We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh. I'd rather get an ice cream cone and sit outside.”

Turkey Hill Experience
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Come learn how our ice cream is made, sit in our milk truck, brainstorm your own ice cream flavor, milk a mechanical cow and learn about the people and culture of Turkey Hill. Discovery and delight abound for the whole family. And of course, there are free samples of Turkey Hill ice cream and iced tea!
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eh. I'd rather get an ice cream cone and sit outside.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We went here with a 3 year old and it was really not very enjoyable. We couldn't really understand the map and how to follow the story of Turkey Hill / Ice Cream in sequential order. We signed up for the ice cream making part of it but were cutting it close on time so the lady told us to go do the creation things, making the ice cream on the computer, the label, etc. and then go to the Tasting lab - we had a hard time finding all of these places and there were lines at each one (and unfriendly staff). We finally go to the tasting lab only to find out that all the work we did on the computers didn't matter - that was for ordering your own ice cream from their website if you want. So we did the tasting lab - which wasn't really that exciting. The ice cream is soft serve so after they spend 10 minutes or so "freezing" it - you still have to eat the whole pint before you get home or it will be soup. On the plus side, there was a ball pit. We quit pretending like we were going to get through that tour and stayed at the ball pit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoormomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    303
    139
    56
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun for a Few Hours”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Turkey Hill Experience is pretty neat... enough company history for the adults and fun activities for the kids. The best part... free ice cream and Ice Tea samples. I'm not that familiar with the Turkey Hill Company, so this "Company Store" experience was a nice diversion and created a little goodwill for my family. Fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank classicdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“close to the B&B”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Airy View B&B and learned that the Turkey Hill Experience was only a couple miles away, so we thought we would check it out! What a sweet treat! We had a delicious filling breakfast at Airy View, and went to Turkey Hill for an early "dinner". It was wonderful!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun for anyone who likes ice cream”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our whole family had lots of fun. We ate so much ice cream. We sampled flavors and we also got to make our own ice cream flavor. Mine was delicious. Our kids 8 and 6 also enjoyed posing at different spots for pictures and making their own Turkey Hill commercial.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for traveling!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

You can get your gas and snack or sandwiches for your lunch, and even breakfast! They have prepared sandwiches, cinnamon buns, coffee, soda, juice, milk, pizza, egg sandwiches, wraps. They have red box movie rentals. Lottery, gift cards, salads, vege trays with dip, yogurt parfaits, fruit cups!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkey Hill Experience also viewed

Ronks, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Turkey Hill Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing