We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shepard Pie and Ham and Bean Soup”

Mom's Dutch Kitchen
Ranked #29 of 42 Restaurants in Danville
Restaurant details
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Shepard Pie and Ham and Bean Soup”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I want to say one thing without argument. This is the very best Ham and Bean Soup I have ever eaten. Although it is summer and 100 degrees outside, this soup is still good. As a business traveler, restaurants are pretty much all the same. This is a diamond in the rough, a real gem. I had the best Shepard Pie here recently also. In addtion to that, the service is top notch. If you are in the area, skip Friendlys and McDonalds and stop there. I firmly believe you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    18
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Eat at Moms”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family and I went to Moms on a Sunday while staying in central PA. We were underwhelmed to say the least. My husband ordered the Country Breakfast which the menu stated that it came with 2 eggs any style, biscuits & sausage gravy, bacon & home fries. When the order arrived, there was white toast & no biscuits & gravy and no home fries. It also looked like 1 egg scrambled instead of 2. He questioned the waitress & she said the biscuits didn't come with it but she could put in an order for $5.99 if we wanted. We politely refused. To be sure we were right we correct. We were. When we asked the waitress this time she said the order comes as it did because most people do not want the home fries & country biscuits. If we want them we have to ask?!? When my husband asked her how could he ask because it stated on the menu that they were included, she apologized but said that was just the way it was. He stated that she should have asked him then. She said it wasn't her fault it was the cooks & brought the manager over. The manager agreed with us and offered us a small discount on the check. Underwhelming is an understatement!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGregNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton heights, pa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & good food.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stop here everytime we are in Danville. The waitresses are always friendly and accomodating...the food is plentiful and very tasty. Good prices. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dpetticoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

the food wasn't anything special,it was like you were in your own kitchen

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No worth it”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I live in Danville, so I've had a chance to sample all the surrounding restaurants. I can think of at least 20 to go to before going to Mom's Dutch Kitchen. It's your basic, crappy diner, with nothing truly special except its convenient location. If you're hungry for a home cooked meal, stay in the car a little longer for a more worth while restaurant- even Friendly's!

Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom's Dutch Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mom's Dutch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing