We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Best in Area”
Review of Pine Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Barn Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visit family in area and stay about once a year. There is nothing better in general area. Breakfast is a little expensive but the rooms are clean, the wifi free, and the front desk knowledgeable. Lower floor in renovated building rooms can be a little musty in the summer

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you, S W, for you nice review.

As you kept your review short, I will do the same with my reply. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Pine Barn Inn. The staff takes great pride in the service we provide, and enjoys seeing our returning customers whether it is weekly, monthly or yearly.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family lives in the area and had a large get together. Because of the number of people going to the event, we decided to stay at a hotel rather than burden my parents. We chose this facility due to location.

The room was pretty nice; pretty clean. We booked the room for 4 people - they did not have enough towels in the room but they were prompt in bringing extras after asked. Beds were comfortable. Decor was OK. It may need an upgrade at some point in the near future.

It was nice to have a restaurant on the premisis. We had breakfast there one morning. Food was good. However, I wont say that the service was awesome. It was fairly busy, but nothing that I havent seen before. When we arrived, the hostess was not very pleasant; told us there was a wait and then told us to come back in 1/2 hour. We have 2 small children, not the easiest thing to do. When we did come back, she still wasnt very friendly but did seat us. There were several open tables but she sat us in the middle with a small amount of room. I would have preferred a table a little further away from all of the hustle as my kids were a little restless. But honestly, didnt want to bother the hostess. Our waitress was very nice.

Overall, I would stay was OK. Would I stay here again? Only if I couldnt stay at Inn at Turkey Hill.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank eightysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you, eightsgirl1, for your nice review

Many families do use the Pine Barn Inn when they gather in the local area. Being Danville's only full service hotel, it allows them to get together for a meal or late night beverage without having to leave the property. Many find our location away from the Interstate 80 to be a much more pleasant environment.

I am sorry that our hostess was not pleasant. I have reviewed your comments with out restaurant manager. There is often a wait for a table on weekend mornings during the summer. We try to serve our guests as quickly as possible, but our seating is somewhat limited. In terms of being seated in a quieter area; do not hesitate to be asked to move if you should visit us again. Many of our regular guests have favorite spots, and trust me, they are not shy about only sitting in certain seats! I am glad to hear that your server was pleasant and that the food was good.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for one night. We wanted to spend two days at Knoebel's Amusement Park, and this appears to be one of the closest hotels to Elysburg. There is nothing fancy or noteworthy about the place. It caters predominantly to patients or relatives of GMC. You are literally yards away from the hospital, so if this is where you are heading, this is your hotel. It was quiet, clean and mostly comfortable. It was hard for the five of us to get situated, but most people don't stay there with a bunch of small kids. The standard room we stayed at would be OK for a couple, even with one kid. Add more, and it gets cramped.

Kids didn't care much for the hotel, since there was nothing for them to do. But we only needed to spend a night, so they had to live with it. Buffet breakfast was decent, albeit limited in choice. If you are of gastronomic persuasion, you may want to order from the menu.

Again, if you are here for GMC, this should be a perfect place for you. We were not, but I don't think there is much choice for those who want to stay close to Knoebel's anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kolbasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you, Kolbasik, for your review.

While the Pine Barn Inn does serve many people who are associated with Geisinger Medical Center, the majority of our business in the summer travel months are people visiting Knoebel's Amusement Resort or enjoying the pleasures of the beautiful Susquehanna Valley.

Many of our guests have commented that they enjoy the Pine Barn because it allows them to relax after a busy day. They enjoy a nice meal without having to travel, as we are Danville's only full service hotel. Our restaurant, tavern or patio all feature excellent food with a variety of seating options. We offer complimentary wireless internet or 80+ TV channels in the rooms, and if you want to travel a short distance, there is an old fashioned three screen Drive-In 10 minutes to the West or a 16 screen cinema 15 minutes to the East.

The breakfast buffet features: Fresh cut fruit, yogurt, danish, muffins, breads and bagels to toast, freshly baked sticky buns, hot and cold cereal, scrambled eggs, home fries, bacon, sausage, French toast, juice and coffee for $9.00, half price for ages 5 to 11, and free for kids 4 and under. We believe it is a great deal, and for those who prefer a plated meal, a regular ala carte menu is available.

Again, thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here 3 times due to surgery at Geisinger Medical Center. Great location and proximity to Geisinger. Comfortable rooms if a bit expensive. Nice to have a restaurant available on premises.
Service could be a bit friendlier att he front desk and in general and they could be a bit more helpful to the severely handicapped in helping them to their room, etc. (They must deal with this alot so you'd think they'd be better, more empathetic about it.) Staff doesn't seem happy which most likely reflects on management.
Clean-well cared for. They could use some grass or trees around the place. It's all a bit sterile being in the middle of the parking lot of the hospital and when you're sick or hurt or recovering a bit of park setting would be nice.
Noise from outside or traffic will most likely wake you in the morning unless you have the fan running.

Room Tip: Try a room on the backside away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you Mark S. for your thoughtful review.

I have reviewed your comments with my department managers, as you make some excellent points. We do indeed deal with many guests who are staying with us while being treated at the Geisinger Medical Center, and we always try to help them in any way possible. I am not sure what we could have done to help you, but I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Pine Barn Inn consists of three separate buildings, with both inside corridor and outside entrance rooms. For those who are light sleepers, we always recommend a room in our "300" building, which has rooms with 2 double beds, king beds, and suites. Unlike all of the other hotels in Danville, which are located right on Interstate 80, we are in a neighborhood near the center of town.

Finally, with the winter we experienced in Pennsylvania, I am sure the grounds did not look their best in November. Pine Barn is a well landscaped property with many trees, flowering plants and ornamental vases throughout the grounds. Our restaurant has a beautiful outdoor patio, and one of the buildings has an outdoor porch for relaxing.

Again, thank you for your comments, and for staying at the Pine Barn Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is very nice!! The rooms are clean, comfortable and the place in charming.
They have an outside covered patio, attached to the restaurant.
We stayed while visiting Knoebels, it was perfect. The location is about 10 or so miles away, but the front desk was nice and everything was clean.
The Inn is bigger than you think when you get there, and the registration desk is in the back, near the parking lot. This was a good stop, for a night.
They don't have breakfast or a pool, but good for a night or two.
(One note, the hall ways are NOT air-conditioned)
There also was a microwave and a refrigerator in our 2 queen bed room, which was a nice surprise on a hot day, to keep drinks cool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeachtravelerEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you, Beachtravelereast, for your wonderful review.

Many people find the Pine Barn Inn the perfect place to stay when visiting Knoebel's Amusement Resort or any of the other venues in the Susquehanna Valley. Our quaint but modern facility is a relaxing oasis after a hard day of having fun!

Just a quick note that we have a restaurant with a wonderful reputation that serves three meals a day. It is recently renovated and offers very reasonably priced food that is the very best in the area. We are Danville's only full service hotel.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We used to live in Danville and always liked the Pine Barn Inn so when we returned for a wedding we stayed there. Old rooms torn down replaced with spacious new rooms. Very quiet and good beds. Very reasonably priced. Was cheaper than Holiday Inn Express rate for wedding guests. Restaurant very good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfenton231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you, RFenton, for your excellent review.

The Pine Barn Inn prides itself on offering the best in lodging, food and beverages. As Danville's only full service hotel, we believe we are the best place to stay when visiting the beautiful Susquehanna Valley.

The older wing of rooms you mentioned in your review were demolished in make way for the larger, more modern rooms you stayed in. These rooms, along with the remainder of the property, were just recently renovated. The wedding that brought you back to town was held in the new One Pine Barn Place Ballroom, the areas best banquet and meeting facility.

Again, thank you for your review, and please plan to stay with us when returning to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for our nephew's wedding. The wedding reception was also held here in the banquet hall. The hall was beautiful and the food was fantastic. Also, the servers in the banquet hall were awesome. The hotel room was a large and clean. The bed was comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly. We had the Sunday morning breakfast buffet and it was excellent. The buffet offered a large selection of food and beverages. And again the servers and other staff in the restaurant were wonderful. There was a coffee center in our building as well as the coffee makers in the room. They had a fitness center which looked well equipped although I didn't have the opportunity to use it. There was also plenty of convenient parking. I have nothing negative to say about this place. I have traveled to many parts of the world and stayed at many hotels and this was one of the best as far as food, comfort and the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you, Dawniek, for your wonderful review.

Pine Barn Inn opened the One Pine Barn Place banquet hall is 2012. It is a beautiful room that carries the feeling of the Pine Barn Inn, but offers the best venue for all types of functions from weddings to corporate meetings. We are proud of the food and service we provide in this 240 seat building.

Thank you also for pointing out through your review that the Pine Barn is the only full service hotel in the Danville area, providing not only comfortable lodging, but excellent food and beverages as well. Just last month we opened our newly expanded Tavern, which is a great place for a sandwich or salad and a beverage after as long day of traveling.

We greatly appreciate your review, and that you for staying at the Pine Barn Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
300 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Danville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn
10.2 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 8 in Bloomsburg
308 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Barn Inn

Address: 1 Pine Barn Pl, Danville, PA 17821-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range: $103 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danville Pennsylvania’s only full service hotel is the Pine Barn Inn. Build on its 19th century history, the Pine Barn Inn flourishes in keeping the tradition of early inn keeping. With its 99 spacious guest rooms and suites the Pine Barn Inn is equipped with modern amenities including HD TVs and in-room high-speed wired or wireless internet access. Satisfy your taste buds at the Pine Barn Inn’s full-service restaurant. The delicious meals that remind you of your mom’s home cooking will leave you coming back for more. Have your choice to dine in the dining room, outside on the patio, or in the rustic tavern. Room service is available to all guests during restaurant operating hours. The Pine Barn Inn is conveniently located next the Geisinger Medical Center Campus. A complimentary shuttle is available for transportation from the Inn to the hospital’s main entrance. In the summer months travel to Knoebel’s Amusement Park located just 12 miles from the Inn, or visit local hot spots to have the benefit of a day of swimming, golfing, hiking, horse-back riding, fishing and much more. Enjoy the scenic drives to view Pennsylvania’s historic farmlands. Take in the breath taking views of the country churches and covered bridges during fall season. This area is also home to the Bucknell and Susquehanna Universities and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds. The Pine Barn Inn over the years has stayed true to the heritage of providing superior service, the finest food and beverages, but most importantly, a warm welcome to everyone who came to visit. Come stay at the Pine Barn Inn to experience the superior service everyone is talking about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pine Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Barn Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing