We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"”
Review of The Station Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cresson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Station Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cresson B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My family originated in a town called South Fork, roughly 15 miles West of The Station Inn....I spent alot of time as a youngster watching trains from my Grandparent's homes from the late 1960's through the 1980's until the houses were sold.

I discovered Tom Davis' Station inn in the mid 1990's and immediately took a liking to the place as I have made almost 80 separate trips to the Inn since 1997.

It is always a joy to arrive at Tom's and always a bit sad when it is time to go home...just like my family visits to South Fork when I was younger....I have met many railfans over the years at the Inn, as well as found and made friends from local railfans via trackside visists and the internet. Tom' has upgraded his amenities over the years, including a water cooler, bottomless cookie jar and complimentary soft drinks to regisistered guests....Wireless internet is also complimentary......Someday, I plan to retire to the immediate area bu in the meantime, The Station inn will be my favcrite place to stay to enjoy plenty of train action along with comraderie of fellow railfans.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwi189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very nice,clean B&B. All the info you need and desire of the area is available in the 'great room' and from Tom Davis. Can sit and watch amazing trains go by while in your room, at breakfast, from the big porch in a relaxing rocking chair, or even in the middle of the night. Catching Norfolk Southern freight action is plentiful and fun!...Horseshoe curve is very close, Gallitzen tunnels and Casandra are but just a few other close spots to enjoy train traffic. A short drive to restaurants and more activity.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromnorthernewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I loved the Station Inn, everybody is kind, I would rate the Station Inn 10/10 is a second! The best place ever!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainfanjacob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My sons & I love this place! We’ve stayed two times and will go back again. The rooms are simple & basic but comfortable, clean and homey. The breakfast is wonderful; the Inn serves old fashioned breakfast food like scrambled eggs with ham & cheese, omelets, chipped beef on toast, etc. In addition to the main course, there is an ample amount of fruit, breads and muffins on the table-you won’t leave the table hungry.

There’s great freight train viewing from the Inn’s front porch; and of course, many great spots are nearby: Horseshoe Curve, the Cassandra Overlook, the Gallitzin Tunnels, etc. I highly recommend this Inn if you’re even the slightest bit a railfan.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAC57BOURBON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Station Inn is across the street from one of the main east-west railway lines through the Appalachians. You have a selection of rocking chairs on the front porch to choose from, and can relax with a snack, a drink, or your camera on a tripod while watching trains from ConRail, Norfolk Southern or Amtrak pass by in front of you. There is plenty of information on nearby railway sights to explore, including the famous Horseshoe Curve near Altoona. Innkeeper Tom can advise you on what to see in and around town, and the Inn itself is an homage to the golden age of American Railways. It's a very simple bed & breakfast - no pool, nothing posh, just trains, trains, trains!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooncattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

In my opinion, The Station Inn is the best place to stay, really relax, and watch the many (daily) passing trains. The Inn is very clean and the services are 'top-notch'. Don't forget to sign-up for the early morning breakfast .... absolutely great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Question: Where can you see 75 trains a day from your bed, work on your website, and watch the stock market, all at the same time?

Answer: At the The Station Inn in Cresson, PA!

I had seen the ads for years but finally got around to the 6-hr drive from CT recently to stay here to celebrate a newspaper article being done about my website [www.tylercitystation.info]. My only regret now is that I have waited so long to get here.

Innkeeper Tom Davis has put together something that may be truly unique in the country, possibly even the world. An 1866 former hotel converted into a mecca for railfans. This is 150 feet from the old Pennsy, now Norfolk Southern, mainline that moves freight both ways between the East and West Coasts. The trains are frequent and seemingly endless, even in this down economy. Tom says he will give you a discount on your stay if you don’t see at least a train an hour. Fat chance he ever has to deliver on that promise! Figure on two or three or more per hour, with pushers on the rear to help conquer the crossing of the eastern Continental Divide, the grades at the Allegheny Tunnel, nearby Horseshoe Curve, Altoona and Juniata, all storied names in the railroading history of this nation. A side-trip to the east took us to the abandoned MG tower, the Curve, and the Railroaders Memorial Museum, with lots of trains all along the way.

The fact that the helper engines are housed at Cresson and that the Clearfield and Irvona subdivisions meet up with the NS here means that you will also see bright red R.J. Corman engines interchanging traffic, all clearly visible from the town’s official railroad-viewing platform at the junction or right from Tom’s huge front porch. Lap blankets are provided for the cool nights. The roar, the throbbing, and the taking up of slack are heard constantly as NS, Conrail, and sometimes Union Pacific or Burlington Northern Sante Fe engines pass by with coal drags, unit tanker consists, trash trains, and long hauls of double-stack containers. This is a place like no other to witness the grace, efficiency, beauty, and sheer brute strength of the railroad in action, moving the nation's goods. The only thing missing is the sound of the whistle because there are no nearby grade crossings. Perhaps not a bad thing at 3AM. Even then, an occasional toot is needed as a warning or a friendly gesture to the front porch. The train guys know what Tom is up to here.

About the inn. The simplicity of Tom’s house is well reflected in his neatly designed website where he goes out of his way, almost comically, to destroy any illusions about luxury here. No jacuzzi, no TVs in rooms, no telephones, etc., etc., he says. The fact of the matter is that the house is very well kept, done in kind of a homespun, Arts and Crafts style. The rooms and suites, named for railroads (B&O, O&W, Erie) are clean and comfortable, with monogrammed linens, coffeemakers, writing desks, Wi-Fi access, cute little railroad lamps (the PRR room had a teddy bear with an engineer’s cap!), soap baskets (I loved the lime glycerine), Pullman chairs rescued from old passenger cars, and comfortable twin beds that can be pulled together to make a king. While Tom can’t conjure steam engines (except in the wall photos that are everywhere), steam heat is generously thrown off from the sculpted antique radiators he has kept. Hooks, shelves, and nightstands are placed just where they ought to be.

Hungry railfans start the day with a hearty breakfast that long-time staffer Sandy makes right out of Grandma’s kitchen: sausage gravy over eggs, pancakes, French toast, fruit, lots of fresh coffee and Tom joins his guests at the table for conversation in a common room that overflows with books, videos, brochures, and maps to railfan vantage points. Complimentary soft drinks are offered as well as a 24-hr goodie jar that says “Life’s hard. Cookies help” as soothing classical music plays in the background. Tom’s attitude toward payment also reflects a simpler time. Cash and personal checks only, and when we ran short of both, his ‘Send me a check’ response was indicative of a man who cares more about whether his guests are comfortable and have enough to eat than someone who is worried about getting paid. Try to find that anywhere else!

I could go on, but I think you get the idea. Come enjoy the mountains, the attractions, the hospitality of the house. One word of caution: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back. The 24-hr street-side action probably means you will only doze between trains all night long. There is something very haunting about the sounds and the eerie lights gliding past you in the dark that makes you have to look. But people who suffer from 'hyperphilia ferroequinologica' - ask your shrink what it means - really don’t come here to sleep anyhow. They come for the trains and there is no better place east of the Mississippi to see them than at The Station Inn!

- Bob B., Prospect and Tyler City, CT

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbTylerCityCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Address: 827 Front St, Cresson, PA 16630-1100
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cresson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cresson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing