We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Ranked #2 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked a Sun-Mon night getaway for my wife and I to check out the Great Allegheny Passage. Decided on Paddler's Lane after looking for places in both Ohiopyle and Confluence. Rates were pleasantly cheaper here. The house is clean, comfy, and well maintained by Dan, the friendly innkeeper.

Confluence is a sleepy little town compared to "tourist" busy Ohiopyle. If you want some nightlife, you'd better stay in Ohiopyle. If you want some peace and quiet, stay in Confluence. There are only a couple of dinner restaurant choices in Confluence, so you might consider making some of your own dinners in the well-appointed kitchen.

The inn is actually just outside of town, but far enough that walking into town for dinner is not really an option. This also applies to GAP trail access. We rode our bikes to/from the trailhead, but some might not be comfortable traversing the one-lane roads necessary to get to town.

The Inn is very close to the train tracks and the train runs regularly, but we weren't bothered by the noise.

There are also a bunch of "honor box" campsites right there on the property. No hookups, but there is a nice bathhouse. Maybe we'll bring our tent next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m6oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Paddler's Lane Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our extended family spent a great couple days at Paddler's Lane. 16 of us (7 adults and 9 children aged 7 and under...) stayed in the Main House. 3 other couples came for the daytime. The kids loved the 3rd floor loft area. The 3 bedrooms on the 2nd floor were well appointed. The air conditioning was nice, especially for third floor sleeping in summer. The house and grounds offered ample space for playing, cooking, eating, talking. The setting is lovely with a large grassy area and trees beside the Youghigheny River. Even the train adds ambiance, and did not seem to disturb us, even at night. Getting to and from the loft is kinda funky though, as you must go through one of the bathrooms. While this at first concerned me, it proved to be no issue. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. Paddler's Lane got great comments from others in our group. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place was perfect for our multi family getaway with kids. The rooms were so clean and comfy. The kids absolutely loved the loft upstairs. The kitchen was huge with lots of seating. The train was across the way when we pulled in (and I was a little worried) but it never bothered us at night. I would recommend anyone to stay in a heartbeat and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This isn’t your historic, antique stuffed, foodie-pleasing Bed and Breakfast. This is a lovely, modern, clean, comfortable home. You won’t find antiques in your room, but if you stay in the room we had, you might find in the bathroom, a monster holding your soap in his mouth or another one ready to guard your toothbrush (unique pottery creations that I assume one of our hosts made). The breakfast is not fancy or unusual, but it’s good. We were treated to French Toast one morning and a delicious breakfast casserole the next. Even better than his cooking, our host had a talent for facilitating conversation among strangers. His talent opened up some fabulous conversations at breakfast during which time we heard some great stories from the other guests and from our host. One could spend the day on the property just soaking up the beauty of the river or wading in with a fly rod, but there are countless activities nearby to fill a long weekend.

Room Tip: Trains run next frequently. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the river's side away...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have used Paddler’s Lane B&B numerous times as a base for enjoying the outdoor activities available immediately in the area. Although we are not extreme travelers we have stayed in numerous B&Bs across the U.S. and in Ireland. We’ve seen good, bad, and excellent during those stays. We put Paddler’s lane in the excellent category for the following reasons:
• Always clean and well taken care of including the grounds.
• The owners are helpful and attentive to needs of guests.
• The house is more than tastefully designed; it’s simply comfortable and makes us feel at home. We’ve stayed in houses/B&Bs that were either sterile, or knick-knack havens, or oddly designed, or untouchable, and this place makes us feel like we want to bring family there. Kudos to the owners for the artwork they have integrated into the house and the atmosphere it projects.
• It is a good deal and we come away from it satisfied that our money was well spent.
A few other things to note:
• There are very few properties like this that border directly on the Youghiogheny River with excellent river access. The property follows a bend in the river with a class 2 rapid, has short trails to the water’s edge and is very picturesque.
• If you are interested in the river for activities, according to the EPA website, this is a very clean river without the industrial pollutants and abysmal water quality conditions that so often plague our rivers and streams. I have often seen golden trout speed by under my kayak.
• There is also a campground at this site which is very well run and has one of the nicest bathrooms/shower-houses that I have ever seen in a campground.

We highly recommend Paddler’s Lane.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Paddler's Lane and it couldn't have been better. We love the place
returning to experience fun with our daughters and grandchildren. Two of the daughters fly in
to Pittsburgh to be with the rest of the family. The place is perfect for a reunion. The house is a lovely, restored farm house that is very clean and comfortable with a modern, charming kitchen. We love sitting on the back porch, having a fire by the river and hearing the trains. There is lots to do -- taking a raft trip down the river, antiquing in Confluence, visiting Fallingwater, , swimming up at the beach next to the Yough dam, and fishing (for the kids).
Dan is very helpful and accommodating. He even drove into Uniontown to replace our TV
controller. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: This is a great, off-the-beaten-path place for families to stay. We highly recommend it.
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Several of my friends from college and myself decided to get together for a weekend of whitewater rafting. Dan was very accomodating and helpful! We had one of the 4 toilets in the house was not working, and Dan came by to fix it right away. The house was in great shape, and is perfect for a large reunion. Property owners are very friendly and offered great recommendations for restaurants, rafting, and anything else we asked.

The house itself is right on the river with two great fire pits and a nice yard for lawn games. Confluence is a very small, secluded town great for getting away from it all.

The only negativ eis the proximity of a train that can be a little loud, but it's quite infrequent and doesn't last long.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Honeymooner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
564 reviews
20.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
138 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
449 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddler's Lane Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddler's Lane Retreat

Address: 255 Paddlers Ln, Confluence, PA 15424-2637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range: $127 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddler's Lane Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddler's Lane has House Rentals, B&B stays, and secluded camping available on a half mile stretch of the wild and scenic Youghiogheny River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Paddler's Lane Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing