We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coraopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel under construction”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I was on business travel last week and stayed at this hotel. The location is ok if you are looking to stay somewhere close to the airport (approx. 3 miles from the airport). When I arrived I noticed several contractors walking around and as I walked in, I saw why. The lobby is a little messy due to the construction and the elevator floor has been ripped up. The room was ok. Nothing to really rave about. The only real complaint that I have is there was no hot water while I was there. I guess they had an issue with the hot water tank from the construction. I talked to the manager and told him that I didn't want to pay $200 a night for a room that didn't have hot water. They did fix it the next morning and gave me a discount on my room. That did make me feel a little better, but the cold shower was miserable!! I think this hotel will be ok when they are finished, but I would wait a month or so before I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecmack2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Please accept my sincerest apology for the chilly start to the morning caused by the upgrade of our hot water heater. I am pleased to share that we have completed all of our renovations with exception of hanging the artwork and new attractive wood molding in our elevators this week. I am pleased to learn that our front desk associate acknowledged the defect and compensated you. Now that we are complete, I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy the newest Starwood hotel in Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    77
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
52
41
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I'm a flight attendant so I stay at many hotels and my priority is to get a good night rest. This place is horrible. I'm sitting in my hotel right now, unable to sleep because they are drilling directly below me due to a major renovation. When I went down to the floor below I found construction crews renovating a public restroom (2nd floor where the gym is located.) When they are not drilling I hear an industrial vacuum cleaner that is cleaning up the debris. And, there is a private airport nearby and planes are taking off every 20mins and it sounds like they are coming through my window!!! I figured if I couldn't sleep I might as well let others know just what an inconvenience it is staying here. Oh, and if you think you might go down to the lobby for some peace and quiet, forget it. Renovation going on there too, and there is no air conditioning in the lobby or in the floor hallway. I feel like I'm in Puerto Rico. Good luck if you decide to stay here. The reviews stated they would be finished renovation in mid August but I'm here today, and its September 1st. They are nowhere near done. At your own risk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSPAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Please accept my heartfelt apology for the inconvenience you endured during your recent stay. I am so sorry to learn that the renovation noise caused you discomfort from sleeping during the day. While we did expect to have the renovation complete by mid August, we did encounter some delays in delivery of finishes. Currently, our last ten rooms will be completed by the end of this week as well as the decorative tile work in the lobby. We very excited about the pace of the renovation and expect that all renovation work will be completed by next week.

I certainly hope your travel plans bring you back to Pittsburgh and you have the opportunity to experience the hotel in a perfectly renovated state.

Best Regards,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Returned last night from an amazing weekend of sightseeing and shopping in Pittsburgh and the Sheraton was the perfect place to stay. Easily accessible off the highway, short drive to dining, shopping and downtown attractions. The bed was very comfy after being out all day and having a fridge to keep drinks and fruit cold was a nice addition. My friend left an expensive blazer in the closet and received a call this morning from Tim Kirk in housekeeping stating it would be mailed to him. That type of customer service speaks volumes to the type of staff this property employs and we will definitely make this hotel our home away from home our next trip to Pittsburgh. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinthelocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel. I am thrilled you found the hotel a perfect location, nearby to the many sightseeing attractions in Pittsburgh! I am also delighted to learn that Tim was able to locate and return your blazer.

Thank you again for sharing your comments. I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations for customer service.

Regards,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed 1 night at the hotel during a visit to pittsburgh.The hotel is very close to the airport ,which was very convienant for me and my Family.I found everyone at the hotel extremely friendly and helpful.We ordered room service the night we checked in and everything was well presented and tasteful.We also had breakfast in the club lounge and appreciated the kind and friendly service.Thank you Gary lee and staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed visit and your encounter with Gary in our Sheraton Club. I am happy to share your comments with our entire team!

I hope your travels include a return visit to Pittsburgh in the near future and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton!


Sincerely,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel lobby was still under heavy construction while we were there, but the staff accommodated us nicely. If you have a group that likes to hang out in the lobby/lobby bar etc you may want to stay away for another month or so, but we were just passing through like I suspect a lot of people are at an airport hotel just off the highway. For our purposes it was just fine. About 1/2 of the public spaces are done and look great. Our room was newly renovated and looked great, was very clean and comfortable. Standard Sheraton "Sweet Sleeper" beds make for a good nights sleep.

As a SPG Gold member we didn't get a room upgrade except to be on an SPG floor. They mentioned the club lounge was closed (not sure if it was renovations or just for the weekend) but they gave us breakfast coupons instead, a very nice touch. The breakfast was hot and cold items on a buffet and was very good. The breakfast room was a bit small and busy (side effect of the renovation for sure) but they definitely did their best. The manager was busy keeping tables cleaned off to be sure the next guests were accommodated and one could tell the manager and staff were very attentive to guest needs.

Parking was free and didn't have a problem finding a space although they were doing rolling closings of certain areas to redo the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and our team welcoming. We are just days away from finishing our large scale renovation and I am thrilled to share that our club lounge is now open 7 days a week! I hope you have the opportunity to return to the hotel and see our hotel 100% complete.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Best Regards,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the last leg of 10 hotels in a 12 day trip. When I originally made the reservations thru Priceline, it was for the Crowne Plaza. They did not tell me at the time that not only was the hotel under major renovation, but that it had changed to a Sheraton. Imagine my surprise when I rechecked before we left for our trip and discovered this. I stared reading some of the reviews about the noise, and no where to park etc, and became very concerned. Priceline was of no help in answering my questions after a 45 minute wait on the phone, so I sent an e-mail to the Sheraton about my reservation concerns. Within 3 hours I received an e- mail response from the manager, Ellen Callas, addressing my concerns, and making me feel welcome and comfortable about my stay. Upon arrival, we found ample parking. All of the construction workers parked in the farthest lot, and were very courteous. The Staff greatest us warmly and made us feel so welcome you would hardly have noticed they were set up in a temporary area. Because it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to the concierge floor. Our room was brand new. Everything was perfect and modern. It was also VERY quiet. We could see the workers digging and drilling. We could see the cranes lifting the new air conditioning units, but the new windows are so thick,we could hear nothing. We had access to all day snacks and beverages, nice quality wine and appetizers in the eve. and delicious breakfast, served by very attentive staff. I loved the neon bathroom mirror..wow. The restaurant/bar was housed temporarily in what appeared to be a meeting room. It was noisy and busy, but the quality of the food was very good, and our server was so nice, we didn't even care. She saw on our portfolio that it was our anniversary, and soon everyone was wishing us congratulations. During this vacation we stayed at many wonderful hotels, but this Sheraton had the greatest staff of all. SO Friendly and nice. We were greeted by our name every time we arrived or exited. By the time we checked out, this staff almost felt like family. Thank you for your fantastic staff, they are tops in customer service. We highly recommend a stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angolalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Congratulations again on your anniversary! I am so pleased that you had a great experience after what was a whirlwind vacation. I am so happy to learn that you encountered so many associates who were friendly and welcoming. I am also delighted to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms comforable and well appointed. I certainly hope we have the opportunity see you next August to celebrate your anniversary.

Thanks again,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel is under construction - wires, insulation, dry walls are being put on. Workers are on site doing construction. This was a crowne plaza hotel, just rebranded as Sheraton. Stay away from this place. If you ended up getting booked into this through Priceline, forfeit the money, and book something else that you can see the hotel name first.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vadim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecallas, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. I truly realize that the lobby renovation underway made for a difficult arrival experience. Our lobby will be completed by mid August and the entire renovation completed by the end of August. I am very sorry that this inconvenience was very distruptive to your stay. I hope you have the opportunity to come back in the future and see the amazing transformation.

Warmest Regards,

Ellen Callas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coraopolis
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - International Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
#2 of 8 in Moon Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
#2 of 12 in Coraopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pittsburgh Airport Marriott
Pittsburgh Airport Marriott
#4 of 12 in Coraopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh Airport
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Pittsburgh Airport
Wyndham Garden Pittsburgh Airpor...
#2 of 2 in Findlay Township
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel
Address: 1160 Thorn Run Road, Coraopolis, PA 15108-3152 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh Int'l Airport Moon Township)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coraopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport offers a place to revitalize in warm, upscale surroundings. During your stay, experience a place of connection and community, where high-tech features, signature Sheraton amenities and modern guest rooms combine to create a luxurious retreat for the sophisticated traveler.Situated just six miles from Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), and 15 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport hotel in Coraopolis is close to both business and leisure destinations, including Robert Morris University, PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Frick, Carnegie Science Center, Federal Express and GlaxoSmithKline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh Int`l Airport Moon Township Hotel Coraopolis
Crowne Plaza Coraopolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coraopolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing