We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Denver B&B and Inns
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful location and accomodations”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the night here during the summer. Liz was wonderful, showed us around the house and the property. The interior of the B&B was beautiful, the walls and floor are exposed pine. The room was very comfortable, clean and intimate. The breakfast that Liz prepared was made with many local ingredients, and was incredible! Far better than I've had at many fancy restaurants. I urge you to stay here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a very nice weekend at this beautiful inn. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by Liz and Ben on the deck. They invited us in and showed us to our room. We were in the Penn State room, which was very nice and clean. The room has a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is roomy and has a shower! There is one armchair in the room, two would have been nice, but there is plenty of seating in the common areas. Each room has a separate outside entrance, as well as a stairway from the landing down to the kitchen/living room. Just outside of the rooms, is a nice seating area with two comfy chairs and a table. There is also a mini fridge and keurig machine outside of the rooms. Liz has fresh baked cookies there too. The landing where all four rooms are located is above and open to the kitchen and living room below. So there is some family activity down there, as this is their home. There aren't tv's in the rooms, but there is a big screen tv and plenty of seating downstairs in the guest living room. Breakfast was wonderful each morning, it was served family style at 8:00. Liz is quite the gourmet chef. she made the most delicious cinnamon rolls from scratch. It was a two day process! She puts a lot of love in all she does! She also made two types of pancakes one morning and the most wonderful sausages. The next day we had scrambled eggs, home fries, local bacon and homemade bread, yum! We really enjoyed meeting this lovely family, and we had a very relaxing, restful weekend. Thank you Liz, Ben and Girls, you have a lovely home and a magic touch!

Geoff and Kim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim58204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed with Liz and Ben for a night during a weekend getaway for our birthdays. It was a great experience and Liz and Ben were great hosts. Breakfast was great, the rooms were very comfortable and the entire place was spotless. The outdoor hot tub was a treat and was fun to relax in the evening overlooking the quiet and peaceful woods. Countless little things that our hosts thought of made the entire trip very enjoyable and relaxing.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife & I decided to celebrate our anniversary in the Lancaster region. We were looking for a nice, clean B&B. We decided to stay at the Furnace Hills B&B based upon location & the favorable reviews. What we got was so much more! Ben & Liz are spectacular hosts who go out of their way to make you comfortable. Our room ( 'Antique Room') was totally clean, very cozy & the bed was incredibly comfortable! Each room has a private entrance & additional access to the common areas, which was also great. In addition, the breakfast served was incredible-really good home cooking! And we loved the location, a real mountain feel yet only minutes from the local tourist events. We would highly recommend Furnace Hills B&B and hope to stay there again real soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Proprietor comments-
• Reception: Liz Ehrhart was a delightful and down to earth person who welcomed us with great warmth and enthusiasm. Her husband Ben and two lovely girls were an added bonus. And of course Angus, their beautiful Husky, greeted us very calmly but affectionately.
• Willingness to accommodate: Liz was so willing to help, she carried a suitcase up to our room and showed us all the features of the room, inn and grounds.
• Assistance: This was actually a beforehand thing- her directions to the B&B were spot-on.

Facility comments-
• Appearance: The house is a gorgeous log cabin that was extremely well planned, for both accommodation and beauty. The interior is just as lovely, a great-room that gives one a lovely view, upstairs or down. The rooms are very well done, fairly simple but with individual character (we were in the Penn State room). Bathrooms are very roomy (shower only in our room).
• Cleanliness: All was spotless.
• Comfort: Only one armchair in our room so we sat in the upstairs loft area of the great-room where two comfy armchairs straddled a small table. A small fridge and Keurig machine allowed us flexibility in having a snack in the evening. There is a TV downstairs in one corner of the great-room.
• Accessibility: Exterior and interior stairs allow access to all rooms- but all four rooms are on the second floor.
• Location: It is set in a beautiful woods with lots of privacy but there are homes within sight. It is located in a somewhat remote area and might discourage zipping back to the room to freshen up
• Special features: Outdoor hot tub. The quiet beauty of the Pennsylvania woods.

Breakfast comments-
• Quality & quantity: Liz was an excellent cook and she made delicious breakfasts with lots of variety and an abundance of food. French toast casserole- fantastic!

Special comments-
• Liz and Ben's support of WCNY Public Television Tel-Auc in Syracuse, NY, is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syrcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

his bed breakfast was one of the best places we have stayed at. Liz and her family made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was nothing short of great, everything was home made. There is a outdoor hot tub which is a good end of the day treat. Liz and her husband went to great lengths to make this bed and breakfast a home from homemade cookies, to chocolates. My wife and I are planning to come back
annually.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Liz and her family are so warm and friendly, they made us feel so welcome. Liz seemed to think of absolutely anything you could need while staying here. There is a little area outside the rooms that is stocked with soda and water. Nearby is a Keurig coffe maker with lots of varieties of warm drinks. Hubby is enjoying the hot tub out on the deck at this very moment. We can hear all sorts of birds singing. It is very peaceful here. Yesterday we were lucky enough to see three deer not too far away. Liz is a wonderful cook, this morning we had homemade granola, yogurt, assorted fruit juices, a platter of fruit, ham and homemade sourdough blueberry bread oops almost forgot, she made us a delicious German apple pancake. (Better than my own!) you simply can not go wrong by choosing to stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
5.0 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
396 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
154 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village
5.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: 575 Mountain Top Dr, Denver, PA 17517-9557
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy log home Bed and Breakfast located on 8 wooded acreas in northern Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing