We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B right on the Youghiogheny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Ranked #3 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The kids loved the loft room with angles and bed nooks. The train added some excitement and adventure. Confluence is wonderful and Paddlers Lane is a great launching point for all kinds of treks; walking, paddling, riding. Dan made such a nice breakfast. Being right on the river was divine. I felt very at home in the common rooms and on the grounds around the B & B. I'd recommend Paddlers Lane to anyone visiting Confluence.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

Great spot, beautiful place, and wonderful people who run it. You'll enjoy this hidden gem right on the beautiful Youghegheny River.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed at many places, but none had the natural beauty and serenity of Paddler's Lane. There are diverse activities of all kinds to participate in- both "on-site" and within an easy drive. On-Site there is first and foremost the Youghiogheny River. It's both "serene" and at the same time radiating energy and excitement. The property fronts on an easy rapids almost right out the door and we were able to play and play and play.
The two homes to choose from are both nestled among mature trees for shade and beauty but the property also includes several acres of beautifully landscaped and manicured open grassy areas where you can throw the frisbee, run with the dog (Yes, your pets are welcome!), play volleyball or whatever- it's like being in the park right outside the door.
Within a half-hour's drive are state parks (Ohiopyle), several whitewater rivers, the Great Allegheny Passage bike path, historical destinations (Fort Necessity, Jumonville Glen, the National Road) and cultural gems (Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob, Nemacolin Woodlands.
You can enjoy the area for days on end or simply stay on site and enjoy the natural surrounding- or relax on the deck and revel in the natural beauty or read while lulled by the babble of the river. It's PERFECT. Both houses are well-appointed (beautiful!) and well-equipped- you could ask very very little more.
And your hosts, Robin and Bernie, were always available and anxious to help us out, handle any "needs" or guide our choice of daytime activities with their extensive knowledge of this diverse area as only "locals" could.
The price is reasonable, the facilities are beautiful. The grounds are beautiful. The hosts are gracious. Wow. This place is truly special. We will be back again next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

As world travellers, we have each stayed in a wide assortment of hotels,motels, hostels, campgrounds,B& B's, resorts, friends homes, - from wonderful to never again accomodations. I especially like B& B's and seek them out on business trips, or in this case a short - away from the norm- getaway. We - spouse and grown daughter - were first here in summer 09 and enjoyed our time here, and returned again in June'11. Its a close drive from the DC suburban area and easy to find.

During both of our visits we stayed in the Chalet. It is the smaller of the two houses on this property. Wedged in alongside the river (Yough) and the railroad tracks. We had one dog on our first visit and even she felt right at home from the start. The second stay we had two dogs, equally welcomed by the property owners.
While the Chalet boasts room for more than just three persons, we think its ideal for 3 and would be great for two couples equally as well. There are two bedrooms and two full baths - separated on either side of the unit. A single wall gallery style kitchen faces into a living room area , with a loft style sleeping area accessible via ladder above. This is a large A frame style house, so great high ceilings with upper windows along with the large picture windows surround the living area. We haven't been there in the winter, but a great stone fireplace along one side of the room would certainly keep everyone toasty and warm. The nice deck surrounds 3/4 of the house and includes a gas grill and recycling bins! It also provides access to the large grassy flat lawn area which our dogs love to execise their people on. A small and short path leads to the rivers edge- which is visable through the trees from the house itself. This property has its own parking area and is directly adjacent to the deck. It appears since our first visit that a full apartment in what would be the basement has been completed, but I haven't any details regarding that, nor did we encounter any others. It may be private or perhaps made available to parties chosing the Chalet for overflow accomodations - don't know.

We have found everything in the Chalet very clean, inviting and comfortable. Bring your own food, but pans and cooking"stuff" are all there. We love the pottery in the kitchen - just like being at home, vs odds and ends of wornout plastic dishes and discarded bits and pieces that are often placed in rentals. Even the assortment of wine glasses is appreciated - as well as a (full size )dishwasher and smooth cooktop stove combo.
The bathrooms are adequate in size with plenty of towels, the bedrooms tend to small but comfortable with extra bedding. We found the bed a little soft on this visit, so perhaps its ready for a replacement.
A small table for dining is in the corner of the living area - we only wish there were a couple more chairs to use when seated at the table. Perhaps the owners can supply upon request - we can make do otherwise. A tv is available in the rooms and there are some reading materials tucked way as well. A nice informative notebook has been assembled for visitors unfamilair with the area. Fallingwater, Kentuck Knob, Ohiopyle etc are all close. Water access and biking are everywhere. A handful of restuarants in Confluence offer a variety of meals if you are not cooking.
Dan and Robin send out a very detailed amount of information once you make reservations - it is really helpful to know details/expectations ahead of time.
Lastly, the trains, we do hear them, they are close, and I have been awakened by them at night - I also did not opt to use earplugs, but I don't find them disturbing or annoying. The house is soundproofed, but you can still hear them rumble down the track. On the opposite side of the train tracks are peacocks - and they screech too - everyonce in a while. All of this certainly beats, the roar of trucks, the screaming of whiney motorcycles, sirens and city congestion. We'd be happy to make visit # 3 when the schedule allows.

Room Tip: always ask for specific information (details) upfront - there are less surprises later
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12feettobend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A Place of Joy and Spiritual Rejuvenation

My husband and I wanted to get away at the last minute and although Paddler's Lane was a little below our price range we became attracted to it nevertheless. After our arrival I felt thankful because we didn't compromise on quality and this choice turned out to be a great value. I am not so young (50), so I've had various opportunities to explore, and I've stayed in cheap, humble rooms in Bali and Korea as well as grand and posh, palace-like accommodations in Greece and Egypt (and much in between such as not so nice but expensive hotels in Japan and western Europe). In the US alone, many hotels and two other B & Bs.

The good will and generous spirit of Dan and Robin (inn keepers) might have been contagious. Or maybe the surroundings were just so serene and uplifting. All the guests staying there seemed good-natured and easy going. A family staying in the chalet even brought home-made cookies to the house and left it on the kitchen table for everyone to enjoy. Robin was gone for a pottery show at the time, but we found Dan to be genuine, warm and lovable, easy to befriend. Dan and his helper April were both extremely accommodating and eager to please.

The bat houses were a delightful surprise, as I learned they ate mosquitoes. The bats were fun to watch. At dusk, I was standing by the thick of brush that covered the river, and I was amazed I had not a single mosquito bite!

I agree with many reviewers that the place had spectacular beauty. Driving out of Paddler's Lane in the fresh air of morning gave me a better "high" than from the best coffee.

What my husband and I appreciated the most about Paddler's Lane was the gorgeously lush setting by the water and relaxed and comfortable feeling of this home. We also had to have a private and pleasant bathroom with nice towels. The breakfast was not gourmet or top notch, but substantial, generous portions with enough protein sources and variety to start the day. Considering what we paid, our breakfast was great. Paddler's Lane is not where I'd go to get pampered (though the idea of pampering may vary for everyone) but an ideal destination, to indulge in peace and luxuriate in nature. Such ethos blends into the casual, friendly, and outdoorsy atmosphere of Ohiopyle, Youghiogheny, and Laurel Highlands which offered fabulous sights and scenes. No wonder Frank Lloyd Wright had been inspired to create such lovely homes breathing and expressing nature. The town of Confluence, though subdued, had an interesting character of its own. We loved Paddler's Lane and look forward to going back when we want to hide from all the noise and thoughts of the world.

(Since there has been discussion among the reviewers about the trains I'd like to contribute my own experience. The trains did not come by often. When they did they passed by fast enough and weren't loud enough, that they were never intrusive or aggressive. Maybe in a city or in an industrial town, trains might have seemed less exciting. But in that setting of tranquil mood and abundant nature it added a colorful dimension to all the other possible sounds, of winds, movement of the trees, chirping insects, massive droplets of rain. Those trains only made the place more dynamic and alive. The sound first started with a low, mysterious rumble to pique my curiosity (Is it the wind? A start of a storm? Something else?) until it became clear and there was that ah moment, then approaching steady and solid its horn blew a long consonant tone. Sometimes the train just swished on by without announcing itself.)

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank jhk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Paddler's Lane was our first stay in a B&B and I must stay with sincerest honesty that it exceeded our expectations. I can not think of a single thing that Dan & Robin could have done to make our stay better. The accommodations were lovely, the room was perfect, the glowing fireplace was very romantic, the trains were fascinating and your husbands' cooking and conversation was enchanting. Our only regret was not being able to stay a second night. Thanks to both of you for sharing your little slice of heaven here on earth. Beth & I plan to return in the future, my only wish is that it could be in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We used Paddler's Lane Retreat as a base for a spring destination wedding. While most activities took place at Paddler's Lane Retreat, we had “field trips” for some attendees to local attractions (Ohiopyle State Park, Falling Water, biking, fishing, rafting). We reserved both lodges for the weekend for family and wedding party use. Many friends camped in the campground area. Robin and Bernie were wonderful to work with. We visited Paddler's Lane Retreat many times while planning for the weekend and the campgrounds were always well kept. For this event Robin and Bernie really went “all out” to make the grounds even better than normal. When we planned a meeting with a contractor (caterer, rental company) Robin was present to answer any questions related to the campground. Both Robin and Bernie took the time to talk with us on many occasions, helping to answer our questions and providing good ideas for the weekend. The large number of people that attended the weekend were easily accommodated at Paddler's Lane Retreat. Over the course of the weekend, the caterers were allowed to use the Main House for Friday night and Sunday morning meals. Robin and Bernie allowed us to set up a 40 x 60 tent for the wedding reception and catering, and another area for the outside wedding ceremony. On Saturday, an area was provided so the caterer could easily get equipment to the tent. Parking for guests was provided adjacent to the camping area. The bathhouse was kept clean and well stocked throughout the course of the weekend. The weekend was a huge success even getting a celebratory “toot” from the train that passed by after the ceremony.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC127Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
577 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
20.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
453 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddler's Lane Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddler's Lane Retreat

Address: 255 Paddlers Ln, Confluence, PA 15424-2637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range: $127 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddler's Lane Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddler's Lane has House Rentals, B&B stays, and secluded camping available on a half mile stretch of the wild and scenic Youghiogheny River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Paddler's Lane Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing