We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hitchcock could have filmed here”
Review of Super 8 Danville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Danville
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    181
    115
    55
    38
See reviews for
228
94
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SF, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for a college event for our son and unfortunately that means that the few nearby hotels are booked well in advance and the outlying towns with poorly maintained properties and crappy subpar services cash in on the demand. This is how we found ourselves for two days in two rooms at this dump. The lobby area will fool you into thinking the place is clean and maintained, but once we checked in and dropped our bags off we were met with what looked like the debris left over from a home that was abandoned and the owner left the contents on the curb !?! It appears this fine motel has "long term guests" and they are responsible for all the garbage and empty beer cans and pizza boxes and rotting gas grills outside our room and only a few steps away! Fold out stadium chairs, half a dozen propane tanks, a three pound coffee tin filled to re brim with cigarette butts (outside our smoke free room ?!) broken picnic tables and such greeted us for our quality two day stay. But hey, you can always just turn your head and go to your room where a Goodwill quality chair with mystery stains and unpainted spackle on the ceiling over your bed will welcome you home. This is one if those places where you don't ask "do you have bed bugs?" You resign yourself to the fact that they probably do and hope for the best. Upon awakening step outside and in the fall you will be overcome with a swarm of some of the largest flying winged insects I have ever seen !?! Great. Breakfast is denoted as "super" on their decaying billboard outside. I assure you it is anything but. When we checked out and pointed out the deteriorating stairwells, the garbage in the common areas and the appearance of long term "guests" in the rooms all around us we were told they are only workers there for three months at a time. My recommendations to the owners of this major dump and insult to hotels everywhere. Stick to long term workers and crackheads. Looks like you have found your "niche". We won't be back and I might warn others to run as far away from this dump as you can. I can't wait to get home to shower off !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, Director of Sales at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the less then perfect stay. Please know that we take all your comments seriously and work diligently on making at always trying to provide the best possible service to all our guest. This would include long term stays and overnight arrivals.

We would like to encourage you to give us another opportunity to show that we do care and listen to all our guests.

It is with great home that your time our area was pleasant and that you were successfully and had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived in Danville late out of NYC at 10 PM on a Hot Saturday Summer Night in August, and this was the only hotel with a room left in town! We tried the Danville Best Western and Hampton Inn but they both told us to call the Super 8.

We are really Hilton/Marriott/Hyatt people so this was kind of slumming it for us.
Went down the road to Wendy's our favorite fast food for late dinner, and settled in to the Super Duper 8.

Staff was very nice at check in. We joked with them a bit about not giving us a room with an ocean view. :)

Got a King room no smoke. Pulled the van right up to the door and unloaded.

There were marks, holes in the wall, furniture was worn a bit, dirty around the edges. Had to use the room key card to crush a bug crawling in the dust near the air conditioner, then wiped off the bug juice with a tissue.

Breakfast had no hard boiled eggs that we got used to at the Holiday Inn Express.

Bed was comfortable, but not as comfortable as a Hilton or Holiday Inn.

Soap: Thin basic--good for 1 shower and it cracks in half.

TV good.

Felt safe, and staff indicated that they don't have security problems here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, Director of Sales at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know that your found the staff at the Danville Super 8 to be friendly and that the beds were comfortable. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you on a busy evening at that you were able to pull right up to your room with no walking needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on our way to New Haven, CT from Milford, MI, and have found this to be a good location to take a break from driving, just off I-80. We have found the beds comfortable and the rooms clean, although I recall on our last visit, I noticed the carpet could have been vacuumed better. We appreciate the fact that they allow pets, as our dog often travels with us. Their breakfast isn't real extensive, but there are waffles and the usual muffins and baked goods. For the price, it's about what you would expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stammy, Director of Sales at Super 8 Danville, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that we continue to meet your needs when staying at the Danville Super 8. It is our pleasure to offer a clean comfortable room to all our guests and we are happy to accommodate important members of many of our guests families their pets. The Breakfast staff work diligently at providing a fresh and appealing Continental Breakfast to our travelers. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Danville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
526 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pine Barn Inn
Pine Barn Inn
#2 of 6 in Danville
288 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#5 of 8 in Bloomsburg
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Danville

Property: Super 8 Danville
Address: 35 Sheraton Rd, Danville, PA 17821-9514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Danville 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Knoebles, Bloomsburg Fairgrounds, Bucknell University, Little League World Series. 3 Miles from downtown Danville, walking distance to restaurants. Complimentary WIFI, Flat Screen TV's, coffee makers, Iron/Ironing Board, hair dryers, in all rooms. Easy on and off Interstate 80. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Danville Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing