We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service EVER!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Pine Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Barn Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst Service EVER!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I only stayed there 1 night for a wedding; the room was very expensive even with the discount we received. I would never stay there again.

The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. The room was about average to good, which is a shame, because of the rudeness of the staff I can only give 1 star….no stars if I could.

We waited at the reception desk to be checked-in and we were ignored by the staff that just kept walking by, while another staff member attended to another guest. When we were finally asked if we needed help the staff member stated that she could not help us with check-in. Why did she think we were standing there with our luggage???

We tried to get an early check and we were told that our room was not ready. We had to leave 2 hours later to attend the wedding, and again tried to ask if our room was ready, and we were rudely told “no”, even though we knew that other guest in our party checked in after us and got a room???

When we got back to the hotel to check-in at 10PM, the staff member checked us into the wrong room. I am just hoping that our credit card is not charged twice, because the Pine Barn Inn will be hearing from me.

This was the worst hotel I ever stayed in room; I have never been treated so rudely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank deanna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. While negative reviews are certainly unpleasant to read, they do help us improve the service that we provide.

I am sorry that the service that we provided was not acceptable. I have reviewed this matter with both of the front desk agents that were on duty that day.

We are a small property (99 rooms) which was built in three different decades. We have 12 unique room types, some of which have only two or three rooms. You were not able to check in early as we did not a room of the type you reserved available at the time. As we were close to full that evening, it was impossible for us to offer you another room. It is possible that guests who arrived after you were able to check in before you, as the room that they reserved was available. It is quite likely that it was vacant the prior night. Although we would be like to provide early check in to everyone who requests it, it is impossible to clean all of the rooms at one time. Most of our guests were staying with us while attending weddings; many wanted to check in early.

In regards to being checked into the wrong room, this just did not happen. There was indeed a misunderstanding regarding your room, as there were a number of reservations with the same last name as yours. Once the issue of an incorrect registration card was pointed out to the front desk staff, it was immediately corrected. Your credit card information was only assigned to one room, and you only received the key card to the proper room.

Again, I am sorry that the service we provided didn’t meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    90
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
119
42
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
616 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Low rise buildings which house spacious rooms with thoughtful functional features. A simple but effective coffee maker, scrupulously clean rooms and nice hot water with good pressure. Stayed in Blocks 200 and 300 and it was in close proximity to the restaurant and registration area. Coffee and tea stands with fruits are available through the day at the ends of the corridors and very useful for a light snack when needed!
Breakfast in the restaurant was very reasonably priced and hearty. I had the corn beef hash with 2 eggs and muffins - very delicious and a great way to start the day!
Location is right next to the Geisinger Health System so very convenient if that's where you are going. A 24 hour Giant supermarket is a convenient 15 min walk away.

Room Tip: Blocks 200 and 300. The gym is in Blk 300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Although Geisinger Medical Center is a world class health care facility that has visitors from all over the world, we do not get many reviews from guests who recently reviewed hotels and restaurants in Singapore, the U.K. and Malaysia! That being said, thank you for your kind words about our Inn. Our location on the Geisinger campus is very convenient. The historic town of Danville is an easy walk or short ride. Enjoy your world travels; we hope to see you at our quaint property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm usually a bit wary of "mom and pop" motels/hotels, tending to stick to chains for their predictability. I'm so glad all of the chain hotels in the area were booked from a weekend soccer tournament, and am equally glad that so many Travel Advisor reviewers had recommended this motel. The Pine Barn Inn was a terrific place to stay! The room looked recently redecorated and was meticulously clean. Everywhere we went on the property was very clean. Their website doesn't tell you, but they have washer and dryer available for guests -- good machines that tell you how many minutes remain in the cycle so that you can go elsewhere and return. The lobby had a nice sitting area, nice bathrooms, and a lovely restaurant. We will definitely book again next year when we return to the same soccer tournament.

Room Tip: If you want to pull your car right up to your room's door, ask for the exterior rooms in the 200...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
As an independent hotel, we often hear from visitors who stay with us when the chain properties are not available. It is always great when they are willing to help us spread the word of what a nice place the Pine Barn is. Thank you for pointing out that we have a new laundry room, and rooms that you can drive up to as well as rooms with interior corridors. These are some small things that help us remain #1 in Danville. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Pine Barn for two nights while attending the River Towns Marathon. It is a beautiful property, nicely laid out and the rooms are in excellent condition. We stayed in one of the rooms you can drive your car up to so it was very convenient loading and unloading. We never heard anything of the occupants on either side of us. The bed was very comfortabl. The room was furnished numerous pillows and extra blankets. Most of all everything was clean and neat from the room to the grounds. The Inn is within walking distance of Geisinger and even downtown. The restaurant is also excellent especially for what you would expect to find at an Inn. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for staying and dining with us at the Pine Barn Inn, and for your very kind review. The River Town Race series is one of the terrific events in the local area, many of which are held just minutes from our Inn. It is always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay. Please come see us again if you have a desire to ride a bike 90 miles or race through the woods during the muddiest part of the spring, which are some of the other events in the Race Town Series. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A four season hotel next to the hospital. My husband was to go in for a normal gallbladder operation. But in turned into a nightmare. A nurse at the recovery room recommended this place. At first I saw the rooms and was hesitant. I read other reviewers to ask for the 200 and 300 building. So I did. I am glad I did. The staff Felicia was amazing. She was so caring from the start. Then had breakfast at their restaurant; I am really at a 5 star/5 diamond hotel. While having breakfast Tom the restaurant manager was so concerned about the light bulb in the lobby, getting reservations in orders. It's like everyone knew their place. Dinner was amazing as well. The server and the cook. Again blown away. Food was delicious. Thank you to the general manager for your great staff and outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful comment. Tom and Alyssa (Felicia!) appreciate the individual comments; they are just two of the 90 people who do "Whatever It Takes" to assure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay here in Danville. Many of our visitors are here during difficult times, and we work every day to help them make the best of a trying situation.

Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, updated, and comfortable. It was surprisingly sophisticated for a small town such as Danville!

Our only complaint was the heavy footsteps late into the night coming from the room above us. However, that wasn't the fault of the Inn, but just an I considerate guest.

Next time we are in Danville, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cdf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
The entire staff of the Pine Barn Inn appreciates your kind words. The housekeeping staff, many of whom have been with us for many years, takes great pride in the comments about the cleanliness of the property.

Now if we can just teach our valued customers to take off their shoes and boots upon entering the room!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I never stayed here before, but had business there. I was very very impressed at all of the amenities for such a GREAT price. Room was spotless, beds comfortable, loved all the little touches like the sample basket with shampoos and such, they were better quality than I have had at very expensive places. We did not have dinner in the restaurant but wish we had when I reviewed the menu. Despite the hospital traffic, the noise level was minimal. I am happy to say that I would HIGHLY recommend this to establishment to anyone. Nicely done, you can not beat the value.
Management: Great staff, keep doing what your doing!

Room Tip: we stayed in the 200 building and was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lilindians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I have reviewed your comments with my staff, and we all appreciate your kind words. We will continue to work hard every day to live up to the level of compliments that you bestowed upon us. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
500 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#4 of 6 in Danville
276 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 8 in Bloomsburg
289 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Danville Inn
10.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#3 of 8 in Bloomsburg
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Barn Inn

Property: Pine Barn Inn
Address: 1 Pine Barn Pl, Danville, PA 17821-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danville Pennsylvania’s only full service hotel is the Pine Barn Inn. Build on its 19th century history, the Pine Barn Inn flourishes in keeping the tradition of early inn keeping. With its 99 spacious guest rooms and suites the Pine Barn Inn is equipped with modern amenities including HD TVs and in-room high-speed wired or wireless internet access. Satisfy your taste buds at the Pine Barn Inn’s full-service restaurant. The delicious meals that remind you of your mom’s home cooking will leave you coming back for more. Have your choice to dine in the dining room, outside on the patio, or in the rustic tavern. Room service is available to all guests during restaurant operating hours. The Pine Barn Inn is conveniently located next the Geisinger Medical Center Campus. A complimentary shuttle is available for transportation from the Inn to the hospital’s main entrance. Guests at the Inn are welcome to use the Danville Area Community Center (DACC). The DACC features an indoor heated pool that has six swimming lanes and is 25 yards in length. If relaxing in the pool isn’t for you then the DACC also has a gymnasium, circuit training room, and a racquetball court. In the summer months travel to Knoebel’s Amusement Park located just 12 miles from the Inn, or visit local hot spots to have the benefit of a day of swimming, golfing, hiking, horse-back riding, fishing and much more. Enjoy the scenic drives to view Pennsylvania’s historic farmlands. Take in the breath taking views of the country churches and covered bridges during fall season. This area is also home to the Bucknell and Susquehanna Universities and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds. The Pine Barn Inn over the years has stayed true to the heritage of providing superior service, the finest food and beverages, but most importantly, a warm welcome to everyone who came to visit. Come stay at the Pine Barn Inn to experience the superior service everyone is talking about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pine Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Barn Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing