We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub brewed beer and pulled pork.”

Old Forge Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Old Forge Brewing Company is a fun, casual, comfortable brewpub specializing in healthy pub fare and fresh brewed beer.Our country was built on the skills and labor of old-world artisanal craftsmen. Woodworkers, carpenters, stonemasons, ironworkers, blacksmiths, tileworkers, and many others came here and employed the knowledge and skills of their craft in building their farms, homes, and towns.Nowadays, it is so easy and convenient to purchase generic products from big-box stores, that we sometimes neglect to appreciate the uniqueness and quality of a hand-crafted product.At Old Forge Brewing Company, we strive to honor personal craftsmanship. Our hand-crafted beer is made in small batches to ensure quality and peak freshness, while the healthy and delicious menu has ingredients sourced from local farms and markets wherever possible. Take the time to notice our bar, furniture, and fixtures which were all handcrafted by local wood and metal worker Keith Kocher (Lightstreet Custom Woodworking). Check out our unique tap handles carved and forged by local artist/sculptor J. Mark Irwin (Irwin Sculpture Studio), and our plates, bowls, and beer mugs, all hand-made by local potter Mike Hart (M. Hart Pottery).We welcome you to stop by and visit us on Mill Street in downtown Danville. Have a bite to eat, sip a fresh pint of beer, and enjoy the friendly and comfortable atmosphere. Leave your troubles on the doorstep and let us take care of the rest.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pub brewed beer and pulled pork.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am a fan of micro brews so it is always a treat to try one. Enjoyed my ale. Had a pulled pork on a local pretzel bun. Could have been a little more pork and a little less pretzel. Still pretty good though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    94
    37
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun Sport for Food and Beer”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

'Twas the night before Thanksgiving and the cooks went on strike. Old Forge is one of our favorite places to eat when visiting Danville. This was the first time we had eaten in the new location, and were very impressed with the additional space and format. The noise level was also greatly increased, but not above the level of most other restaurants with high loft ceilings. There were 6 of us, and we had about a ten minute wait.

While waiting we enjoyed Paradise Pils and Resolution Rye Stout. Knowing that the portion sizes are substantial, my husband and I each got a small garden salad and split the Cuban sandwich with the excellent fries. In the past, we have enjoyed their pulled pork and Reuben sandwiches. The soups are also very good.

Service was excellent even with a packed house. As we were leaving, a band was setting up. We would have liked to have stayed, but there was still cooking to do at home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Old Forge Brewing Company based on Trip Advisor reviews when visiting the hospital. This restaurant is located on an old-fashioned street of shops in a quaint town, less than a mile from the hospital. The menu was varied, the service was fast and friendly, and the menu items were reasonably priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience! I had a Reuben, and other family members each ordered a ham and cheese with bacon and onions. The standard side dish served is nacho chips with beer-infused cheese sauce. What a pleasant change instead of fries. In addition to being a microbrewery, they also make their own rootbeer, which we had. I highly recommend this restaurant. I can't wait to go back and try a different item. There is a cheap metered parking behind the restaurant if you cannot find parking on the street.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrSteve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beer Lovers Oasis”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Wife and I had Dinner here on a Wednesday Night. Family place with good Beer selection and some wine. No liquor. Meals were moderately priced and very good. Male servers were well trained on the beer (brewed right there I think) options. Try the 5oz glasses and order a selection to sample. Free parking on the street out front in the evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Beer”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I go here every couple of months because it is one of the best restaurants in Danville. Their food is always good, but their beer does not have very strong flavor. Many of their varieties taste very similar.

Helpful?
Thank ILiveOutofaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Forge Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Old Forge Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing