We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing meal!”

Black Horse Restaurant Tavern
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Black Horse Restaurant & Tavern is the neighborhood place where fine food meets casual comfort. The chef is passionate about providing you with a casual, seasonal celebration of American cuisine. Enjoy his latest creations using fresh, local produce. His impressive culinary background paired with his sensitivity to what his customers crave assures your satisfaction. We invite you to stay after your dining experience for an after dinner drink and dessert that is sure to please your palate.Happy hour food and drink specials are offered daily from 4:30 PM to 6:30 PM in the Tavern and also on the outdoor dining terrace (weather permitting).
1 review
“Most amazing meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at a bed and breakfast in the area and our innkeepers recommended this restaurant. Our meals were the best we have ever eaten! The steak salad was perfection! The steak was cooked perfectly and dessert was to die for! We would definitely recommend this restaurant to Anyone looking for an amazing experience! So amazing! Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaylaGearhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first blush, we thought the food was going to be ordinary, due to the ordinarious of the decor, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and even told the cashier to tell the chef that he/she is excellent. We recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanishbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The four of us were sitting around the table chatting. Our entrees were served and, without much thought, each of us took our first bite. All conversation on the previous topic stopped and each of us sat there amazed at how good the food tasted. The adjectives ranged from "awesome" to "outstanding" to "the best I ever had". The food was presented beautifully. The service could not have been better. The desserts worth every calorie! Black Horse also provides a wide variety of vegetarian and gluten free choices. I have eaten in restaurants in 3 continents and I must say that my meal in the Black Horse was one of the best!! The only suggestion I would have is to stay away from the house merlot. Its quality is not consistant with the rest of the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent service. Wonderful food. 3 meat eaters & 1 vegetarian. Separate menu for veggies so much choice. Love the dessert. Mini doughnuts were so light, fluffy & moorish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestpalkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I cannot say enough about how good this place is for dinner. The four of us all were raving about how good our meals were. I highly recommend the French Onion Soup and the Spice Rubbed Flat Iron Steak. The service was very attententive without being obtrusive. I would definately eat here again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Restaurant Tavern also viewed

 
Denver, Lancaster County
Reamstown, Lancaster County
 
Stevens, Lancaster County
 

Been to Black Horse Restaurant Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing