We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service Overall great place”

Dutch Cousin Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dutch Cousin Campground
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family of 5 stayed in one of their two room cabins. We choose this site sue to the reviews from others and we were not disappointed. The sites were very clean and everyone there was very nice. We will be going back!!! We stayed with are 2 young girls ages 3 and 5 and a 11 month old. The back bedroom had enough room for a pack and play. The mattress is hard on the bed and if we had stayed longer then 2 nights we would have needed a air mattress on top of it but it was not bad for 2 nights. Our two girls slept on the pull out sofa and it was perfect for them. We pulled the table out and all sat down for meals right in the cabin that we cooked over the fire. A perfect stay for our first real family vacation!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been coming here, solo, for three years now. I started in Cabin 53 in June of 2012, and went back (actually made my reservation for 2013 before I left!) in June 2013, and then am going back again this July 11. It's very nicely placed near things but not prohibitively far. It's VERY quiet, the people who are year round campers are extremely nice and wave when you go past.

The owners are extremely nice as well, very cordial and accomodating. The entire place is very clean, the restrooms and showers are very good. My cabin I always get is wonderful (the others are as well, they are all brand new looking but I have only stayed in mine). Has a nice swing on the porch on the front, AC inside (heat as well) and a simple toilet. TV/Fridge as well. So nice, such a great great place for a solo (for me) getaway!

Family wise, it's awesome as well - I am just remarking on my experience bc I go alone :)

Just such a nice place. Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CamaroCruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here in July with our 2 children, and we rented a cabin. Our cabin was small, had 2 bunk beds where the kids slept, and a full size bed in a separate room. There was a bathroom which was very clean, and a microwave, refrigerator, a tv, and also a small table and chairs. It was very cozy and convenient, since this was the first time we took our children camping!

The staff is very friendly, and the grounds are kept clean. The showers were in good condition too. It was a very quiet campground, which we loved. We will definitely return. The only thing I suggest is you bring an air mattress for the main bed, as the cushions were very thin, and the bed frame underneath is hard wood! Otherwise, it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyrlisa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in one of their one room cabins. We had an excellent stay. The campground is very clean and quiet. The wooded sites make it more enjoyable as you can sit in shady areas or the sun, depending on the time of day. The cabin we rented was spotlessly clean, we felt comfortable staying there. The staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't miss having a pool or entertainment area and if you are just looking for a peaceful few days, Dutch Cousin Campground is your place.

We will be staying at this campgound again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We visited for a night in a two room cabin. It was nice, quiet and relaxing. It isn't an ideal campground if you're looking for your kids being completely occupied as there is no pool or entertainment area, we didn't feel the need for the extras for one night so it was fine for us. The cabin was wonderfully clean, the staff so kind and helpful. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for just a quiet relaxing time.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Heavensnorthstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

April 2013. You're sure to enjoy staying at this excellent campground. Three times a year this area of Pennsylvania hosts an antique "Extravaganza" .... and hundreds of antique dealers come to offer their wares. (There's also 8-10 antique malls within a few miles).

Camping at the Dutch Cousin Campground makes for a perfect antique get-away ...... flea markets and shopping all day and a clean, quiet .. and affordable ... place to spend the night. We loved it -- we will certainly be back again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wawaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We go camping just about every weekend and when we don't feel like going real far, we camp at Dutch Cousin Campground just outside of Denver, PA. We live about 15 minutes from the PA turnpike and Dutch Cousin is 5 minutes from the Reading Lancaster exit of the Turnpike, very convenient. Dutch Cousin is a medium size campground, around 100 sites, it is very wooded and if you like trees it's the place to go. The owners are a very friendly couple who are campers themselves. For those who can't last a weekend without email or face book or twitter, Dutch Cousin has WIFI access throughout the campground. Although many of the sites are occupied by seasonal campers, we have never had a problem booking a good site for the weekend. The campground is open year round and although all the sites have water from April thru October, many of them have water all winter long and most of the sites have sewer hook ups. All but the primitive tent sites have electricity. The campground is close to US 222 and is less than half an hour from both Reading and Lancaster. Personally, we have never had a bad experience camping at Dutch Cousin and neither has anyone we've recommended it to. They have very reasonable rates and plenty of firewood for a campfire. This place is quiet and friendly and is ideally located; what more could one ask for...

Room Tip: its a campground, bring your own room or rent a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RJM1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
1.2 mi away
Penn Amish Motel
Penn Amish Motel
#2 of 6 in Denver
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
6.2 mi away
Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Cousin Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Cousin Campground

Address: 446 Hill Rd, Denver, PA 17517-9140
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Denver
Number of rooms: 99

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing