We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Fun”

Turkey Hill Experience
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Come learn how our ice cream is made, sit in our milk truck, brainstorm your own ice cream flavor, milk a mechanical cow and learn about the people and culture of Turkey Hill. Discovery and delight abound for the whole family. And of course, there are free samples of Turkey Hill ice cream and iced tea!
New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We did not know what to expect, but it was a lot of fun. I would not go if it is busy there. It is not a factory, but more of an attraction. It is about 1.5 hours at most. Kids can create their own flavor on a computer and then tape a commercial. Good historical perspective on the area. Teaches about the ice cream making process as well milk and iced tea. Very clean, not expensive and fun!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    303
    139
    56
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, interactive. Great for the whole familty”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good experience for kids and the whole family. Learn how the dairy industry has evolved over the years. Great ice cream and ice tea samples as well! Not an amusement park.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great for kids of all ages”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The entry area with pictures, placards and displays chronicling the history of Turkey hill is informative for adults but boring for kids and teens. Once into the interactive area, it's more engaging. Of course the free samples of ice cream and ice tea was fun to try. For those with strollers, the layout that makes exploring fun for school age kids causes maneuvering a stroller a constant challenge by readily blocking access to various features in alcoves. Considering how much the admission is (~$10), you may enjoy it or think it's a bit much.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it- great for families”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Turkey Hill Experience is great for families with children under 14. My neice who is nine loved every facet of a very comlex attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C, Manager at Turkey Hill Experience, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Wishing your family a happy holiday and we hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance with your next visit to Lancaster PA. Regards, Rebecca
rebecca.carroll@turkeyhill.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good indoor experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good for a rainy day. Free ice cream & ice tea samples, as much as you want. Lets you create your own ice cream though a computer, & make a commercial that you can view online.Not that big of an attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckid525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkey Hill Experience also viewed

Ronks, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Turkey Hill Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing