We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and historic town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and historic town”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Columbian was a wonderful find - great value and lovely historic old house. Karen was a great host and made a delicious breakfast for us - apple spice pancakes. I would also recommend driving or walking around the town. There are great antique shops (we went to Columbia Rivertown Antique Center), lots of history and some good restaurants (Hinkles pharmacy in town and McCleary's Public House in closeby Marietta were great!). We also took a drive to the Moondance winery - absolutely lovely setting and good wine!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rktingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed 6 nights while attending a class. The service was great and the value was outstanding. The rooms were very clean and comfortable providing a nice environment for me to work in the evenings. I highly recommend the Columbian B&B for anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Karen (Innkeeper) runs a very sweet B&B. The common rooms are beautiful and her breakfast is delicious! We felt quite at home and were pleasantly surprised with the level of detail and attention. We would absolutely recommend this place! (only caveat would be that the B&B neighbors a convenience store. It's off-putting for about 2 seconds when you pull up to the location. Once inside you completely forget and never notice)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darusso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We saw the inn on Nissley Winery's website. Each year we go to one of the outdoor summer Saturday evening concerts at the winery, and make a weekend of it, choosing to stay somewhere within 10 miles. The Columbian is a lovely old house right in downtown Columbia - easy walking to the National Watch & Clock Museum, antique stores and the historic Hinkle's Pharmacy; easy drive to downtown Lancaster or York; just a few blocks from the Susquehanna River. Nicely decorated room; pleasant & helpful innkeeper Karen, who looked some things up online for us; delicious breakfast each morning; lovely gardens (and hot tub). Also, reasonably priced! Very glad we chose the Columbian!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jannwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed here in 2005. I wanted to write a review because it was the first B&B I stayed in. It started my husband and I on a quest to stay at B&B's more often. It was worth it.
The Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. The owners were very kind and helpful. You must visit the clock museum it is amazing! If we ever get back East we hope to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portlandface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Absolutely positive on every level. Didn't have an opportunity to use the hot tub or massage options, but I'm sure that they would be top notch too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MREELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Beautifully decorated rooms, relaxing backyard and patio area, and fabulous food. Karen was helpful without being overbearing. The breakfast was excellent. When Karen realized that my young daughter did not like certain foods, she provided special items for the next day. The B&B is located on a busy street, however, it is near the center of town and restaurants. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cgv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
4.2 mi away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
925 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
69 reviews
5.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#20 of 39 in Lancaster
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 360 Chestnut St, Columbia, PA 17512-1156
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Columbian, A Bed And Breakfast Inn Columbia, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing