We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation hotel in the Poconos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great vacation hotel in the Poconos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The new owner Shawn is very accommodating and friendly, the gold course is beautiful and the pool area is very large and has great mountain views. My husband and I enjoyed the outdoor bar area, at night you can use the stone fire pits. Also Delaware Water Gap village is down the road, its a beautiful hamlet with a few restaurants, cafes and ice cream shops.
We will return to Water Gap/ Wolf Hollow Country Club later this summer, perfect distance from new york city for a weekend escape.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loverbunny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, General Manager at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility. We appreciate you letting us know about your stay. We would like to offer you two free rounds of golf for the next time you come and visit. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester County, Pa.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I spent two days (one night) at DWGCC last week. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and found all employees to be friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. This is an older hotel, but the furnishings in our room had been updated since previous visits. We had an excellent dinner in the Wolf Hollow Dining Room and a nice breakfast the following day on the outside terrace overlooking the mountains. The pool is in a lovely setting and we enjoyed spending time there as well. If you are not golfers, hiking on the A T and canoeing on the Delaware are right down the road.
As the new owners gradually work on renovations and updates, the charm of this hotel will get better and better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopherbroke000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility. We are and continue to upgrade the hotel and property. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and got to see the town and community. We would like to offer you two free rounds of golf the next time you come visit us. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Bethel
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a really strange hotel. It has a lot of potential to be really amazing but it is very run down and could greatly benefit from renovation. The best part of this hotel is the kitchen staff; they are very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff is not as helpful and they never seem to be around. When we arrived they had messed up our reservation so we did receive a discount for that error but we never did get the room we wanted. We were here for a long weekend and on Sunday night we were the only people in the hotel, no staff or guests, which was kind of creepy. Overall, this is a strange hotel that is just okay. With some work, it could be an amazing hotel but it's just not there yet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M12C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, General Manager at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We understand your concern for having someone on staff to service your needs. We are taking your review very serious and attempting to make our facility better. We are in the process of hiring a hotel manager as well as another receptionist. Hopefully that will make any future stay more enjoyable. We would also like to offer you a complementary hotel stay and round of golf should you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Being unfamiliar with the area, I booked a room here based on online reviews. After driving four hours and numerous attempts to contact them, (no answer and message full so I could not leave a message), we arrived to an EMPTY AND DARK hotel! It was the first night of our honeymoon traveling and I was left scrambling last minute in an unfamiliar area to find a decent room. Can you imagine a EMPRY AND DARK hotel after you booked the room, for your honeymoon!? I even received a confirmation email about the stay and a "regarding your recent stay" email the following day!
I contacted the company the next day to have a woman answer the phone who promised I'd "here from upper management today." It has been a week since then, I have written two emails and have still to hear from ANYONE with the company!
They have a 48 hours cancelation policy but won't even call you when they shut the hotel down and cancel on you!
BE AWARE, IF YOU BOOK AT THIS HOTEL, YOU MAY NOT HAVE A ROOM! THEY MAY CLOSE THE DOORS AND LEAVE YOU SCRAMBLING AS THEY DID ME!
I rated it 1/5 only because Trip Advisor doesn't allow any less.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 1Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, General Manager at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are sorry you did not get the chance to stay at our facility. It is very unfortunate that you were not able to stay with us and we are very sorry it was the first night of your honeymoon. We did however call you numerous times and only to have a busy signal. We also left you two emails without any response. Our facility is a boutique hotel and requires a check in policy. We are do not leave our facility open 24/7. Please note we have a check in policy Sunday-Wednesday of no later than 7pm and Thursday-Saturday no later than 10pm. All late check in will require 48 hour advance notice. After hour guest access and late check in access code for the lobby door. We also have a night watchmen as well as ownership who live on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at Wolf Hollow and it was amazing. The staff are true professionals. Tammy, Hugo, Colleen and Brandon made us feel like part of their family. Julie and Shawn the owners are starting a new resort in the Pocono that is by far above the rest. The rooms have modern amenities with an old world charm. Just STUNNING!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsG42614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, General Manager at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for thinking of us when planning your vacation. We are very happy to hear you had a great time. Please let us know the next time you are in town and we would like to buy you a appetizer. Thanks again and we are happy to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A year ago I reviewed the Water Gap Country club, but looks like it never posted. So here is my "year later, reflection review"

We booked a wedding at WGCC in 2012 for an April 2013 wedding. Sometime after we booked, the owners changed. That didn't really concerned me until, 2 weeks before the wedding I was contacted by Tammy, the new event coordinator. She told me that Hotel Impossible would be filming and renovating during our wedding. Obviously this turned an already stressful crunch time into a curious headache that we could do nothing about. We decided to be optimistic and think "hey, it might be fun to be on tv." There was nothing we could do about the construction, so might as well try to have some fun.

Overall the wedding was amazing and Tammy was a lifesaver. The food was delicious (though we should have had mashed potatoes instead of rice, but I'm probably the only one who noticed that detail!) The view and grounds were still beautiful, as was the reception area, with the exposed-beam ceiling, which drew us to the location in the first place. The bridal suite was beautifully redone by the show. Like most of the building, it was in need of updating.. I just wish it could have been done before or even after our wedding.

My criticism is with the new owners. If it wasn't for Tammy, my husband and I would never had known what was going on. I feel, as someone taking over an preexisting business, Julie and Sean should have made sure to find out about any upcoming events and contact those people to let them know what was going on. Our rehearsal (the day before the wedding) was the first time we ever met Julie, and of course it was a hectic introduction because there was film crew all around us. I feel the show and the owners used our wedding as an opportunity for added drama and promotion. So in that regard, I wish the new owners had put their guests' needs before their own.

Yes, the hotel needed work.. but did it really have to be the same weekend as our wedding?!!? Some of our guests unfortunately experienced confusion with room reservations and check in. (for a while the number was disconnect, then phone calls weren't being returned. They had to check in at the pro-shop instead of the front desk, since there was no front desk! So people felt a little scrambled.) In the end, everything pretty much worked out fine.. it was just extra stress at the time.

We have yet to return to see the renovations. I hear it's beautiful. I wish we and our guests would have been able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LostInWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your response. We know it was a hectic experience for you and especially your wedding weekend. We (New Ownership) settled and took over the property the week of your wedding. We also lost a lot of control due to what Hotel Impossible was doing to the facility. We do 100% appreciate you and your family for sticking it out. We know a lot was going on and during a time of a wedding is not what anyone would want to encumber. We wanted to honor your wishes and would have cancelled the filming if you would not have agreed to do so. ONce we all agreed to do the show- it was under their control. We do want to show off some of what we did after the show left. We renovated the entire facility. We want you to enjoy the place you were married. Please accept your next stay on us. We want to show you we truly care about you choosing Water Gap Country Club. Tammy can arrange your FREE Hotel Stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The perfect place for a golf weekend. Fun course. The hotel rooms are on the course grounds, so they are easily accessible. The rooms are also clean and comfortable. The employees are very pleasant and eager to make your stay enjoyable. Will definitely go back. Excellent Experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and saying such nice things. Hopefully you will be back in the summer to enjoy the pool. Next time you are in town- a round of golf is on us. Thanks again for your support. Please let our Head Professional Bill Lee- know you have a round of golf on us. Mention the date of your trip and contact info and we will gladly give you a free round of golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware Water Gap
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
#5 of 8 in Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
14.0 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club

Property: Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Address: 288 Mountain Road, Delaware Water Gap, PA 18327
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Delaware Water Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Delaware Water Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 Acre 18 hole Championship Golf Course, Hotel, Wedding and Banquet facility. Open Year Round. Open to the public. Home of the Eastern Open- where Walter Hagen won a PGA Tournament in 1927. 6 Miles to Shawnee Ski Resort, 15 Minutes to Camelback. 15 Minutes from Mount Airy Casino. 20 Minutes from Pocono Raceway. Property sits on the Appalachian Trail in Historic Delaware Water Gap. Entrance way to the Poconos. 70 Miles from the George Washington Bridge and 1.5hrs to Philadelphia. Stay and Play (Golf) and Stay and Ski Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Gap Country Club Hotel Delaware Water Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing