We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful

The castle itself is small but quite pretty. However, the views of the small lake and surrounding... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2019
ASeenath
,
County Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
December veiws

December veiws from the small lake in front of the castle with snow topped mountains in the... read more

Reviewed December 6, 2018
DOUGLAS P
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
22
18
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lake medieval town castle history views museum walk minutes mountains distance
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful medieval castle with a nice view from the court of the castle. The way to arrive on it is also pleasant

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ElenaP2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful, narrow antique streets take you up to the the castle, amazing architecture, locals extremely polite and gorgeous views.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank prado_carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We didn't plan visiting this castle. We even didn't know about it before coming here and found it almost by coincidence, but finally it was a highlight of our stay in the area.
We truly enjoyed audio guide with a lot of effects, especially the castle history introduction with the shadow play. I truly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank EvaF2Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Due to health issues we could not climb up to the castle. However we saw it from many angles as we toured around this medieval village. It looked superb even from a distance and would be well worth the climb up.

The village itself dates from the 1400s and has many houses from that time. It is well worth a walk around and there are many photo opportunities.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Werdenberg and its castle is situated in the municipality of Grabs, St Gallen in Switzerland. The castle is from the late middle ages with its tower, palace and courtyard which was founded about 1230 A.D. by Count Rudolf the first of Montfort. Today the castle and surrounding medieval complex is a Swiss heritage site. The walk from the lake is pleasant as you make your way up through the medieval village towards the castle. It has fine views of Werdenberg from the castle grounds. The castle has a small restaurant within its courtyard and there is also a museum, alas this was closed during my visit. The buildings are well preserved and there was a quiet calm whilst walking through cobbled streets. Werdenberg and its castle is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Tilley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews