We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad way to say good-bye to customers :(”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friend stayed in cabin 5 before and loved this place. Cabin 4 was facing the road. Steps off of deck are on opposite side from picnic area. ok. Got inside and I agree with previous review that the notes seemed childish and offensive to us. You have to see them to believe it. We wiped down the table cloth 4 times and couldn't get the sticky off of it. Took a shower and there is a lack of support under shower floor and it could have been cleaned a bit better around bottom of shower. Went to dry dishes after a delicious breakfast and pulled out a drying towel that smelled of puke. :(.. After reading rules and reserving hot tub, we all rinsed off in the shower and was still given greef about bubbles in tub!?! Really! That girl freaked on us to rinse off good and I had to see her sooo very upset about what was said and accused at check out. You may want to think about if you want that hot tub as a choice at your place and your "pr" needs reviewed with all of the " we will know if u don't do this" attitude and if you are the ones marking comments in the book in the room... ???? Sorry to say, I will not recommend or revisit :( I just feel terrible for my friend that loved the place and left so upset for our 3 hr trip home.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank kingscastle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your response. There are a few things that I would like to mention about your review. The notes are not childish. Not following them is. The only notes are about conserving water. The others are rules and policies and are there for a purpose. The table cloth is sticky because of the chemicals we use to wipe them down ...sanitzers and disinfectants. It has been washed for all intent purposes. The shower floor is fine. If there was something wrong with it some one would have gone thru it by now. It just has a gap between the floor and the shower floor. You spoke of the dish towel. They are all washed between customers and these were freshly place in there. We made rules for the hot tub to be enforced by us. Alot of people are using it and we want it clean and sanitary for everyone, including you. The water in the hot tub was replace the day before and only one group was in it prior to your use. I checked the hot tub and filter BEFORE we would allow you in it. Eveything with the hot tub was fine. After you all got out of the hot tub there was foam and alot of it to the point where you were scooping it out over the edge. I know you were wet before you got in but there was still excess laundry soap in your clothes despite your weak effort to rinse them out. You wore your clothes into the shower and rinsed and did not rinse them in the sink to be sure it was all out. We were very upset about the hot tub water being destroyed just after 2 uses. This in effect costs us $100 to replace the water and heat it , have water tests done, place chemicals in it, and not to mention the fact that it is down for 24 hours and no one can use it during that time. During a conversation someone had even asked how we would know if...... Our hope is that people would be honest enough to follow the rules. Because they are there to make sure everyone has a good experience.
We are not the ones commenting in the book in the cabin. a customer made those comments to every one elses comments.
We do not have a problem with PR. We strive to make each and every visit perfect. It is hard to make everyone happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Extremely clean. Very cozy. Andy and Paula are the owners and make you feel like family. If you seek peace and quiet this is the place for you. Plenty of shops. Activities within minutes. Numerous places to eat. Or just drive and see the beauty of the forest. Not to mention the wildlife. But yet at camp you will feel as if your the only one there. Very affordable for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

We are so glad that cabin 6 suited your needs. We hope to see you back again. Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate each and every customer! Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The cabin was clean, and the store was well-stocked with supplies that were reasonably priced. My only complaint was that we booked here because we wanted to use the hot tub due to my arthritis, and after we arrived and paid the lady said she didn't know how to turn it on so we couldn't use it. I had mentioned when we booked we were thinking about getting a hot tub and wanted to reserve time; they said we could reserve time after we arrived. Buyer beware. Ok if you weren't planning on using the hot tub I guess, but I did feel we were deceived....

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank PJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

We are sorry you didnt get to enjoy the hot tub. We had a fill in for us and she did not know how to let you in it or turn it on. You were not decieved intentionally. Sometimes things break or are simply not availble for use. It happens. We have gone to many hotels only to find the pool drained and not working. Again we are sorry you didnt get to use it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed at Hominy Ridge. It was, like alway, a great time and experance! We hope to stay for a week next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajshanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

We look forward to having you come back. As always we appreciate each and every customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We made an impromptu stop in the area and decided to stay overnight. Nestled in a forest of towering trees, we were tucked away in a nice little space all our own. We stayed overnight during the week, so we were the only ones in our little area. We were surrounded by nature and enjoyed the secluded setting. We were looking to get away from it all, and this place certainly delivers.

We stayed in the #8 or A. Lincoln cabin, which was a smaller, older, and more rustic. As mentioned elsewhere in another review, this one does seem best suited for those of a shorter stature. This cabin had all the basics and was really quite cozy. Upon entering the cabin, you are situated in the main living area with a couch/bed, a small table with two chairs, a TV and fireplace. There is a small kitchen area with a mini fridge, a microwave, a toaster/oven, and a double hot plate. The kitchen is thoughtfully stocked with an assortment of plates, glasses, and silverware in addition to a few kitchen towels and dish soap. The bathroom, which is separated from the rest of the living area with a curtain, is quite small but functional.

The couch pulls out into a bed, and bed linens are included. The fitted bed sheet was already on, and there were two pillows, a flat sheet, and a blanket. The bed is much larger than it appears and is very comfortable. Fortunately, when we stayed the nighttime air was breezy and cool, and we were further lulled to sleep when we heard the pitter-patter of raindrops on the roof.

The outside area has its own picnic table, a charcoal grill, two plastic chairs around a fire pit and a wooden bench. Firewood is available for purchase at the store located on the grounds of the lodge.

The features include a well-stocked general/convenience store on the premises, and a hot tub. It should be noted that this store stays open later than the other ones in the area. We stopped at one store which closed at 4 PM during the week, but this store was open until 10 PM. The store has a nice selection of snacks, cold drinks, ice cream, small toys for children, and even items such as charcoal and foil. It appears the family owning this business also run the store, and they are quite welcoming, courteous, and friendly. Furthermore, the prices inside are reasonable.

While we were not able to enjoy the hot tub, it looked very inviting and clean. I wish we would have brought our bathing suits along. I believe you must sign up to use it, and it is located close to the store but in a private area.

My only regret is not being better prepared. If you’re a seasoned camper, you will probably know to bring your own towels and a bathing suit. I picture this lodge in general and this cabin in particular to be best suited for those looking for more of a camping out/roughing it type of experience. This is a rustic, primitive, no-frills cabin.


There are a few things to be aware of. None of these is negative but it’s better to know about it ahead of time. First, you should bring your own towels. Also, you will need to bring your bathing suit to enjoy the hot tub. Second, there was a note attached to the window A/C that there is a $10 charge to use it. Third, when you pay for your cabin, you must put a deposit (fully refundable) on your credit card.

Overall, this is a neat little place to stay, it’s run by friendly owners, and in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZXZX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We appeciate each and every one. We are glad your last minute thoughts to stay paid off for you. Although towels are not provided they are supplied for walkins such as yourself. We hope that if you stay here in Cook Forest again that you would decide to chose us again...maybe staying in one of our other cabins that are made for those of a taller stature. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at cabin #8! Friendly people, comfy, clean & we really enjoyed our stay here. This cabin is more for short people but it had everything we needed, kitchen, bath, toilet....everything you need for camping! Also had cable but we were not interested in that. We would reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ediebessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for your review! So glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

randy and pam from saltsburg,pa we had a wonderful time.the cabin was beautiful.i called ahead of time and had roses,wine and chocolates and the fireplace burning.we are going back this weekend.3/30/12

Room Tip: stayed in cabin#6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Randy and Pam,
So Glad to have you return and be able to get some time off from work to come to Beautiful Cook Forest. You wrote your review before you even came for the second time and are here right now as I respond. Heres to Randy and Pam. Cheers! Have a great stay! The sweetheart package is always a special touch for the love of your life.
Paula and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins

Address: 13964 Rt 36, Po Box 160, Cooksburg, PA 16217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cooksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cooksburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins is great for year-round vacations and getaways. Situated on seven private wooded acres in beautiful Cook Forest State Park, Pennsylvania, next to Clear Creek State Park and the Allegheny National Forest in the Pennsylvania Wilds, Hominy ridge is a great place for the whole family! Being located within 1-2 miles of summer theater, bicycling, hiking, canoe and raft rentals, inner tubing, horseback riding stables, fishing, hunting, water slides, go cart rentals, swimming, mini golfing, bumper boats, golf, winter activities such as ice skating, sled riding, cross country skiing, and snowmobiling makes Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins the perfect family vacation resort! It's also a great place for a reunion, with lodging to accommodate 46 or more guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing