We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We've stayed in worse...."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"We've stayed in worse...."”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The best thing we could all say about our stay here is "I've stayed in worse!"

Upon arrival, the first thing you notice is how outdated the exterior is... not well maintained, to say the least. When we checked in, the side entry door, which has a key access, was propped open with a rock (so anyone could theoretically enter). Walking into the hallway, you are hit with the overwhelming stench of cigarettes. The hotel is pet friendly, so keep that in mind- the other half of our traveling party shared a wall with a very noisy yippy little dog that could be heard down the hallway. Also, although they welcome pets, they don't seem to welcome assisting in keeping the property clean- during our overnight stay, some dog pooped all over the sidewalk, which was then tracked in (by the negligent owner?) to the main hallway... where it stayed. Despite several calls to the lobby to ask that it be cleaned up, we had to sidestep the poop and deal with the stench every time we entered or exited the building. There were still traces of poop in the interior hallway the next morning when we checked out... Yuck.
Fortunately, the cigarette stench did not carry into our non-smoking room. The rooms overall were large, the beds cheap but decent enough for the road-weary, unless you have a bad back. The bathrooms were terribly outdated and in need of maintenance- our mirror was broken in one corner, but this didnt seem to warrant replacement? The shower was pretty grungy, so we opted to go without for our overnight stay. The basic room had a micro-fridge which was clean and seemed to work well (did not use the microwave part). The kitchenette in the king room was a decent size, but the burners had foil under them instead of real drip pans, and it generally looked old and run down. The refrigerator worked fine for what was stored in there over the weekend. Also, the headboard fell off the bed when our children leaned up against it while watching TV. The breakfast staff was friendly, but the food was nothing to write home about, and we were glad there was a sheetz down the road with coffee ad breakfast offerings to supplement our "free" breakfast.

Overall, I would certainly NOT recommend this hotel on any of its merits- we had friends traveling for the same event who stayed in another hotel a bit further away, and paid less per night for a much better overall experience. There are plenty of other "economy" hotels you can find in the area, I wouldn't stay here unless you absolutely have to have a place to crash and you don't really care about amenities or service or cleanliness (at least our bed sheets seemed clean... the pillows were badly stained, however).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    6
    15
See reviews for
15
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

When my husband and I checked in we were told there was a side entrance we could use that would be closer to our room. Arms full of luggage, neither of us could get our room key to work. We hauled everything through the hot, tiny lobby. Nobody was at the desk to tell about the door. We never saw anyone at the desk the whole time we were there. Hall stunk of cigarette smoke. Room had stale smell. Fridge froze all our food, knob broken off so temperature could not be adjusted. Burners of stove lined with foil and filthy. Empty beer can under sink. Oh yeah, back to the door, it was propped open with a rock the next morning when we went out, high security! Trash can next to the door heaping full, stinking. I know it was 90 degrees all week, but why not empty the can daily! Piles of dog poop on the ground by the door also. Termites or carpenter ants chewing inside the wall at night!! Outdoor furniture falling apart. Ice machine empty. Breakfast just ok, coffee terrible, good thing there is a dunkin donuts next door. Only good thing about the room is the large size and surprise, new carpet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The room was stale smelling (non smoking) and the carpet left a sticky feeling to bare feet. We booked a suite for 5 adults and the bathroom had 2 towels and 1 small bar of hand soap. Requested extra towels and was given 2 more and told that was all they had. Bed sheets had visible stains and even found empty beer cans under the bed! Breakfast food supply was depleted and the coffee was the worst I ever tasted. Stay away from this foreign run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Never stay at the the Econo Lodge in Denver PA. Reasons: 1. Apparently the hall ways to the non-smoking rooms are NOT non-smoking. They reek of cigarette smoke. The rooms don't smell that good either. 2. Dog poop in the side entrance hallway. 3. Maid came into the room without knocking first. And the towels she brought were not all the way dry. 4. The cops were called on Fri nite because one of the people in the room next door was being so disorderly the other people in the room with him had locked him out. He kept knocking on their door and was being very loud and obnoxious. 5. Well do you need any more reasons? Oh and the Red Roof Inn is attached to the Econo Lodge so I would not suggest that one either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

As I arrived there was bags of garbage at the front entrance. That night when my wife and I decided we would like a cup of coffee, there was none on the premises. I was told I could get some at breakfast. The room had a full size gefrigerator, microwave, and sink, butno coffee pot. We ran out of toilet paper the first night, luckily I could get some at the front desk. My wife did not have her key the next afternoon and they gave her one and asked for no ID. Can anyone get a key. Several otherminor irratations. I filled out the opinion card and listrd all od this and also told the gentleman checking us out. I have not yet received a response from anyone. DO NJOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This Econo Lodge was no frills but was quiet and clean. Room was very large, having 2 queen beds, a sleep sofa, table and chairs, and still plenty of room to walk around in. Certainly more than I expected for the price. Continental breakfast was small but adequate with cold cereals, fruit, bagels, danish, toast, juices and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank number3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decatur, In
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is dirty, the room smelled. We had to get Febreze to spray in the room to be able to stay there. Bathroom was a mess. Several hairs on the side of the tub. The drain was nasty. Towels were stained with who knows what! Beds were extremely hard and the pillows were paper thin. The hallway was dirty, and smells of stale smoke. Was charged more for the room than when the reservation was booked. Didn't stay for breakfast..as bad as the place smelled and dirty as it was, there was no way we were going to eat anything there. Booking here was a mistake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Akron
Rodeway Inn Akron
#1 of 1 in Akron
37 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
98 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver
Address: 2031 N Reading Rd, Denver, PA 17517-9168
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing