We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of The Parker House

The Parker House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Confluence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parker House
Ranked #6 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our first time at Parker House. Located in the quiet town of Confluence, PA. Part of Confluence is like a small peninsula where the Youghiogheny and Casselman Rivers converge with Laurel Hill Creek. If you enjoy biking, hiking or just enjoy relaxing by the river, this is a great place to visit. Parker House is a "B&B without the B". It's a very nice, very clean Inn with all the comforts of home. Our rooms were nicely carpeted and had a sizeable bathroom with shower. The bedding was comfortable. What we really liked were the rest of the home too, which has a large sun room, nice living room with fireplace, a TV/library room, Dining room and a full kitchen which is open for everyone to use. Bring your own food if you like or eat out at one of the few restaurants in town. Since everyone is on their own schedule with the abundance of outdoor activities in the area, breakfast is on your own, hence the "B" vs. "B&B". The owners and staff live nearby, and are not on-site throughout the day, but are just a phone call away. They come by every morning to clean, etc. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: They have a refrigerator, in the kitchen, so bring your own food. There are limited restaurants in C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was my first trip to Confluence, and I could not have been more pleased with Parker House. We had a large group and the spacious rooms and common areas were very comfortable and well-appointed. We also really loved having the big porches to sit on in the evening. The location is also excellent - a pleasant walk to town and direclty across from a wonderful restaurant (River's Edge). We are already planning to return next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very nice. I think 1-2 may not have private bathrooms, so that might be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I travel to Confluence every year and The Parker House has provided lovely accommodations every time. It is perfect for our needs, with a well appointed kitchen, comfortable rooms, and generous common areas. Whether we head to the river for a rafting run, eat at the River's Edge next door, or cook up a big dinner and spend the evening talking on the porch (there are two), we always have a lovely time and we'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: Two rooms do not have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shobaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Parker House is a great place to stay for me (1) or with a group. It is a "guest house" and not a B&B, but there is a fully equipped kitchen if you want to cook. I prefer eating out. The rooms are all a little different and only 2 rooms share a bath. All are comfortably appointed and the sheets are ironed - something I don't do. When I was there I had the house nearly to myself and found that everything was very well maintained and spotless. I loved the location - convenient to the river, bike trail and restaurants and bike shop. The owner was very friendly and tried to accommodate my arrival schedule.

Room Tip: Book early and chat with the owner about your nee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is probably a very nice place to stay if you are traveling with a loved one and have plenty of personal groceries and don't need the air conditioning in your room to be any cooler than body temperature. It is not the best choice if you are a woman traveling alone and staying just for the night, especially if you end up with one of the two rooms that must share an external bathroom. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with lovely high ceilings and ceiling fans to match. The lovely high ceilings mean that the AC is not able to keep the room as cool as one might like in the summer heat, but the ceiling fan does help move the air about some. There is no food in the fully equipped kitchen, although there is a carton of milk/half&half for coffee if you already thought to bring some to make for yourself at some point. There are no trash cans in the rooms so be prepared to find a place elsewhere in the house to dispose of your trash. The owner is very nice and personable, and will give you a complete tour of the house, including the beautifully appointed common area downstairs. However, nobody will be available to let you in the house before the 4pm check-in time, so don't bother arriving before then, unless you want to get a bite to eat across the road at the very nice River's Edge Inn. The folks across the street may also be nice enough to make a phone call for you, since there is absolutely no cell phone coverage in this area. But hey - free wifi!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mharvey816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at the Parker House for two nights while visiting the area Frank Lloyd Wright homes. The house was location was only 15-20 minutes from the homes and located just one block from the river (within viewing distance). Mary and Becky were delights and took excellent care of our every need; including finding me a blow dryer as I forgot mine. The house was clean, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchen. Across the street was a wonderful restaurant for dining - River's Edge Cafe. We stayed in "Mary's Nest", bright, spacious and great view of the river.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgarfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

This is a completely and beautifully renovated B&B. The rooms are large and very clean and uncluttered. It's a wonderful location for bike riders as the trail head is just a stone's throw away. It's also a lovely place to stay if you want to visit Falling Waters or Ohioplyle. There are porches for sitting and relaxing in warm weather and a huge fireplace for wintry nights.
Guests have full use of the kitchen but a short walk across a pedestrian bridge that crosses the Casselman River takes you to The Sisters' Cafe for a great hearty breakfast.
My husband and I and two friends spent the weekend biking the trail every day and very much enjoyed our stay at the Parker House. We found interesting local places for dinner.
The carnivores loved the rib's and brisket place just around the corner, but get there by 6 since they close when they run out of the daily cooked food.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
19.0 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
21.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Paddler's Lane Retreat
#2 of 10 in Confluence
156 reviews
18.8 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
251 reviews
10.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parker House

Property: The Parker House
Address: 213 Yough St, Confluence, PA 15424-1138
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing