We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building, no frills, but clean and decent”
Review of Melody Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melody Motor Lodge
Keyser
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old building, no frills, but clean and decent”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

No WiFi or even ice machine, but staff solved our maintenance problem immediately. Nothing fancy but clean & decent and inexpensive. Super Walmart across highway.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveRhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

You'll find the Melody Motor Lodge to be exceptionally clean and a great value for the money. The owners take great pride in providing a clean environment for travelers. The facility is straight out of the 1950s. The bed was small, the walls were paneling, and the bath towels were some of the smallest I've ever seen. There was quite a bit of highway noise. Ed's diner behind the Lodge had great food and service. Would we stay there again? Probably.

Room Tip: Not fancy...AT ALL but a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissouriPhoebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Simply a nice place on out edge of town. Run by owners who take pride in their place. The motel was affordable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stay at the Melody every year when I make the 10 hour drive to Connellsville, PA. I am a genealogist and each year I try to make the trip back, although I did have to miss 2011 but I will be there in April of 2012. I know where I will stay. It is so unusual to come across a mom and pop owned place. The owners are so nice and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. One of their maids is Peach, I know where she got her name because she is a real peach! If it is the high life you are looking for, then this quaint motel is not for you. You will find a basic room covered with paneling, an old fashioned TV and bath fixtures out of the 1950's but, the rooms are always clean and that is our number one concern. Ed's diner is around the back of the motel and their food is great and cheap!! The waitress's are all so friendly and take good care of you. If you'd like an old fashioned place to stay with old fashioned hospitality, this might be the place for you! Last time I was there, our room was only $45 for the night, where can you get that??
I hate to read the bad reviews on this place, I wish they would have checked it out better on the internet because the pictures are exactly how it is. They don't pretend that it is a $200 a night motel at only $45 a night, what you see is what you get. I enjoy staying there partly for the nostalgia of the place. I look forward to seeing the old place in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a basic motel on the edge of town. Rooms are basic but clean and service is helpful. Best feature is the excellent diner which does a hearty, tasty breakfast.

If you're cycling, be aware that it's a mile outside town via a busy road - though there is a shoulder.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great place for the money! stayed there on our way to Fallingwater! quaint place to stay a night.. if you are looking for all sort of amenities then maybe this place is not for you

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This motel had the feel of a movie set with it's immaculately maintained period finishes and furnishings, down to a sticker on the bathroom mirror that stated that the premises were "Protected by the WIlliam J. Burns International Detective Agency, with offices in all principle cities". I found that to be over-the-top quaint.

Pluses: great stop-over location for an early start the next day to Fallingwater (about 20-25 min.), Kentuck Knob, and Ohiopyle; clean rooms, very friendly service, door-side parking, there's a 24 hr Wal Mart a block away (go north and turn left up the hill) for groceries, all the basics you need.

Minuses: smelled strongly of cleaning products when I walked in (there was so much furniture cleaning spray on the desk and tables that I had to wipe it off before putting my bags down), thin walls means plumbing noises can be loud, and wi-fi is only available in the lobby, but really not much else in terms of negatives.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, so I'd ask to see if there are any rooms that aren't occupied next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uppercaseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connellsville
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in New Stanton
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
248 reviews
12.6 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Motor Lodge

Property: Melody Motor Lodge
Address: 1607 Memorial Avenue, Connellsville, PA 15425
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Connellsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Connellsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Melody Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Melody Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing