomended for everyone :)

Thank kabcr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Even though we were visiting in early April after a rough winter, and few plants or shrubs were blooming, the place was still a beautiful, welcoming stroll over well-tended paths. We took advantage of several of the scattered benches, to take in the different vistas, and sometimes to catch our breaths after a couple of the steeper paths. Plus, the admission is free. What's not to love?

Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful woodland garden tucked in a neighborhood in Devon. Even though our visit was in the fall and not at the peak of the blooming season (spring seems to be best with rhododendrons, azaleas and wild flower) the setting is well thought out and allows for a peaceful walk. Plants and trees are well labeled, there are many places to stop and enjoy the setting sitting on the well placed benches. The welcome center had a small gift shop,restrooms and a reception desk to answer any questions although the brochures are very well done. We happened upon the garden by searching for gardens near Chanticleer and were glad we took the time to visit.

1  Thank TennaRotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

With a busy calendar of worthwhile public events & lectures, this bucolic haven ranks high on the list of noteworthy botanic gardens in & around PA & DE, such as Mt. Cuba, the Henry Foundation, etc.& beyond the inviting paths & gardens, the current exhibit of work by the PA Society of Botanic Illustrators (PSBI) is informative & especially lovely.

1  Thank Herstory_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

It's free to get in here and it is the perfect pace for a nature walk. They have a cute gift shops as well as nice bathrooms. The staff there is also very friendly. It is full of natural, native plants and flowers. If you are looking for a gorgeous place to take a nice easy walk, check it out! When I went, I was able to see 3 tiny baby turtles! That alone made it worth the trip!

Thank RueMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews