We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS SIMPLY the best Chinese food around.”
Review of Peking Chef

Peking Chef
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“THIS IS SIMPLY the best Chinese food around.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is no comparison to the quality of the food you get here. The atmosphere is pleasant and the owner is very particular about the presentation and taste of the dishes they serve.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Now, THIS is how a Chinese Restaurant should be.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went for lunch, with a group of friends, on the suggestion of one of our party. He raved about the place! I could tell as soon as we walked in that this place was a cut above. Spotless, nice looking, nicely dressed waitresses; and a slightly more unusual menu than most.
Food was delicious. Good portions. nicely plated. Good price. Interesting variety.
Just lovely!
NOT open on Mondays.....(Like so many restaurants in Pa!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

IMO, Peking Chef used to be the best Chinese in the area. After my recent visit for lunch, I no longer feel that way, The food was still pretty tasty, but the portion size was cut way back and they charged for soda refills. Oh, and the only soda choices they offered were Coke, Diet Coke, and Sprite. We got Cokes, which tasted more like Pepsi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent food, great service, lovely environment. The place will surprise you. It is the Back Mountain area of Luzerne county, Pennsylvania and a trip through the area is highly recommended especially in autumn as the scenery is breathtaking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Welcome Change”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the dime a dozen Chinese restaurants on every other block. We're lucky to have them. But for that time you want something a little more special, you can't miss with the Peking Chef! Top notch food, service, selection, and quality! Highly recommended! They just opened a location in Kingston in the United Penn Plaza which makes it much more convenient for picking up take-out on the way home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Chef also viewed

Dallas, Luzerne County
Dallas, Luzerne County
 
Dallas, Luzerne County
Dallas, Luzerne County
 

Been to Peking Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing