We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Old Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Coraopolis
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old, Old Property”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had made reservations at this Super 8 because of its close proximity to the Pittsburgh Airport. We were disappointed when we arrived at the hotel to see it was a very old and rickety property. Everything about this hotel was antique and needed refurbishing. The only good thing was that the room was clean and the shuttle to the airport ran 24 hours a day. We paid too much for this room and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    103
    126
    63
    70
See reviews for
137
73
92
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

For my first trip to Pittsburgh, I decided on this hotel for two reasons: price ($48/night) and reviews that the hotel had recently undergone remodeling. I could tell that the bathroom had been remodeled as the floor, tub, sink, and toilet were all shiny white and clean. The mattress was firm and had a mattress cover on it, always a plus due to the bed bug craze the past few years.

The breakfast was great as they had make-your-own waffles. There is very little space to sit though, three tables bumped together in a corner, with only room to sit on one side of each table. We never had an issue with seating, but I believe that was due to lucky timing.

There were two negatives: The 1st and 2nd floors of the hotel are below University Boulevard street level (this can be seen in the main photo on Trip Advisor). Any room on the 1st or 2nd floor that does not face the parking lot (our situation), looks at some type of makeshift ragged garden and a wall. You have to gaze upward to see a street and the tops of cars going by. The second negative was the hallway smell, which had a noticeable musty/moldy nursing home odor.

But the positives outweigh the negatives. For someone looking for cheap and clean, this hotel is a solid option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The older gentleman that checked me in was really friendly. I was pleasantly surprised, my room was nice. I have stayed at this motel before, and the rooms look better then before. Looks like they have been painted, and the bathroom was great. All very clean...no bugs. The A/C unit looked old but it did keep the room nice and cool.

This motel is not far from the airport, and has a number of fast food and sit down restaurants within walking distance.

They provide 2 towels, 2 hand towels, and 2 washcloths in the room, so if you stay here with kids you will have to ask for more towels.

Very disappointed with the breakfast. First, breakfast is in the lobby. There are only 3 small tables to sit at, and there is a sign that says "Do Not take food to your room."

There are 3 types of juice, 3 choices of cold cereal, some packets of instant oatmeal, and you can make a hot waffle. There were 2 green bananas sitting on the counter and no other fruit. There were 3 pieces of bread for toast in the bakery container and nothing else. Apparently they have muffins, i saw another guest with one, but they weren't keeping things replenished. There were no plates for the waffles, and the coffee was all gone.

The young lady taking care of the breakfast was just sitting at the front desk reading, obviously not doing her job keeping breakfast items replenished. I had to ask her for plates and to make coffee. As I said i have stayed here before, and the breakfast was nicer then...plenty of fresh fruits, and bakery items to choose from in addition to the things listed above.

Again, i was happy with my room, the breakfast, not so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGilmoreLPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here back in March. Before an early morning flight. Great customer service, was greated by Mary, who remembered me from when I stayed in October. The room was clean and comfortable. Every thing you need for a night: Soap, shampoo, in room coffee and iron board and hair dryer. The 24 hour airport shuttle is great. You can walk to a few places to eat. Eat N park and Arbys to name a couple.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kell518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is an excellent value ...
- Reasonable price
- Clean and comfortable room
- Healthy breakfast with many choices (i.e. fruits, fruit juices, milk, oatmeal, etc.)
- Courteous and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel was old and a bit run down, The bathroom was dirty, especially the shower and tub. I could wipe dirt off with my finger. I would not let my 3 yr old take a bath because of it. For the value I did not get what I was looking for. The beds were very stiff and the ac unit had a towel shoved into the top of it for condensation and the buttons were broken, I was worried about getting shocked when i turned the machine on. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The staff was most helpful in getting directions for my meeting the next day. The original directions had been imprecise and confusing.
The room was exceptionally clean and tidy and the price for being in the area was perfect for my needs.

Room Tip: It was a great stay. Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coraopolis
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pittsburgh Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Pittsburgh Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh Airport
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - International Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
#2 of 12 in Coraopolis
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area

Property: Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area
Address: 8991 University Blvd, Coraopolis, PA 15108-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Coraopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Pittsburgh international Airport is an exclusive Pittsburgh airport Super 8 & is closest .5 miles from Pittsburgh airport. Recently updated offers CLEAN & COMFORTABLE ROOMS. To & from Airport a free shuttle service 24 hours. We have Park & Fly Special & also offers low rate extended parking. Super fast FREE Wi-Fi, Complementary Super start breakfast starts at 4.00 AM to 9.00 AM. Business center. Free Boarding pass print out. Extended cable TV Premium channels. Complementary 24 hours coffee, Walk in 24 hours Restaurants-Bars-shopping. 5 minutes from Robert Morris University- Airside Business Park - Appx- 14 miles from Key Bank Pavilion- Burgettstown. Downtown Pittsburgh PNC PARK-HEINZ Stadium. 15 minutes from MONACA,PA. Also offers weekly & monthly special discounted rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport/Coraopolis Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Coraopolis
Super 8 Coraopolis
Super Eight Coraopolis
Super 8 Hotel Coraopolis
Coraopolis Super 8
Coraopolis Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing