We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Getaway in the woods...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Cabin # 6 ( 1 bedroom, futon, very clean & cozy) nestled in the woods has everything you need. Wildlife, tree roots, uneven ground,that's the beauty of being in the woods. Yes there are rules, hotels have them too. The owners are always seen working on the cabins and the grounds to keep things in good shape for all to enjoy. Take your special someone or your children (there is a play area), build a campfire or light a fire in the fireplace. Relax, take a hike, enjoy nature. Thanks Paula and Andy for making our getaway at Hominy Ridge very enjoyable. Guests from Ohio..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2OH_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you. Well said. When you come to the woods you have to expect what nature gives us. However, we do strive for the best possible accomodations for everyone. That is why there are rules to make it possible. Those that dont like the rules are the ones that will be sure to break them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our Fall trip to Hominy Ridge was enjoyable. We stayed in cabin #5, a 3 bedroom cabin with 1 bath and kitchen. There were clean linens on the beds, and floors were swept. However, the dust on the hanging lamps, curtains and window sills could use a really, really, good cleaning. As other reviewers noted, there were notes about conserving water. However, I think these notes are there for the benefit of guests to try and avoid a problem, and not meant to be rude by any means. The well water does have a strong sulphur smell, but think it's important to realize that this is the woods, and perhaps bringing in some bottled water would be helpful. The site was nice, surrounded by trees and had an enjoyable fire pit area. Note, you have to purchase fire wood there. Cannot bring in. The site also had enough parking for 3 vehicles.

The general store had a good selection of items in case you forgot anything. The employees were pleasant and made conversation with you. There was a public hot tub availalbe. Note you have to reserve it and it costs $15.00. We did not use it so can't comment on it. It looked nice.

As I said, we enjoyed ourselves, but be prepared that these cabins are not immaculate. However, if you are looking to sit around a camp fire with friends, or go hiking on some great trails, the cabin might be a good fit for location.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breber17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your reveiw. We are glad you had a great time here.
We do appreciate each review. It brings to light the things that may get overlooked. ANd we do take them seriously to the point that if there is something that needs attention, it gets taken care of as soon as possible. Thank you. The water smell is in the hot water tanks and has been remedied. We knew that was an issue as it always is with well water and iron/sulpher. However our water is tested quarterly and is safe for drinking and is treated with Culligan and a filter system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at Hominy Ridge Aug 14th-18th and loved every minute of it! We stayed in Cabin 4, 2 bedroom and a futon; sleeps 6 very comfortable. The hot tub was great for the hubby and I. Everything is within a couple miles. To do you're main grocery shopping you would want to go into Clarion, but Hominy Ridge has a grocery store for things that you have forgot/need. Thanks again for a great vacation. =]

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Thanks Mary!!! We are so happy to hear you had a great stay. WE appreciate the review and hope to see you come back sometime. Hopefully your car made it home and its running good again.;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Hominy Ridge last Labor Day weekend. We were glad to find it avaliable on a busy holiday weekend & booked their cabin #5. First of all I must say the owners are very nice, but I was disappointed in the cabin. It is suppose to sleep up to 8 people & although there are enough beds for 8 people, we felt squeezed into the living room with only 4 adults there. The second complaint was the fire pit area. It was nice that trees were around, however, it is on a slope of a hill (be careful how you place your hair as you may fall) & there are a ton of rocks & tree roots sticking out of the ground (someone in our party actually fell & hurt herself slightly). If you are going with a small group (no more than 4-5) the cabin is okay, you are centeral in the cook forrest area & it was clean, but I won't be staying there again. And btw - the signs all over the cabin warning about everything (bears, graphetti, pets, water, etc are a bit much - felt like I needed to be careful to not break a rule). Overall glad we found somewhere new for this year. (PS - Beds weren't the most comfortable)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thanks for placing your review. I dont understand how 4 adults could possibly be cramped in that cabin. There are 2 recliners and a sofa. The fire pit area is ever so slightly sloped not on a hill by any means and the rocks and tree roots are part of being in the woods. To Cut the roots out would kill the trees and have none and to pluck all the rocks out would be impossible being they are actually huge boulders underground.
Again the signs are there to PREVENT anything bad happening from misuse or abuse. Certainly we would think people would rather be careful with their surroundings because they are not familiar with them than to go into things blindly. For example if you leave the trash outside a black bear will come. He will become a nusance for everyone and have to be taken down. Therefore we warn about not letting the trash outside. And the graffiti signs...we do not want people carving into our walls and tables.....would you? So some signs are neccessary.
We are sorry you did not like our place and chose to stay elsewhere but we must continue to do business as usual.
BTW the beds are being changed out 1 by 1 but they are $1000 each...so it is a costly and slow process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We loved our cabin, it was everything i expected and more. My family and I had a great time. The store was awsome and reasonably priced, and the owners are the most friendlist people!!! The senery was just beautiful, i even seen a deer by our cabin. Very relaxing and beautiful!!! Thank you Hominy Ridge!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin #5. I'm not sure about the other cabins, but this one was VERY nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajshanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

We are very happy that you were happy. That is our intent to make each person feel great about their experience in our cabins. We do hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

There were 4 of us in our party for the weekend. We arrived around 4 in the afternoon. No one was at the office, but our key was left in an envelope with our name/cabin # on it, which was fine. We settled in, played some badmittin, ate dinner and enjoyed the setting of Hominy Ridge. The cabin had plenty of room for us and we were all comfy in it. The location was central to many activities Cook Forest has to offer. We brought plenty of food and most of it had to be prepared in the cabin. I brought a lot of my utensils/supplies, but the cabin had just about anything you would need to prepare a good meal. We kept getting confused about the time, though. The microwave clock and the wall clock had minds of their own and we couldn't rely on them for total accuracy, but that made for many laughs!!!!! The beds were comfy and the stove/refrigerator/shower/toilet. etc were all in good working order. We liked the store on the premises which was stocked with everything and the prices were reasonable, not ripping us off with convenience store prices. We appreciated being able to borrow 2 badmittin racquets after 2 of our Dollar Store racquets broke. As I said Hominy Ridge has everything! We liked getting away for the weekend The weather wasn't too hot or too cold and it didn't rain. What more could we ask for? We went to the Sawmill Theater and saw "Steel Magnolia", which was great. There is no room for improvement at Hominy Ridge. Everything is perfect! We look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Cabin # 4 was close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationWampum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you had a great time and the cabin met all your needs. We appreciate you and your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at Hominy Ridge because we had a wedding to attend! It was centrally located right in the middle of all the amenities Cooks Forest has to offer! We stayed in tge bottom level of the lodge and it was very clean(I am a germaphobe)! Someone is definetly taking the time to fix things up as there was new cabinets and counter tops in the kitchen as well as other areas! The store had just about everything you could imagine right down to fresh produce! Very friendly owners! We will be going back and I do recommend the Hominy Ridge!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheilbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hominyridge, Owner at Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for noticing the renovations. Just about every penny we make has gone back into them. We actually are about to have new flooring installed in the living room of Lodge 1 where you stayed. We are excited about it, as we are when people notice that we do take pride in our place. It has been a long road traveled and a long way to go but we are getting there, one renovation at a time. We look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooksburg
13.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Clarion
13.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clarion
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarion
Hampton Inn Clarion
#2 of 9 in Clarion
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 9 in Clarion
305 reviews
13.5 mi away
Monroe Heights Clarion
Monroe Heights Clarion
#7 of 9 in Clarion
109 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins

Address: 13964 Rt 36, Po Box 160, Cooksburg, PA 16217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cooksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cooksburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins is great for year-round vacations and getaways. Situated on seven private wooded acres in beautiful Cook Forest State Park, Pennsylvania, next to Clear Creek State Park and the Allegheny National Forest in the Pennsylvania Wilds, Hominy ridge is a great place for the whole family! Being located within 1-2 miles of summer theater, bicycling, hiking, canoe and raft rentals, inner tubing, horseback riding stables, fishing, hunting, water slides, go cart rentals, swimming, mini golfing, bumper boats, golf, winter activities such as ice skating, sled riding, cross country skiing, and snowmobiling makes Hominy Ridge Lodge and Cabins the perfect family vacation resort! It's also a great place for a reunion, with lodging to accommodate 46 or more guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing