We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to love it, but :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primanti Brothers

Primanti Brothers
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am a local and would love to give this a high rating, but I can't :)
I have eaten at the South Side location, Strip District location, and here, just to be sure.
If you love a greasy, carb fest, than this is for you- their classic sandwiches. At that, they are not even tasty and rich in flavor, otherwise their may be room for forgiveness.
Had the pizza at the Cranberry location and it was so flavorless, flat and bad. Shocking that they couldn't even get pizza right, as there are about 20-30 pizza places in Cranberry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ServiceRater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    81
    46
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memorial Day 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food was very good and the service was great. Reasonable prices as well. Always a Pittsburgh classic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlb52060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The prototypical sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

You simply have not lived until you've had a hot and egg on a heel (hot sausage and egg). The sandwich, as anyone who live anywhere near Pittsburgh knows, is a meal on Italian bread. Fries, coleslaw and tomatoes along with your hot sausage provolone cheese and a fries egg. Wash it down with a cold Iron, and you've found heaven on earth. The vegetable soup is to die for too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDaddy427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixeyville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go Only If You've Had Enough to Drink?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I'm from Pittsburgh and we travel back here often. In my younger years, we used to end our nights on the town at Primanti Bros. in the Strip District. After yesterday, I have no clue why we liked it then, whether it was the alcohol, the age or that the food just really went downhill. But everything about this place was bad.

The first impression was how filthy everything was. The interior glass was spotted with splashes and fingerprints everywhere. When we were seated, there was a piece of wet lettuce on our table and the hostess either really didn't notice or couldn't be bothered and was gone before I could say a word. The floors were dirty. The table next to us sat with dirty dishes and food the whole time; the customers had left and the staff just couldn't be bothered to clean it up. It's not like the place was hopping. Everything is worn out and you can tell they don't clean it very well. Maybe it looks OK at night, but during the day this place was pretty disgusting. That really makes you wonder what the kitchen is like.

We ordered wings with "Authentic Buffalo," a chili, a side salad, spaghetti and meatballs for our daughter, who is picky, and one Classic Primanti hot sausage and cheese sandwich with "everything." The wings had definitely been cooked at least a full day ago, maybe longer. They had that drynesss to them and the flavor was slightly off. The sauce was very thin, watery. The chili was passable. The spaghetti was unbelievably tasteless, not just bland, but really almost flavorless. My daughter ate only a few bites. The meatballs were mostly filler, also bland, with none of the typical Italian meatball flavor. Nobody ate them.

All of the food came out except the sandwich. We had been there at least 15 minutes. We had to find the waitress and ask where the sandwich was. She went into the kitchen to check and said they are getting it out now because the kitchen was busy and had gotten tied up (we had asked them to not wait to bring out food). The restaurant was almost empty so this could not have been true. We were by now in a rush and the waitress said she would pack the sandwich up.

The service was only passable. Waitresses swooped by dropping food on the table with not even a word. We did tell the waitress at one point that we were unhappy with the entire experience. I thought she handled this well, asked if we wanted to speak to a manager, but knowing that would be of little value, being so hungry, and wanting to get on the road, we just said we didn't want to speak to a manager but just wanted to let them know we would never come back to this place.

Once we were in the car, I tried the sandwich. This thing smelled so bad I couldn't eat more than a few bites. It really smelled rancid. "Everything" consisted of one measly tomato slice, barely any cheese, the super-tasteless french fries, and cole slaw which tasted like it was made with pure acetic acid instead of real vinegar. There was no mayo or sauce of any kind, either on the sandwich or in the to-go bag, and the whole sandwich was extremely dry. The smell of the sandwich was really nauseating and permeated our entire vehicle. I could not identify the smell. It might have been a combination of rancid oil with the poor-quality vinegar.

As I told the waitress, we will never enter a Primanti Bros. again, anywhere. A sad downfall of one of youth's legends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Between a 3 and a 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Right next door to the Hampton Inn in Cranberry. The service was very good. The food was OK. It's mostly sandwich, burgers and hot wings type food. They had a decent gyro, but the veggie burger was meh. The drinks were good and they have a pretty good bottled beer selection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Brothers also viewed

 
Cranberry Township, PA
Cranberry Township, PA
 

Been to Primanti Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing