We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Italian Oven

The Italian Oven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Keisterville, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Absolutely love their food. Their menu is very extensive and everything I've ever had there is very good. I love their Fresh as a Breeze pasta dinner. Their tiramisu is the best. Plus free beer or wine with your dinner. Service is always fast and servers are always courteous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Local Italian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have eaten at this place twice. It is probably one of the best places in the area outside chains/fast food. There are many things to chose from. The fried zuchini is excellent. It is a light batter and both times was light golden so their grease is definately changed. Meatballs were giant and good and so was the sauce. I was not impressed by their oil and garlic. However I have went to few places who know how to make this like "Mama." The noodles were lightly tossed with oil but, really had no taste. The service is always very friendly. This place is above average for the area but, not above other Italian within 45 min drive. Great place for families.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blogtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge portions, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are staying in Connellsville, PA for two days. Not finding a fine dining restaurant close by, we settled on Italian Oven (which I was familiar with the chain many moons ago). Initial reaction was that the floors could use a good scrub down, but the rest appeared clean. Atmosphere was so-so. I would have preferred not to be looking right into the kitchen. Waitress was friendly and quick to refill my drink. I was a bit disappointed that the straws were not the pasta straws that I remember Italian Ovens having. My wife's baked penne with meat sauce and my meat lasagna came out timely. Portions were HUGE! We both only ate half. Food was tasty.

I'd say after searching for restaurants in this area, this appeared to be one of the 'nicer' places around. I think if they cleaned the place a bit and hid the kitchen from view, they'd be packed! And get those pasta straws again!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToadNumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicwizz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Monday and Tues deals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My daughter and I visit this resturant every week. Either on Monday or Tuesday they have a 7.99 all you can eat pasta special. You can choose your noodle and choose your sauce,I always order meatballs with angelhair pasta.I ask for extra sauce on the side. This has got to be some of the best pasta in the area. They give you a hugh first helping and A SMALLER REFILL UPON REQUEST , Because of the hugh first plate they give you I never make it to a refill , however I still get a large pasta dinner with bread, butter and a salad for seven and some change. They will also give you two glasses of complementary beer or wine (white,zinfndale,red) Even though all of the servers and staff are great we request Tony, he is aweome, you wait for nothing and hes easy on the eyes (WINK)
This is a family owned and run business and they treat you like family as well. I HIGHLY recomend this resturant, if you dont like pasta , they also have a full lunch or dinner menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank medicwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's ok...nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I heard great things about this place. So I figured I'd try it out. It was alright, not like everyone talked it up to be. Decor was outdated and seemed dirty. Fast food Italian

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Oven also viewed

 
Connellsville, PA
Connellsville, PA
 

Been to The Italian Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing