We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be.”
Review of Peking Chef

Peking Chef
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Somewhere, USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

IMO, Peking Chef used to be the best Chinese in the area. After my recent visit for lunch, I no longer feel that way, The food was still pretty tasty, but the portion size was cut way back and they charged for soda refills. Oh, and the only soda choices they offered were Coke, Diet Coke, and Sprite. We got Cokes, which tasted more like Pepsi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent food, great service, lovely environment. The place will surprise you. It is the Back Mountain area of Luzerne county, Pennsylvania and a trip through the area is highly recommended especially in autumn as the scenery is breathtaking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Welcome Change”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the dime a dozen Chinese restaurants on every other block. We're lucky to have them. But for that time you want something a little more special, you can't miss with the Peking Chef! Top notch food, service, selection, and quality! Highly recommended! They just opened a location in Kingston in the United Penn Plaza which makes it much more convenient for picking up take-out on the way home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“YES”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It's really really good. It's Chinese food I mean come on go buy it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank winwen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very good Chinese food. Extensive menu. Excellent service. Top quality meats & seafood used in preparation. Excellent hot & sour soup. Not cheap, but worth every penny. Portions quite ample.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MusicManfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Chef also viewed

Dallas, Luzerne County
Dallas, Luzerne County
 
Dallas, Luzerne County
 

Been to Peking Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing