We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extended Stay in Denver PA.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Black Horse Lodge is an older Motel with great service. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and responsive. Any problems are resolved quickly. The rates very from daily to monthly and are quite reasonable. I stayed from September 2012 to May 2013 and enjoyed the location and the people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while passing through the area. We had made the reservation on the internet and took advantage of a "cabin fever" sale they were having so the price was very reasonable. We got one of their executive suites and it was clean and comefortable. The whole hotel looks like it is from the seventies but our area was well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stillmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Forced to stay here thru my daughter's sport tournament. Smells musty. Advertised on website microwave in room with two double beds. No microwave. Shower moldy and shower head sprays water in every direction. Scratch towels the size of a postage stamp. Advertised wifi -- Signal weak or non existent. DO NOT STAY here!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

..to be short & sweet
Mean nasty staff (2 ppl in office are nice others will eat you for dinner and ENJOY it) very rude
Stains everywhere rug and 2 armchairs DISGUSTING
Old & out-dated do not begin to describe it
We weren't looking for anything high tech just decent place 2 stay while we relocated. ..learn from our mistake STAY AWAY
laundry is $1 for ea but it reaks of smoke & I've never seen a washer that small! 1/2 the size of a small house washer!
Kitchett is a sink w 2 built in hot plates. ..takes 1hr to boil a covered pot of water! !!(really I timmed it)
Rooms smell weird like old smoke & something else I can't place
Drafty
Wallpaper coming off walls
Few outlets
Couldn't be bothered to update old Howard Johnsons sign on door!
Was nice how there is a pavilion outside w 4 picnic tables. ..if I were going for a vacation I d stay some place nicer!

Room Tip: Go some place else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Burned out at work? Need a sleepy, quiet getaway? This is the perfect place if you're visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country.
Stayed the first week of November in a first-floor whirlpool room. The bathroom, which included a heated floor, was as big as some I've seen at posh Las Vegas resorts. Certainly a nice touch.
Located in a quiet, easy-going town with plenty of great places to eat. And if you're into shopping for antiques, this is a hard location to beat.
The hotel is located on a huge amount of land and spaced out nicely, which my English bulldog appreciated quite a bit.
Very quiet. You won't be bothered while trying to sleep at night -- or nap during the day.
The staff was friendly and helpful. All first-rate people.
Yes, the exterior could use some updating -- and some new paint -- but my room was spotless. The grounds are also well-kept.
As long as you don't mind driving a little bit to see the true (tourist) Amish experience, you won't beat this hotel or its prices.
Added bonus: their TV package includes what seemed like 200 channels. Made keeping up on Election Night easy!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10 per night and enjoy a whirlpool room. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

comfortable lodging (so called suite) for $89/night, so so. Lesser priced rooms available. Location is pretty good to attractions, and near turnpike. Lots of ammenities for summertime, but comp. breakfast meager. Attended a wedding so for one night did ok.

Room Tip: rooms just above check in office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been to this Lodge in the past and while it is an older Lodge, this time it was pretty bad. The staff is always nice no problem there. The rooms are not so nice at all moldy smelling wall paper coming off walls just dingy. Outside the little fense between the rooms was all peeling and just plian ugly. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraAcqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
97 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
138 reviews
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Reading
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Lodge and Suites

Address: 2180 N Reading Rd, Exit 286, Pennsylvania Turnpike & Route 272, Denver, PA 17517-9324
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $75 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Horse Lodge and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is an exterior property with seven different room types, all of which are equipped with wireless internet access, regrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron & board (other amenities are available). A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning of your stay. You will enjoy our picnic pavilion with BBQ grills and an outdoor swimming pool on our ten park-like acres. The Black Horse also has an award-winning restaurant & tavern open seven days a week specializing in Certified Angus Beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is located on the Antiques Capital USA antique mile, just off the PA Turnpike exit 286. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Black Horse Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing