We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!”
Review of Conneaut Lake Park

Conneaut Lake Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conneaut Lake Park dates back to 1892 as Exposition Park. The Park sits on PA's largest natural lake. The unique combination of amusement rides, pony rides, putt-putt, games, indoor and outdoor concerts, a nightclub, historic hotel, and boat tours make it the perfect weekend getaway. Ride the country's 17th oldest wooden coaster, the 1938 Blue Streak, or the world's oldest Tumble Bug. There is no gate charge for our ride area; enjoy our carousel, Devil's Den, full Kiddieland, etc. and only pay if you ride.Look for us on Facebook: Conneaut Lake Park.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I remember this park from my childhood. It is a wonderful piece of history. However, in the last ten years or so the owners have totally let it go. It set closed up for a few years, but it is now reopened and in horrible disrepair. It's a great piece of property and lots of history there, but it is being lost due to not being maintained properly. It's so sad to see something like this slowly disappear.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank e3ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP_Management11, Owner at Conneaut Lake Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Just to clarify, the parties involved with the Park have been in place since 2007 and later, and have been working hard to restore the Park due to years and years of neglect by the previous management. The Blue Streak reopened in 2010 under this all-volunteer Board of Trustees, and improvements have been made in the ride area under Adams Amusements for their second season.
Each year progress and restoration is happening, but it was neglected for many many years prior to all of us arriving and it will take awhile to complete the restoration.
Conneaut Lake Park is tied for 10th oldest amusement park in the US, and this year, the Blue Streak celebrates 75 years. Last year, the Park met the eligibility to be on the Register of National Historic Places, further demonstrating its historic significance.
We are all working hard to preserve this national treasure; public support is critical and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    50
    47
    37
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“If Passing by...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I never feel you can complain about a free admission park with fair prices and an operating coaster and fair number of rides. Although very tired looking in most areas, the park is constantly working to improve. We saw multiple workers painting up the place. Although several rides are standing but not operating, there are a few unique classics. The Blue Streak Coaster is a fine piece of classic coaster history that is not to be missed by any enthusiast who finds themselves in the area. The back seat delivers almost too much ejector seat air time but is great fun. The classic carousel they operate is another gem. A gravity powered fun house is another rare find. The kiddie land is full of classic rides for children although they do appear a little worn.

While the staff were extremely friendly on our visit (even giving free extra laps on the coaster) and are definitely putting forth an effort to fix up the park, I worry it may be too late to revive. A few buildings along the midway had been burnt down and signs were standing for rides that were long gone. The setting on the lake (with a live band the day we visited) and the general feel of the park was very old fashioned and unique. Overall though, had we traveled far or planned on spending much more than hour we would have been disappointed. Hopefully in a few years this place will be further pieced back together as it seems like it's on that right path.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWhyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs a LOT of work”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Conneaut Lake park is a tough place to rate. On one hand, it’s one of only a few remaining examples of a true “old time” amusement park. On the other hand, Conneaut Lake Park has fallen on some very hard times and it truly amazes me how the park continues to remain open.

Situated in Eastern Pennsylvania on the shores of a large natural lake, Conneaut Lake Park features a small beach, with the popular “Beach Club” bar and grill, boating activities, an ancient hotel, and an amusement area with a small number of rides. The main highlight is the park’s Blue Streak roller coaster, celebrating its 75th anniversary this summer. Blue Streak is as old timey as they come with a basic out and back layout that features a tunnel that has seen better days, three large hills, a turnaround, and then several smaller hills leading back to the loading area. The park has re-tracked some of the ride in the past 2 seasons and it is surprisingly a decent coaster, however its appearance makes it look like a light breeze will blow it down at any moment.

Other interesting rides at Conneaut Lake include the Devil’s Den, a rare gravity-powered dark ride with several spooky scenes inside, a nicely maintained classic Carousel with a real band organ, an Allan Herschell miniature train (which derailed on my recent ride, causing us to walk back to where we started), and a vintage Tumble Bug which was also under repair when I visited. There’s also a Paratrooper, a “Music Express”-type ride, bumper cars, a Watkins Tempest, a Chance Trabant, a Tilt A Whirl (which is currently undergoing restoration), and a nice set of Flying Scooters. There’s also a small kiddieland with several very old rides including a rare Hook and Ladder and a steel Allan Herschell Little Dipper.

There really isn’t much else to do at Conneaut. There’s a handful of games with some annoying barkers yelling at you to come play, a gift shop that sells merchandise from the defunct Geauga Lake amusement park in Ohio, and lots of crumbling remnants of days gone by. There’s an old shell of a building that used to house an indoor scrambler that looks particularly creepy, a boarded up arcade, a plot of land where a ballroom burned to the ground several years ago, an entrance and exit ramp to a Round Up ride that was lost in the aforementioned fire, two waterslides sit unused, a Chance Toboggan ride is rusting away and has trees growing through it, and tree roots can be found piercing through the midways. The whole place seems like a tornado tore through it and one has to wonder how much longer the park can last in this condition.

As far as value goes, the park offers free parking and free grounds admission. Rides are $1 each for kiddie rides, $2 for adult rides and $3 for the Blue Streak. A ride all day pass can also be purchased for $20. As far as I’m concerned, that price is fair as I’m sure they use that money to help keep the rides maintained.

It’s sad because this was once a fun and unique little amusement park. Unless someone steps in with unlimited funds, I doubt we’ll see days like that again. Conneaut Lake needs a lot of help. If you enjoy creepy amusement park settings, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I’d say skip it and head north to Waldameer or south to Kennywood where you can pay a few dollars more and experience some rides that were built within the last 30 years.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rayp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A FADING MEMORY OF THE LONG GONE GOOD OLD DAYS”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I grew up in southwestern Pennsylvania and remember CONNEAULT LAKE PARK advertising and I imagined this magical park set on a lake. I never got to visit the park as a kid so I was excited to finally see the park with some friends. The Park's glory days are long gone and it seems to be a shell of what it once was.
Sadly, the word dismal came to mind but there was fun in walking around a ghost town and imagining the park in its heyday. Parking was free and there was no admission price to the park. A little kiosk was selling ride tickets. The park is not fenced so it is easy to walk through the park and to the lake. The setting is beautiful.
The rides were in the around the entrance looked old and had a carnival feel. It seemed like they were not operating but it simply was a lack of guests. Occasionally, I would see one rider and that was all. The Blue Streak roller coaster did seem to be active but the entrance area was just sad. The pavement was cracked and uneven. The gift shop was sparse and the food stand was limited. There were a few carnival-type games so this did not feel like an amusement park.
If you are in the area, it is a nice place to stop for a step back in time. The setting is on Conneaut Lake so the view is a great and there is a small beach and boaters. The hotel looked like a magnificent testament to days long gone. We talked to a couple of elderly ladies sitting on a bench who reminisced about working in the park in the summers in their youth. I could only imagine what the park was like so many years ago.
We did not stop at Kiddieland since we had no children with us. It does seem like that part of the park is kept in better shape. The Park's website has some great pictures so maybe there is fun for kids here. Adults will be disappointed. We visited on Memorial Day and the crowds were sparse so it was a nice walk around the main part of the park. There is history to this park and that can be the main reason for a visit.
I tried to imagine what the park was like 50 or more years ago and wondered why it has fallen on such hard times. The setting is so beautiful and yet the park seems so sad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little piece of history!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ok so recently I went to this little amusement park home of the blue streak a 75 year old roller coaster. I have never been there keep in mind so my first impression is that its a little run down need a few coats of paint. Pretty much a ghost town but it was their opening weekend. It was very cheap, free to get in and walk around or you can pay 15 to 20 dollars for an all day ride pass. The rides are all old fashion and fun, my sons loved it!! Especially the devils den and the witches brew which are the parks favorites besides the blue streak. I went home and did some research on the park and found out all the hardships it has suffered over the years (120 and then some) between backruptcies, lots of fires and roofs falling in its amazing its still open. This little park I give 5 stars (out of five) its not the best but its a piece of history that needs to stay alive. It thrives on the help from volunteers, community support and people like you and me visiting showing we still care! Some of the rides that it does have are so old you may not be able to find them anywhere else, the same kind of ones that use to be used at Idora or Chippewa parks that no longer exist. Its great for children or actually anybody of any age between the kiddy land, rollercoaster, mini golf, train rides and regular rides you cant go wrong!! Please go and show your support so it doesn't end up like all the other small indepndent parks that have shut down over the years. Thanks for reading!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mtld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conneaut Lake Park also viewed

 
Jamestown, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Conneaut Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing