We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colleen M. The pearl of Nicaragua”
Review of Mombacho Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mombacho Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, Canada
1 review
“Colleen M. The pearl of Nicaragua”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I borrowed the title from Mombacho Lodge's creator, Cynthia. She likes to call her dog, Alli, "the pearl of Nicaragua"(because she's so beautiful), but I think the "diamond in the rough" she has built in the cloud forest, a few kilometres below Volcano Mombacho, also deserves to be described as such. My husband and I, along with two very dear friends, spent a night at Mombacho Lodge during our stay in Granada. After a quick check-in at the lodge, and settling into our very clean, comfortable cabins, it was time for a 40 minute hike up the mountain where we had a 1.5hr. guided tour of the very impressive Las Flores Coffee Plantation. We wouldn't have learned nearly as much without the english-speaking guide. Then, we were taken by truck up to the volcano, where our tour guide took us on a one hour hike. One could spend many more hours hiking that area if so inclined. On our return to the lodge, we enjoyed getting to know our hostess a little more as we sat around the well stocked bar in the open air restaurant. Both the dinner and full breakfast the following morning were delicious. The boys saw some amazing sights during the "flashlight tour" of the surrounding flora that night, led by one of Cynthia's workers. The howler monkeys really convinced us that we were, indeed, sleeping in the jungle that night. Cynthia generously took us on a great little hike the following day, where we saw amazing trees, birds, coffee plants, and a panoramic view of Granada. Hopefully, we'll be back this way some day for another visit.

Room Tip: All the cabins are the same, and just far enough from each other for individual privacy. They'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
65
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent three relaxing and peaceful nights at the Mombacho Lodge for a birthday getaway. Greeted by Cynthia the owner and her two lovable and beautiful dogs Fritz and Alli. Cozy and private cabins with comfortable beds. When dark falls, it is definitely dark (flashlights included), with such a peacefulness and calmness through the night, awakened by the Howler monkeys which were definitely entertaining. The food was excellent prepared by the owner Cynthia, and Alli and Fritz keep you entertained through your meals with hilarious doggie WWF wrestling. Nearby ziplining, Las Flores Coffee farm tour, bone- jarring descents and exhausting steep climbs up Mombacho Volcano. Cynthia is an amazing and admirable hostess, very accommodating. I recommend the lodge highly and look forward to my return. I will make it to the top of the volcano next time either on foot or ride. It was a first for me trying Cerviche and gazpacho prepared by Cynthia, and Nicarguan rum - smooth and Yum! Can't wait to return next birthday.

Room Tip: Every cabin has its own personality location...the fitness center is the entire jungle, all yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown RI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent a night here while doing some basic exploring of Nicaragua and just enjoyed the solitude and beauty. Wonderful wildlife and cool breeze at 1600 ft. above sea level. Will return to spend more time there. Be sure to walk out to the open field near the lodge for sunset, special view of mountains, Granada to the northwest, quite something. The Lodge is brand new and very well put together and laid out. The food was superb, full bar, very civilzed tree house feel. Cynthia is a strong and remarkable person and I hope everyone who visits takes note of the beauty she has created on the mountainside.

Room Tip: The four cabins are all separated for privacy and really have the feel of tree top hideaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent the night at Mombacho Lodge with my 2 sisters and our 3 kids. It was the perfect getaway. I live in Managua and had always wanted to visit Mombacho volcano. This was definitely the way to do it, with or without kids. Cynthia was a gracious host who offered everything we needed. You can go ziplining, tour the coffee plantation or take a ride to the crater. We chose to spend our whole time at the lodge and had a great time hiking the surrounding paths full of some of the oldest most beautiful trees I'd ever seen as well as a variety of fruit trees and coffee beans. We spent a lot of time in the restaurant / bar where we were all highly entertained watching the families of monkeys move about the nearby trees and when they weren't around, we had endless games to choose from. The food was fantastic, we had mostly her vegetarian dishes and they were all very well done, especially the carrot soup. The cabins were clean, cozy and quiet. The beds were super comfortable. I've already gone back for lunch and will be back for more nights as soon as I can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Mombacho Lodge was such a pleasant surprise. We walked from the park entrance into the property and were welcomed in right away. The restaurant is open air, small, romantic, and open for all 3 meals. The food is Nica-American and very good. Cynthia, the owner, also prepared bagged lunches for our day at the top of the volcano.The cabins are brand new with clean, modern bathrooms, and the softest beds in Nicaragua. We were there at the end of low season and had the place to ourselves for 2 nights. We had a show from the Howler monkeys both days, and one of the local employees took us on a private night hike. The owner was extremely hospitable and loaned us flashlights, books, and games for our stay. It's a steep but short walk to Las Flores coffee plantation where you can go ziplining, on a coffee tour, and take a hike/ catch a ride to the top of the volcano. We got engaged at the top of Volcan Mombacho and Cynthia made sure our stay was extra special. BTW, the Almond Cake was AWESOME! Overall, our stay was wonderful and we would definitely recommend that anyone visiting Nicaragua stay at Mombacho Lodge for at least one night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristenddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spend a wonderful weekend at Mombacho Lodge. The cabins are very confortable and the place is fantastic to enjoy the nature, relax and walking. The restaurant is excelent too.
I totally recommend it to everybody!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupita00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Such an amazing lodge with a great view! It was so great to show my fiancé this part of Nicaragua, and the beauty of the mountains and volcanoes. The cabin was perfect; tin roofs, comfortable bed, secluded but safe. We are so thankful for this great experience, and I can not wait to come back and stay at Mombacho Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombacho Volcano
11.4 mi away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
103 reviews
15.1 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Finca Canas Castilla
Finca Canas Castilla
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
127 reviews
24.2 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
981 reviews
13.5 mi away
Recreo
Recreo
#93 of 232 in Province of Guanacaste
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombacho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombacho Lodge

Property: Mombacho Lodge
Address: | Mombacho Volcano Reserve, 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Mombacho Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mombacho Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mombacho Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four modern cabins with private baths and hot showers steps away from an open air restaurant all beneath huge topical forest trees on the Volcano Mombacho. There is good internet reception available with the use of a USB antenna. Airport or transportation to Mombacho Lodge from Managua, Granada or San Juan del Sur can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mombacho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing