We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Denver
campalhaderech
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Staff and enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Our camp group came and was welcomed by Sherrie the manager. The entire staff was very accomodating to our needs and made check-in very quick. Sherrie even came out to help the children find their rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The pool is large and was great for our group. Our entire camp enjoyed their stay and look forward to staying here next time we are in the area.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank campalhaderech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    21
    11
    17
See reviews for
29
35
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brandonwayne78
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Great location with friendly staff made for a wonderful weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonwayne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke,Ma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I planned a trip for 20 of my friends to Denver, Pa. With accomodations at the Black Horse Motel. This was a golf trip into the edge of Amish and Dutch country. The staff at the Black Horse went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.
They were most accomodating in keeping all of our rooms together, and went out of their way to help in planning the golf trip by arranging the tee times for our group.
They also were most helpful in giving us points of interest and excellent restaurants in the area. They have a very good restaurant on the property. Same name as the motel.
Overall my 19 friends are anticipating our trip back to the Black Horse next year. I have a waiting list of 10 to 12 more people that would like to come next year, but I try to keep my trips down to 20. Everyone that came this year keeps raving about how well we were taken care of by the people at Black Horse. Give it a try, I think you wil enjoy it! Don Rychlik

Helpful?
1 Thank KofCGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My group of 18 have been coming to the Blackhorse for more than 10 years with some who travel across country & from overseas as the Golf package deals are great and the convenience of a good restaurant on site that has only become better with the years. The service is fantastic in Hotel/Restaurant & Bar and the food is now as good as many fine restaurants in New York.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The location is great. Close to shops, great restaurant on site, pool to keep cool and play, pet friendly. Staff was very attentive to needs of our party. Room was nice size with a small balcony to sit outside for your morning coffee or evening beverage. Very soundproof....couldn't hear any noises....water running, TV, etc!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme_againlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I recently stayed here for a 4 night getaway from a nearby city and loved it! The classic look of the hotel was so beautiful against the Lancaster County wooded backdrop. My room was spacious with a large bed and nice couch in the sitting area. My room had a private deck looking out into the distant woods. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful. A huge pool, plenty of chaise lounges, and even basketball hoops out back. A great place for a large group, party, or family event.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reatstoroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

A group of friends and I have been having a yearly golf trip for close to 30 years. Many of those have been spent at the Black Horse. The service has always been outstanding at both the hotel and the restaurant. They go out of their way to make sure that all of your needs are met. The accomodations are comfortable and well located, although service is really what sets the Black Horse apart.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcjr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
96 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
11.1 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
397 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Akron
Rodeway Inn Akron
#1 of 1 in Akron
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Lodge and Suites

Property: Black Horse Lodge and Suites
Address: 2180 N Reading Rd, Exit 286, Pennsylvania Turnpike & Route 272, Denver, PA 17517-9324
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Horse Lodge and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is an exterior property with seven different room types, all of which are equipped with wireless internet access, regrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron & board (other amenities are available). A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning of your stay. You will enjoy our picnic pavilion with BBQ grills and an outdoor swimming pool on our ten park-like acres. The Black Horse also has an award-winning restaurant & tavern open seven days a week specializing in Certified Angus Beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is located on the Antiques Capital USA antique mile, just off the PA Turnpike exit 286. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Horse Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing