We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Ranked #2 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were graciously welcomed by Dan after a long day of travel and directed to a great meal at the "Lucky Dog" in town. Our stay was brief but the host's hospitality and the beauty of the place were timeless and left us feeling we had visited a special place as we pulled out of the driveway the next morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    12
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
61
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Paddlers Lane Campground is very nice. While on the GAP trail, I advised another trail rider about the paddlers lane campgrounds, and when I checked in, there the guy was, set up for the night. Dan, one of the hosts come in to the only gas station in Confluence and picked me up, as it was dark by the time I arrived. The trains were constant all day and night, but I slept like a baby and wasn't the least bothered. There are no hookups, but there is electric on the porch of the bath house and inside. The only issue I had was the water in the showers, it felt like you still had soap on you, no matter how much you rinsed, but that was it. If I were to open a B&B or Campgrounds, I would follow Dan & Robin as the example. In fact, I think they should start classes for how to be a host. They could make it hands on learning type of class where the clients come there for two weeks and stay, and charge a fee for the class. I was there in October of 2013 and plan to go back this year, and bring my 10 year old son this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

very nice place. clean, nicely decorated. right beside the river. Dan couldnt have been more helpful. dog friendly a big plus. not too close to the bed and breakfast so there is some privacy. Wanted to get away from everything and everyone so dan did leave us be yet made sure we knew where to get him if we needed anything.
trains do run a lot beside the house, but i didnt mind that at all. better than listening to highway traffice!
only thing i had a problem with was the firewood. not sure if it was too fresh or not, but the fire had a hard time staying lit. i am use to wood stove however. dont know if that makes a difference or not once the fire gets going.
loved the walking trail that goes thru town.
they do need more restaurants to open in the winter however, but i dont mind driving to ohio pyle or somerset.
thanks for a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a few college friends and we couldn't have chosen a better place for our reunion. The house was beautifully designed and decorated and spotlessly clean when we arrived. Robin and Dan do not live in the house but close by so they were available if we should need anything. Not that we did, they seemed to anticipate every desire. We did manage to lock ourselves out once and Dan arrived within two minutes to let us in and recover our keys. Dan is the perfect host; he couldn't have made us feel more welcome and he's a pretty funny guy to talk to. We spent the week canoeing, rafting, bicycling, hiking and hanging out in the house. The bike trail is close, but even so Dan offered to give us a shuttle if we should feel the need for it (we didn't) and Robin was sweet enough to pack some snacks for several of our outings. We enjoyed the sound of the river and the stars were so bright at night due to the absence of other lights interfering that i was able to hundreds of stars that I normally see. I didn't realize they were there! This was a gathering that we'll always remember, in a place we'll never forget. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We can not wait to visit again! Hopefully we can make it back out this spring or summer to do some fishing and kayaking! Our hosts were great and so were the other guest! The pottery and decorations are beautiful and the common area with the fire place was an added benefit!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timdinoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Not ever having been to the area was not sure what to expect. Upon arriving all my apprehensions were put to rest. The home was beautiful!! The hosts, Dan and Robin were welcoming and very accomidating. There was nothing more we could of asked for. Plan on returning again, hopefully soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAOLI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our extended family recently rented the chalet for a cozy holiday gathering. Before arriving Robin warned us that there are plenty of activities to do in the surrounding communities but "most people find that once they get here, they don't want to leave". And she was right. We came for snow activities but ended up filling our days with games, reading and good eats...all in front of the fireplace.

The accommodations were ideal for our crew. The architecture of the chalet is very nice. The decor featured a delightful collection of art that was enjoyed greatly by the artists in our family. The kitchen was well stocked with the usual pots, spoons, bowls needed for cooking.

We couldn't have found a more appropriate place to stay. All of us commented about wanting to come back some time when we could enjoy warmer weather for outdoor exploration of the bike path, wood trails and river activities. Also looking at it as a family reunion spot that would accommodate both camping and inhouse sleeping options

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLANDA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
528 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
9.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddler's Lane Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddler's Lane Retreat

Property: Paddler's Lane Retreat
Address: 255 Paddlers Ln, Confluence, PA 15424-2637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddler's Lane Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddler's Lane has House Rentals, B&B stays, and secluded camping available on a half mile stretch of the wild and scenic Youghiogheny River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Paddler's Lane Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing