We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starting to rethink hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Cranberry Township
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Starting to rethink hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past year. We recently moved to Philly from Pittsburgh but have been back to Pittsburgh at least twice a month for the past year. We loved this hotel as the suite was just what we needed with two small children. The room is spacious and right over the pool so no one below us could hear our children running around the room. The staff seem to know us by first name now and that is #1 in customer service! We have always had excellent service. Recently, the rates have increased to the point that we are no longer staying at this hotel. We have stayed at the Candlewood Suites--Pgh Airport and this hotel is less expensive than the Cranberry location. It does not have a pool but we never used the pool anyway. The "Pantry" is stocked with more options at the Cranberry location but we have brought our own "snacks" to make up the difference. It is extremely unfortunate the rates have increased so much at the Cranberry location. The difference between the two locations is at least $60.00 and up. I understand its an ideal location for traveling Interstate 79 or the PA turnpike but we can stay in Downtown Pittsburgh at a hotel in Station Square with a river view for less money. Extremely unfortunate as I said, we have stayed at least twice each month in the past year. Other than the price of the rooms, its a great hotel. I am a Platinum Club member and we only stay at Priority Club hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btandnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelc33, Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate your comments concerning our rooms and our staff. Our team strives to make your stay an enjoyable and comfortable experience. We strive to provide a home away from home environment. Being an extended stay property, we have enjoyed hosting so many people with different needs and have always put an emphasis on our customer service. I will share your comments with the entire team. Thank You. I appreciate your comments concerning our price. We are committed to being the best value in the extended stay market in Cranberry Township, PA. The room you describe is our largest and nicest 1 Bedroom Suite. The longer you stay at Candlewood Suites, the lower the price becomes. Also, weekend pricing tends to be higher than weekday pricing. We constantly monitor our competition pricing. We will continue to monitor our pricing and appreciate your comments. We will certainly make adjustements if necessary. We hope to see you in the future. Our team wishes you the best, btandnv!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    10
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
12
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

First time we had ever stayed at a Candlewood Suites. Rooms were very spacious and clean. As in previous reviews, the noise level was nil. Rooms have a full sized fridge, a cooktop and microwave as well as a coffee pot. We were only there for one night but would recommend bringing stuff for a quick breakfast, which we did. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We needed directions into downtown Pittsburgh for an early morning hospital appt. and they looked up and printed the directions for us! The front desk has movies for loan, otherwise, each room has a dvd player for your convenience.

I would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKRENEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
MKRENEE, We want to thank you for making our Candlewood Suites your choice on your trip to Pittsburgh, PA. I have shared your comments with the staff. We thank you for your recognition. We are happy you found our full kitchen to your satisfaction. Not only do our extended stay guest love the full kitchens and spacious rooms, but more and more of our short term guest have been very positive about our room layouts. My team at the front desk is always ready for your requests or needs. Never hesitate to contact us during your stay. Thank You again for your business. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

A very pleasant property. Very quiet including no doors slamming! Convenient to expressway and tollway, and restaurants within walking distance. No breakfast as this is a suites hotel, and it would be nice if they included a foldable suitecase rack. My ice maker was not working, but they delivered ice to my room. They also have a movie lending library.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank You Sailorjeff for staying at the Candlewood Suites. We appreciate your business. Your comments and suggestions have been noted. We apologize for the freezer not producing ice and we were happy to be able to accommodate your needs. As an extended stay property, with the full-size refrigerator/freezer in each studio suite, there is no need for noisy ice machines on each floor. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

A relatively new suites hotel in Cranberry Twp. PA. Primarily for business travelers on long term stays. My husband and I had a first floor studio for eight nights while visiting a relative in a local seniors residence. High ceilings, nice finishings, huge microwave and plenty of floor space. One lounger, but no sofa for two. Quiet: no road noise or neighbor noise.
Every member of the staff from housekeeping to maintenance to front desk was exceptionally friendly, professional and helpful. Kudos for a quality operation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank You for your review and comments AMinSA. I have shared your comments with my staff and have congratulated them on a great job. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. My staff and I want to Thank You for your business. We are glad you found our accomodations to your satisfaction. My team strives to provide great customer experience at Candlewood Suites!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is one of the nicest Candlewoods I have seen. It has a pool and hot tub, which as far as I know is rare for this type of property. The rooms are fresh and new and seem to even be a bit upscale for a Candlewood.

The housekeepers are fantastic. Unfortunately the GM was a jerk who doesn't appear to like working with people much. If you can avoid him, (Mike) then it is a great place to stay. He is the reason I wouldn't give this property a better rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyssak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear lyssak11,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. Management and Staff take great pride in our hotel and work hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and to keep the property fresh. As you noted, the property is beautiful, offers many amenities including indoor pool and hot tub. As you know, we are also a 100% Non-Smoking hotel, a feature that is attractive to many travelers. Unfortunately, guests who elect to smoke in the room are damaging our room and causing discomfort for other guests. Management must take appropriate action for the comfort of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

A friend and I drove down to Pittsburgh to catch the Pens/Flyers game 5 and stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel was conveniently located just off I-79, and was only about a 20-25min drive downtown to the Consol Energy Center. Price was competitive with other hotels in the area. Hotel looked newer, and was very clean inside and out. Front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming when checking in/out. Hotel is setup for long-term stays and includes a kitchen with full fridge/microwave/stove/dishes/utensils/etc, but things like ice machines are not provided (you could make ice in the fridge in your room). No free breakfast, but you could purchase items to make in your room from the on-site store/pantry. Lots of restaurants/shopping nearby as well. Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bry147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you Bry147 for choosing our Candlewood Suites while in the Pittsburgh area for Game 5 of the hockey playoffs. We appreciate your business and your comments. I will share your comments with the staff. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and our staff is ready to help out in any way. As you found out, we are a short drive to downtown Pittsburgh. The Interstate allows easy access to and from the city. Since we have opened, many people have found Candlewood Suites to be perfect for their short and long term stays. As you mentioned we are convenient to the Interstate and Turnpike, with various restaurants and shopping options nearby. Since we are extended stay, you will not find noisy ice machines or soda machines on the property. Our Candlewood Cupboard has refreshments and snacks at a nominal cost and your icemaker in your freezer will provide your ice. If you are in hurry, the front desk always has extra ice on hand for our customers. Thanks again for staying. We hope you join us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The manager was not willing to help out a Platinum Elite member. While working in the area I was glad to find a Candlewood Suites. I try to use this brand whenever possible. I needed 3 rooms and would have stayed for at least 6 nights had the manager been willing to budge a little on the price. They were more than half empty and priced higher than surrounding hotels. I guess it's better for business to be half empty at full price than to compromise a few bucks in order to secure 3 rooms for a week.
Needless to say the Holiday Inn Express was happy to have us.

Otherwise the property is new,clean, and located near several restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyyDcmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank You for your comments. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work and offers our guests very clean and spotless studio suites. We also appreciate your Platinum Status. Thank you for choosing the IHG family of hotels. Our hotel is becoming more and more popular in the area for those travelers who require long term stays. As you know, Candlewood Suites is an extended stay property. All our rooms are Studio Suites with a full kitchen. Our rate structure is very competitve in the Cranberry Township area. Our 'tier' pricing structure offers lowers rates the longer you stay with us. You must commit to your entire stay to qualify for the lower rates. Booking your room on a day by day would not qualify for the lower pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cranberry Township hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranberry Woods
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranb...
#4 of 15 in Cranberry Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / Cranberry, PA
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburg...
#1 of 15 in Cranberry Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Cranberry
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Cranberry
#3 of 15 in Cranberry Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Cranberry Township
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Cranber...
#8 of 15 in Cranberry Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Cranberry
Hyatt Place Cranberry
#6 of 15 in Cranberry Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Cranberry
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pitts...
#5 of 15 in Cranberry Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry

Property: Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry
Address: 20036 Route 19, Cranberry Township, PA 16066-6202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cranberry Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Cranberry Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry Hotel Cranberry Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing