We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, down to earth sandwich”

Primanti Bros. (Cranberry)
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich! Half Priced Happy Hour Every Day!
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
304 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good, down to earth sandwich”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having been at at least 4 locations, I decided to review this one, as it is my favorite. I have been to the Ft. Lauderdale one and there is just something about eating a sandwich of this type at 95 degrees F outside. It does not work and does not taste as good. Although the steak sandwich (their #2 seller, behind IC Light) is good, my fave has always been the pastrami. With Primanti's , you are getting what you expect: a good, hearthy sandwich, which amounts to two thick pieces of white bread, lots of meat and fries, along with coleslaw and dressing, and it tastes great (especially in the winter and fall months, when sustenance is needed). Its always busy, but they are polite and usually have good service. A western PA staple.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    84
    47
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Millbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was awesome, we loved it! Place was packed but service was still good and fast! Variety of sandwiches, portions large, french fries delious! Everyone in our party was very happy with their dinner! I recommend this "almost famous" restaurant for your next meal while in Pittsburgh!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelnron05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Totally lives up to the hype”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had seen the restaurant on Food Network and thought that since this one was not the "original" restaurant that it might be cheesy, but it wasn't! Awesome neighborhood feel, server was super friendly and helped recommend what I was looking for. Prices were super affordable and value was fantastic. I had the "Cap and cheese with an egg" and it was FANTASTIC!!! Will totally eat at this restaurant again if I ever have the chance again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cricket1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty ingredients, not sure the whole is greater than sum of the parts...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This local chain has it's share of loyalists and tourists. I really liked each of the components of their signature sandwich- Angus beef was savory, tender, and juicy. The sweet cole slaw had a good crunch and pleasant finish. The thick cut Italian bread had a good balance of texture, chewy enough but still light. The fries? Outstanding, fresh cut, with rich actual potato flavor enhanced with the right amount of salt. The problem was that when all these parts were piled together as a sandwich, I tasted each component without them complimenting into a cohesive bite. I probably would have enjoyed the sandwich better with the fries and cole slaw on the plate... Which goes against the history of this Pittsburgh institution.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Da-juiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bring you own Lipitor”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Primanti Brothers is famous for putting french fries on everything (in sandwiches, salads, etc.). Portions are enormous. Food is tasty but eating here more than once every six months or so will clearly send you to the fat farm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rantoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Bros. (Cranberry) also viewed

 
Cranberry Township, PA
Cranberry Township, PA
 
Cranberry Township, PA
 

Been to Primanti Bros. (Cranberry)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing