We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Black Horse Restaurant Tavern - CLOSED

Black Horse Restaurant Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Black Horse Restaurant & Tavern is the neighborhood place where fine food meets casual comfort. The chef is passionate about providing you with a casual, seasonal celebration of American cuisine. Enjoy his latest creations using fresh, local produce. His impressive culinary background paired with his sensitivity to what his customers crave assures your satisfaction. We invite you to stay after your dining experience for an after dinner drink and dessert that is sure to please your palate.Happy hour food and drink specials are offered daily from 4:30 PM to 6:30 PM in the Tavern and also on the outdoor dining terrace (weather permitting).
Jackson
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thirty-six golfers were served delicious filet mignon or crab cakes by a excellent staff of servers. We are looking forward to returning next year. Thanks Tara.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wyomissing
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is excellent!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the appetizers to the desserts , this restaurant has the outstanding selections. The only problem is choosing just one item. We have returned many times just to try something else on the menu. There is even a vegetarian menu. The service is always excellent. I have recommended this restaurant to anyone who wants to have a delicious meal and they have told others. The word is spreading. Terrific chef who also changes the menu with the seasons.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Our Favorite Restaurant!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food is awesome and prepared loving by the Chef!! When we need to relax and want a great meal, The Black Horse is where we go. The staff is friendly and they always make us feel at home. The dessert menu is fabulous and they donate a dollar to the Ephrata Cancer Center...What a wonderful gesture. If you are traveling on 222 and near the Denver / Turnpike Exit, you must get off and stop in for a wonderful meal. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank lbourassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Most amazing meal!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at a bed and breakfast in the area and our innkeepers recommended this restaurant. Our meals were the best we have ever eaten! The steak salad was perfection! The steak was cooked perfectly and dessert was to die for! We would definitely recommend this restaurant to Anyone looking for an amazing experience! So amazing! Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaylaGearhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first blush, we thought the food was going to be ordinary, due to the ordinarious of the decor, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and even told the cashier to tell the chef that he/she is excellent. We recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanishbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Restaurant Tavern also viewed

 
Denver, Lancaster County
 
Reamstown, Lancaster County
Stevens, Lancaster County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing