We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Nica”
Review of Mombacho Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mombacho Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Nica”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Mombacho lodge had first rate food, excellent service and a charming atmosphere. Tucked in the jungle on the bottom of Mombacho Volcano, the lodge is a must stay place in Nicaragua. I stayed in three different areas in Nicaragua and this was by far the coolest one. The location is great for for a hikers with an abundance of trails. There is also easy access (via trails or car) to the coffee plantation atop the Mombacho Volcano. Another neat thing about the lodge: howler monkeys. They are all around the area and you bump into them throughout the day.

Cynthia (the owner) is an excellent host with superb multitasking and cooking skills. She also has a very enjoyable personality so chatting with her at the restaurant/bar is easy. Her dog Ally is even super friendly too!

Another extremely important part of the Mombacho Lodge stay is the weather. I swear it is the one place where in the dead of a Nicaraguan summer, it isn't blazing hot all the time!

Also, Mombacho Lodge does serve as a relatively easy jumping off point for other areas of Nicaragua. Cynthia has a driver who will take you almost anywhere in the country. He is reliable and generally costs less than renting a car. I would suggest staying at Mombacho Lodge and hiring her driver to take you to other areas like San Juan Del Sur, Granada or Laguna De Apoyo.

Room Tip: All 4 cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
65
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I can hardly describe the phenomenal experience that my boyfriend and I were provided when staying at Mombacho Lodge..sitting on the front porch of our private cabin listening to the cicadas, watching howler monkeys swing from tree to tree, drinking a few Toñas, (Cynthia has a full bar!) and relishing in the remarkable forest surrounding us. A visit to Mombacho Lodge was exactly what our Nicaraguan adventure needed. Cynthia was impeccably hospitable and prepared delicious and fresh meals for us during our stay. During the full day we spent on Mombacho, we hiked around the volcano and in the national park and saw some incredible views. Cynthia had even prepared lunches for us to take with us on our hike. The cabins were cozy and comfortable while also not letting you forget you are in nature! It was like camping but definitely much more comfortable with a shower, toilet, sink and scrumptious food made fresh by Cynthia! Cynthia is very knowledgeable about the plants, trees and animals on her property. Her dogs, Ally and Fritz were so much fun to be around, and with Fritz on the watch, you will always feel safe! Overall, the experience we had at Mombacho was one I will never forget and will be wanting to share with many others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takingapowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My first trip to Nicaragua introduced me to people who welcomed me everywhere I went with a smile, repeatedly, proudly told me their country was sane and secure, invariably would offer a suggestion that I visit a place they found particularly special, easily engaged me in interesting and insightful conversation, and inevitably provided me with an incredibly delicious and nutritious meal.
The stunning natural beauty I encountered as I traveled from the mountains of Esteli to the Pacific shores of Playa Roca and on to the crater created splendor of Laguna de Apoyo and finally to the majesty of Mombacho Volcano, with stops in Managua, Leon and Granada did not prepare me for what I experienced at Mombacho Lodge.
All the superlatives I encountered in the country were wrapped up into 1 night completely off the grid, disconnected from civilization and in the midst of an incredibly diverse population of flora and fauna, some of which have never been scientifically identified and some which may not live anywhere else on earth while leaving a barely perceptible footprint.
The rooms of Mombacho Lodge offer something that can not be found anywhere else on earth and after being there, I want to go back1

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spreadingash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Cynthia has created a lovely haven nestled within the forest at the base of the Mombacho Volcano within the surrounding national park. What an experience! It's like camping, but with all the creature comforts (like showers, a super comfy bed, and access to delicious full meals). Cynthia has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible and is such a lovely host. The meals she prepared were so good ... ceviche and hummus are a must try. Excellent access to hiking and viewing all kinds of wildlife -- a highlight was seeing a family of 10 howler monkeys traveling from tree to tree at dusk. She arranged for travel to and from the lodge, as well as a night hike aroumd the property. And, of course, I can't forget to mention her lovable furry friends, Allie and Fritz, who were sweet companions. A once-in-a-lifetime experience for anyone visiting Nicaragua!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTexan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our stay at Mombacho Lodge was outstanding. We stayed 3 nights during the second week in February. We were in contact with Cynthia well before our arrival and she ensured that everything was perfect. She even arranged to have a driver named Felipe transport us from Managua to the lodge. There are four cabins to choose from and we stayed in Zoe. The Mombacho Lodge property is amazing and covered by triple canopy jungle which is home to a plethora of flora and fauna. We regularly saw troops of Howler Monkeys, tons of birds, and many other unique species endemic only to Volcan Mombacho Cloud Forest's 5 ecosystems. The meals at Mombacho Lodge were decadently delicious. During our stay, we enjoyed the likes of grilled chicken, filet mignon, pasta, civiche, various soups, eggs, bacon, and desserts. Mombacho Lodge also has a nice bar and a good selection of adult libations for those inclined to further unwind during their stay in this jungle paradise. The secluded lodge is only a short walk up to Los Flores Coffee Plantation or down to the Volcan Mombacho National Park Station. We enjoyed both the coffee tour and ziplining at Los Flores Coffee Plantation and highly recommend them. The hikes at the top of Volcan Mombacho are also highly recommended. You will enjoy panoramic views of Granada, the mountain, and Las Isletas. Lastly, ensure that you partake in the night hike at Mombacho Lodge. This activity gives you a true appreciation of the diverse ecosystem that is Mombacho. We saw so many nocturnal critters during the hike causing us to head back to our cabin smiling in wonderment.

We highly recommend Mombacho Lodge to anyone who wants an authentic jungle experience while minimizing environmental impact. Please, if you are thinking of doing this adventure, stop procrastinating and get booking...

Room Tip: All four of the cabins are excellent. They are just varying distances from the main lodge. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Tucked into beautiful dry forest on the lower slopes of volcan Mombocho (within park), this quiet site provides and excellent place to relax and serves as an ideal base camp for those interested in hiking, or taking the shuttle trucks up to Finca de Flor or the top of Mombocho and its cloud forest/trails. It is more expensive than doing a homestay lower down with UCA or getting a matrice is the park bunkhouse on the top but is wonderful site for those who want a comfortable and relaxed visit. Mombocho Lodge has a number of good quality short trails right on the property. As a nature lover I would love to see them maintain hummingbird feeders, bird baths and maybe banana feeders but they already do everything else so well, so I have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent two incredible nights at Mombacho Lodge. We spent the first day swimming in Apoyo Lagoon, an incredible lake set in the crater of an old volcano. The lagoon is a short drive up the road from Mombacho. Our second day, we went to the city of Masaya and climbed up the active volcano right outside of the city.

After traveling Nicaragua for 10 days, Mombacho Lodge was, by far, the best place we stayed. The food that was served was delicious, the jungle surrounding the lodge is majestic, the lodges themselves are private and very clean, and out of all the places we stayed while traveling, Mombacho Lodge felt the safest.

I would Highly recommend staying at Mombacho for a couple nights, at least. Spend the day touring Grenada, and the evenings sitting on your porch at Mombacho drinking a nice cold Tonya beer or some wine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombacho Volcano
11.4 mi away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
103 reviews
15.5 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
Finca Canas Castilla
Finca Canas Castilla
#1 of 3 in La Cruz
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
13.5 mi away
Recreo
Recreo
#93 of 233 in Province of Guanacaste
152 reviews
6.6 mi away
Punta Descartes Hotel
Punta Descartes Hotel
#2 of 3 in La Cruz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombacho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombacho Lodge

Property: Mombacho Lodge
Address: | Mombacho Volcano Reserve, 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Mombacho Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mombacho Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mombacho Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four modern cabins with private baths and hot showers steps away from an open air restaurant all beneath huge topical forest trees on the Volcano Mombacho. There is good internet reception available with the use of a USB antenna. Airport or transportation to Mombacho Lodge from Managua, Granada or San Juan del Sur can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mombacho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing